We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel great location. ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Chicago to your Saves list
InterContinental Chicago
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   505 North Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #71 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel great location. ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This is a very nice hotel some if which is beautiful and historic. The lobby is pretty cool with huge video a screens of outside street scene Good service room nice enough wish it had a better air conditioner. The location is great on the miracle mile certainly will stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,116
    837
    355
    158
    92
See reviews for
460
639
159
829
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel in April this year and was upgraded to the 41st floor. My partner couldn't agree with me but I felt incredibly uneasy staying up there. I wanted to change rooms, he didn't. Nice rooms but I couldn't shake the vibe that we weren't alone up there. I was pretty happy when we checked out. Great location, staff and hotel otherwise. Amazing view up on the 41st floor but unfortunately that's the only positive I can find about that room.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyiana, Manager at InterContinental Chicago, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about our property. It is always our goal to provide convenient and world class service to our guest. We apologize we were not able to exceed your expectations during your stay. Please be assured that these will be looked into and that your comments will be used to monitor future improvements needed.
Please don't hesitate to contact us if you have any further questions
Thank You
Your Sincerely
Aravind Gudidevuni
Assistant Front Office Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

There really isn't much to say about this property. For better or worse, it is a standard mid-to-high end property, with very little distinctive about it. The location is good -- right on MIchigan Avenue. The rooms are comfortable but cookie-cutter, with bland but not-unpleasant furnishings and little to distinguish them. The service is professional. It is a large property that handles large events and big groups, so there is tremendous turnover. In the older part of the property are some beautiful old public rooms, but few people will get to see them. The main lobby on the newer section is pleasant but bland. On one side of the lobby is the entry to a nice-sized Starbucks -- very convenient, but undercutting any possible notion that this is a luxury hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Right in the heart of Michagan Avenue this is a great hotel to stay and explore Chicago.

Staff at the hotel were brilliant - really helpful (especially when asking for the location of my favourite shops), friendly and curteous.

The bedrooms are nice and clean and spacious with good views of the skyline, beds are really comfy too which is great after a long flight from the UK

Only tired their breakfast which was again lovely, fresh made pancakes with blueberries (lots of them in true American style) but they were fresh and delicious

Would definately stay here again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I spent three nights here on a recent business trip and had quite a nice visit. The rooms were somewhat small but the service was great as was the food. Room service is provided by Michael Jordan's Steakhouse which sits in the lobby. They also have a pool and a fitness center that I actually visited so I have to specifically acknowledge that. Not at a lot of room for more than one person but definitely well located and serviced for business travelers.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnsboro, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Our stay at this hotel was exceptional. Every staff member was very helpful. We especially appreciated the doorman Will. We looked forward to seeing him every morning because he helped us everyday with our eating choices and tips for the sights we were going to visit that day. We were never disappointed in the eating places he suggested. The room was good and we had access to the buses as needed to travel to museums and parks. We also took the self guided tour of the hotel. It is a must!!! As mentioned earlier, our waiter, bellhop, and desk staff made the trip more enjoyable. I would highly recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
360 reviews 360 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I was here for a conference this week - 2 nights. The hotel is in a nice location right on the Magnificent Mile convenient to shopping etc. My room was small, dark and a bit dated. The bed was very comfortable though the shower was not deluxe. The fixture to turn on the water was very difficult to turn. The remote for the TV did not work well at all. Service was what you would expect at a property like this. I had meals associated with the conference and the catering was better than average with elegant service. The bill for 2 nights was more than $700 which included some wine from the mini bar, water and cashews.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyiana, Manager at InterContinental Chicago, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Our goal is to ensure that all our guest’s leave satisfied and we try our best to ful fill all our guest requests. Please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you have experienced and if your stay was negatively affected by the overall condition of your room and the food. Thank you for bringing this into our attention as the feedback we receive from our guests like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to improve our guest services.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely

Aravind Gudidevuni

Assistant Front Office Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Chicago

Address: 505 North Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#47 Business Hotel in Chicago
#57 Family Hotel in Chicago
#60 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 844
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Chicago is a lot like the city itself: historic but hip, refined but relaxed, cultured but comfortable. A member of Michigan Avenue s architectural elite since 1929, our hotel is within easy reach of Chicago s incomparable museums, stores, theatres and restaurants. Navy Pier, Shedd Aquarium and Oak Street Beach are minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.