We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Chicago to your Saves list
InterContinental Chicago
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   505 North Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #71 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good hotel in great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The hotel is in a prime location for everything in the city and most areas can be walked to. The rooms were not the largest but were comfortable and clean. Not sure on the carpet either in the hallway lol! The concierge desk were very attentive and helpful and the history of the hotel shown through and it was an enjyable stay while on my business trip.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,120
    840
    355
    159
    93
See reviews for
464
643
160
829
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westchester, New York, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We spent this past weekend in Chicago for a wedding. The Inter Continental Hotel on Michigan Ave was a great location for shopping, touring and eating in the downtown area.
We were in the middle of the AIA Architectural Open House weekend and that was great. We were not far from the Art Institute and in the same building as the wedding we were attending.
The rooms are fine, there is a Starbucks downstairs and one down the street which is less crazy.
Shopping is all around and it's a great choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, PA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Was visiting Chicago for business and was staying on a pre-arranged booking. The single King bed room was small but adequate, but the Michael Jordan Restaurant in the hotel was superb, there was no need to go anywhere else but of course we had to try the Chicago Chop House which was another great dining choice.
Would recommend for small business meetings 15 to 50 attendees or just to get around and see Chicago for pleasure.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sobieski
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I have to say that the Intercontinental Hotel is a beautiful hotel at a wonderful location. I wish that the experience I had was as wonderful. I booked my room through Priceline the night before I went, as this was an unplanned trip. When I checked in 5PM, the front desk associate proceeded to scold me for booking through the third party site and said I should only book with the hotel website. I was very offended at both her tone and her manners. She finished checking me in quickly, thank goodness and off to my room I went. Upon arriving at the room, I found no shampoo, conditioner or soap and feather pillows (allergic). I tried to call down to request alternative pillows and shampoo and soap, but the phone would not call down to the concierge or out at all. I went down to request these items, and was assured they would be up soon. By 7pm, I went down again with this request, the concierge acted surprised this was not done and called for this to be done again. I left for dinner, and upon return at 11pm the pillows were changed out on the bed, but the feather pillows were left on the floor in the room and 4 little bottles of conditioner were left.....no shampoo or soap. I went down once more with the same request. At 12AM, a knock on my door, and a woman handed me a bad of soap and 1 shampoo. We put the feather pillows outside of the room, which she did not take with her. I was very exasperated at the situation. I do not understand the level of service I received and the rudeness with this being a 4 star hotel. I am shocked that employees would even think of reprimanding a hotel guest as to where they booked their trip. This was not a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyiana, Manager at InterContinental Chicago, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your valuable feedback. I am very sorry that your experience was not what we strive for. The items you mentioned are not acceptable in our standards and I am glad you brought it to our attention.

I have reviewed this information with the appropriate departments and we are incorporating your comments into our training and orientation.

We would appreciate the opportunity to serve you again.

Please don't hesitate to contact us if you have any future reservations

Thank You

Yours Sincerely

Aravind Gudidevuni

Assistant Front Office Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Great location on the magnificent
Mile and being within a 15 min walk of Millenium Park. Also next door to the architectural tour pick-up spot which is a must while in Chicago. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The meeting space is nice and has some unique architecture. Would hold a meeting here in the future.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This property is a good example of the issue I now find with Intercontinental Hotels. There is a high degree of variability between properties. This variability extends to properties, rooms, facilities and service. Some are excellent - The Willard in Washington and the Barclay in New York. Some disappoint - the Mark Hopkins in San Francisco and the Chicago on North Michigan.

The hotel is in two parts - the Historic Tower and the New (not so new) Tower. The architecture in the public spaces and the conference rooms in the Historic Tower is impressive. However the rooms are dated. They do not appear to have received any love and attention for some time. I was in a 1 bedroom suite. It was comfortable. It was spacious enough - the size is fixed by the original construction of the Historic Tower and was not doubt comfortable in its day. However the furniture and soft furnishings did nothing to lift the ambience of the room. It was old, bulky (too bulky in the environment). The room had no charm.

The restaurant facilities were limited. The Michael Jordan Steakhouse served fine food. But the Starbucks in the foyer was an unfortunate discordant presence.

The service lacked warmth and style.

The location is very convenient.

A satisfactory business like experience with little personality or charm (apart from the architecture).

Room Tip: I stayed in the Historic Tower. It was historic. Some will like that. Some will not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyiana, Manager at InterContinental Chicago, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Mr.Philip G

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. We strive to accommodate all of our guests and their needs and I’m disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the service you received from our staff. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Please don't hesitate to contact us if you have any further questions

Thank you

Aravind Gudidevuni

Assistant Front Office Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parchment, Michigan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

From the moment I pulled up to the door to the time I pulled out of the parking garage it was an excellent time. I was met with a smile, help with getting my bags and felt comfortable leaving my car in his hands. Checking out was easy and pleasent. Keenan took my bags and stored them while I shopped and helped me get everything to my car in the garage
I would go back the experience was great

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Chicago

Address: 505 North Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#48 Business Hotel in Chicago
#58 Family Hotel in Chicago
#62 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 844
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Chicago is a lot like the city itself: historic but hip, refined but relaxed, cultured but comfortable. A member of Michigan Avenue s architectural elite since 1929, our hotel is within easy reach of Chicago s incomparable museums, stores, theatres and restaurants. Navy Pier, Shedd Aquarium and Oak Street Beach are minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.