We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Chicago to your Saves list
InterContinental Chicago
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   505 North Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #71 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Poplar Grove, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Awesome location...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

My husband, two kids, and I went to Chicago for a few days and let me tell you that the location of this hotel is in the heart of everything. You are walking distance from everything. Checking in was super easy, no wait and if you are a Priority Club member, you may get upgraded depending on the hotels availability. The front desk clerk was very nice and helpful. We got to our room and it was a bigger room, with a big bathroom and great view. They have a restaurant in the hotel, a Starbucks, and a little store. There is also a walgreens right across the street. Otherwise, if you forget anything they have a small fridge with drinks and a snack draw if you get hungry. Overall, the hotel was great, but my favorite thing has to be the location!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,116
    837
    355
    158
    92
See reviews for
460
639
159
829
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Arriving at the heritage building on North Michigan Avenue (the end of Chicago's 'Magnificent Mile'), you're immediately struck by the street view behind the check-in desk. It's a flat panel display wall of the street outside, that you just experienced. Very cool.

Alas, about the only interesting thing about what should be a flagship InterContinental property, on some of the most exciting real estate in the United States.

The room furnishings, right down to the tired carpeting and overly bright built-in 'couch' under the window, are desperately in need of updating. The flat panel TV and desktop computer display don't really compensate for an old-fashioned bathroom.

The one updated thing is the in-room minibar. I mean, who is stupid enough to use what's in a minibar? What differentiates this is that if you so much as pick up some of the junk food on top of it, it appears on your bill. The front desk is gracious enough to take it off, but it should not have appeared in the first place.

There is a Starbucks in the lobby, where you can enjoy free wireless rather than the exorbitantly priced hotel product.

Location is great, but the hotel is a disappointment.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back, in the new wing, are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Robert Klees is the hidden gem. Go see him in the fitness center for historic information and tips about Chicago.

It is in such a great location being in the heart of it all. It was built in 1929 so the rooms are more of a "boutique style". Stayed with our family of four and the boys could not get enough of the pool. Enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

Let me start off by saying that I've stayed at the hotel a few times already and have never been dissatisfied. I normally ask for Lizette in reservations to help me make my reservations and she's always very helpful and pleased to help.

The three times we have been there we make it a point to visit Michael Jordan's for dinner. It is absolutely amazing! Great atmosphere and food. I definitely recommend dinner here. Starbucks is in the lobby which is a plus. The hotel is within walking distance of everything. Their pool is beyond amazing! It's not too kid friendly as its a lap pool however.

We always look forward to our stays at the InterContinental Chicago!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

Love the location, the hotel and the staff! Very convenient to all the great sites. From those at the front desk to Bob in the fitness center (so nice and funny!), the staff is great! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I took the elevator up to the fitness center and Robert at the front desk told me where to go to see the pool. Oh my Lord! It was amazing. You will never see anything like it. I came back down and Robert told me all about it and we talked about the hotel and the rich history it has. He was so nice and knowledgeable! Next time I'm bringing a bathing suit ;)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Robert was fantastic. He gave me great ideas for runs from the hotel and other workout suggestion during my stay. He is knowledgeable, friendly, and warm. Being new to the area I did not want to run in an area that was unfamilar or unsafe. The run was along the river and was scenic and easy.If you stay stop in an tell him hello.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Chicago

Address: 505 North Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#48 Business Hotel in Chicago
#57 Family Hotel in Chicago
#59 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 844
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Chicago is a lot like the city itself: historic but hip, refined but relaxed, cultured but comfortable. A member of Michigan Avenue s architectural elite since 1929, our hotel is within easy reach of Chicago s incomparable museums, stores, theatres and restaurants. Navy Pier, Shedd Aquarium and Oak Street Beach are minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.