We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Chicago to your Saves list
InterContinental Chicago
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   505 North Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611 (Magnificent Mile)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #81 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersBronze level
Centreville, Virginia, USA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Great Service, great people and great location. Rooms are spacious and kept clean. Bathrooms are large and well kept and supplied. Hotel is located on Miracle Mile with some expensive restaurants but staff was able to direct me to places a few blocks away that fit my company's reimbursement rates. Overall great hotel. Only issue I had with it was lack of storage space for clothing other than what you would hang up. Not geared for week stay that I had but the businessman overnight stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,167
    905
    384
    165
    95
See reviews for
500
688
169
873
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (557)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Great location, right in the heart of downtown. The staff were helpful and room was clean and neat. The shower was a bit odd, water pressure drops suddenly sometimes and switch from hot to cold too. Overall a good stay, glad we were not facing Michigan ave, it could get a bit noisy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Delaware, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

From the moment Clive opens your car door till the day he says goodbye, you know your someplace special. Enjoyed staying in the historic building with great views. The room was spacious and the bathroom quite large. I joined the intercontinental ambassador club. The fee was made up on our first stay. Really great hotel. In the complex is Eno is someplace special. Wine and cheese flights allow you to try different tastes. A bit on the pricey side but a nice treat. Enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

The beds here are great! The hotel entrance is very impressive. This is my favorite hotel in Chicago. It's close to anything you would like to do. I just love this place. Stay there the next time your in Chi town...

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Georgia, United States
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This was the 2nd time in four years I have stayed in this hotel. The staff were attentive and very helpful, but I didn't get that "I will come back here" feeling, just like I had the first time I was a guest. Next time I am in Chicago on Miracle Mile I will seek another hotel. The hotel itself just isn't comfortable to me. I wish I could put my finger on it, but I can't. I think my money would be better spent in another venue.

Room Tip: Higher up to get away from street sounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyiana, Manager at InterContinental Chicago, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Ms.Paula N

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Our goal is to ensure that all our guest’s leave satisfied and we try our best to ful fill all our guest requests. Please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you have experienced and if your stay was negatively affected by any of the areas. Thank you for bringing this into our attention as the feedback we receive from our guests like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to improve our guest services.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Aravind Gudidevuni

Assistant Front Office Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Illinois
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I typically find the older historic hotels are nicely appointment and modern, but miss a few details as part of updating that give away the age of the hotel. This was not the case. This hotel sweated the small stuff and gave you the impression they wanted every detail to be right. Other than the fact the rooms are not cookie cutter size/shape, they lack some historic charm, but make it up with the fact that you will not deal with an ancient A/C system or rickety old elevator.

I booked through Hotwire as a last minute deal, but still managed an early check in and upgrade to the historic tower. I forgot my phone charger and was able to leave it with the concierge over night to charge. That would be my only complaint. They should just keep chargers to lend. I am sure plenty of guests leave them in the rooms.

I would stay again (at a Hotwire price), but for those are not frugal and expect the best, I suspect the regular price is worth the stay.

Room Tip: Ask for historic tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed at the Intercontinental for Lollapolooza festival 2013. Hotel is beautiful, pool is gorgeous and great location on Michigan Ave. Only comment is the rooms are quite small and the beds even smaller. We had four people in a room and the double beds were almost like a king single. Great wine bar in the lobby and Michael Jordan's steakhouse which we'll have to try next time!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Chicago

Address: 505 North Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Green Hotel in Chicago
#40 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#63 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#63 Business Hotel in Chicago
#64 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 844
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Chicago is a lot like the city itself: historic but hip, refined but relaxed, cultured but comfortable. A member of Michigan Avenue s architectural elite since 1929, our hotel is within easy reach of Chicago s incomparable museums, stores, theatres and restaurants. Navy Pier, Shedd Aquarium and Oak Street Beach are minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.