We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience at the door!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Chicago to your Saves list
InterContinental Chicago
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   505 North Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #71 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great experience at the door!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Checking in there is a great start to our stay. Clive was awesome with greeting us, grabbing the bags and all with a smile. And went we went to leave Will was equally as helpful and again with a smile. Well done! And Marcus at the front desk was super efficient and was even able to provide us a room upgrade and two drinks in the bar, since our room was not quite ready.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,114
    835
    355
    158
    92
See reviews for
460
638
159
828
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (528)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, WI
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This a a really nice hotel in a wonderful location. We were able to walk to get food and check out the sights. It's only a $10 cab ride to the Willis Tower and just about anywhere else downtown you'd want to go. Valet parking is $57/night but it was completely worth it not having to hassle with parking. We are members of their rewards club so we got a 2pm checkout. We will be returning. My only advice is go somewhere else for breakfast. $28 for a buffet is not good. We went to Weber Grill. $15 for a nice buffet and you can order a la carte at not extra charge.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Will, the gentleman who greeted us curb side, was a doll. Always a smile, nothing was ever a bother. Immediately took our bags and had the bell hops whisk them away.

Waited in line to check in, when Jessica calls us over to her Priority Club desk (we are 3 young ladies on holiday, not exactly your Priority Club types). She was more than happy to check us in, even scoring us an upgrade!

Clive was our bell hop, gave us a spiel about the hotel and was desperate to share his knowledge...very heartening to see someone take their job so seriously and practice such excellent customer service by going above and beyond.

In terms of where the hotel is situated, you couldn't ask for much better! Has the Michael Jordan grill (not our thing) and also a Starbucks on-site, which was fantastic for 3 caffeine addicts! Close to everyone we wanted for our short stay, and the fairy lights lit up along Michigan Ave at night are quite spectacular.

Overall a very pleasant experience!

Room Tip: The higher up, the better on terms of natural lighting. Better for daytime rather than having all th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartonville, Illinois, Usa
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My husband and I came up to stay for our honeymoon, when we booked we were told a king size bed was no problem, after arriving we were told there were no king size beds left, so we could upgrade to a suite, my husband did so, as sleeping I'm two doubles was not all that' desirable for a honeymoon. So, after a $75 upgrade on top of what we already paid we got up to our suite,where the wallpaper was falling off the walls,we had no hot water and our door barely stayed closed. We went to get online on our own tablet to find out we had to pay $15 for 24 hours of Internet service!!! Ridiculous! For the price we paid we found out we could have stayed at one of the competitors for the same price, and we could have had nice bed to stay in, as the bed left us in so much pain due to the poor quality! How is this a 4.5 star hotel! Will never stay again! The gentleman that brought us our brand new car at the end, left a horrid smell of smoking, and this sealed the deal we will never be back! Nice location but you can get much better for the total $450 it costed us to stay when all the hidden fees were included! Along with a pool that's only a lap pool, what if you want to just swim?!?! Not worth anything, it's not any better then a cheap interstate side hotel, will not recommend this to anyone!!! Horrible hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Chicago, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Kelly D,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel in a great location. The staff is friendly and helpful. A perfect choice for downtown business or vacation (Michigan Ave shopping, close to restaurants, theater, etc.). Try to get a room high enough to enjoy the views of the downtown architecture and then admire the hotel when you're out in the city.

Room Tip: corners toward Michigan Ave have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Perfect location, rooms are clean and comfy. Staff is warm and inviting.

Will, the doorman/concierge, makes the hotel, though. He's knowledgeable and always willing to help. He'll tell you when it makes sense to take a short bus trip (saving you some dollars) and when it makes sense to take a taxi (saving time). He knows the best restaurants and can get you into them when no one else can.

I'll stay again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westervoort, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Just arrived to this hotel this week for my first time, Arron the concierge helped me very good as Jessica from the Priority Club member desk. Leon brought me fresh fruit free of charge and the room was clean and had plenty of space with a great view to the lake.

Room Tip: Above floor 34 the view will be much better and you will get the sun in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Chicago

Address: 505 North Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#48 Business Hotel in Chicago
#56 Family Hotel in Chicago
#59 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 844
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Chicago is a lot like the city itself: historic but hip, refined but relaxed, cultured but comfortable. A member of Michigan Avenue s architectural elite since 1929, our hotel is within easy reach of Chicago s incomparable museums, stores, theatres and restaurants. Navy Pier, Shedd Aquarium and Oak Street Beach are minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.