We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Chicago & The Hyatt!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Chicago

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Chicago to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Chicago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   151 East Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601 (The Loop)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #75 of 167 hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersSilver level
muskoka
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Loved Chicago & The Hyatt!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2010

Went to Chicago for 2 nights to attend an Oprah taping with 3 girlfriends. Stayed at the Hyatt through a bid on Priceline for $60/night!! Arrived early and our rooms were not ready so we checked our bags in and headed to the streets of Chicago. Arrived back about 8pm and were given a junior suite and an adjoining room with 2 queen beds in the East Tower. The rooms were renovated and modern, clean and very spacious. The staff were very friendly and helpful and answered all our questions with a smile from the front desk to the door man. The Hyatt is in the best location on the river within walking distance to almost everything. The onsite bar was great with lots of mature clientele due to conferences at the hotel and breakfast at the Bistro was delicious although not cheap. Try the breakfast buffet for $22. with eggs benny, custom made omletes, smoked salmon, cheeses and all the other good stuff - well worth the price and our servers were awesome. I would highly recommend the Hyatt and try Priceline.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,500 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,141
    1,423
    575
    229
    132
See reviews for
509
816
229
1233
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (751)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai-India
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2010

The best thing about they Hyatt is it's location--bang in the centre of downtown Chicago with Millenium Park and the Magic Mile shopping area just a short walk away. If you have a river facing room on a higher floor as I did, the view is pretty spectacular.

The staff is friendly, helpful and well informed.

The rooms are clean, well equipped and well maintained. My only grouse is that on both occassions that i gave clothes for laundry, they did not come back to me for two days, and then too, when I specifically asked housekeeping for them.

Overall a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2010

This large two tower hotel is located near the middle of Michigan Avenue. A block away is the best shopping in the world - either direction.
The hotel is older and has an 80's look outside and in the lobby but the newly renovated rooms in the west tower are very attractive. very stylish, clean, fresh smelling, good size.

The gym was not convenient. It seemed to be in the basement in a small store front. Disappointing better to walk instead.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

We had 3 rooms for our family, including kids and grandkids. The staff at check-in treated us wonderfully, and despite our late arrival we were assigned 3 rooms near each other on the 24th floor of the East Wing. The rooms appeared to have been recently renovated and we were all very satisfied. Beds were extremely comfortable. We used room service a couple of times and although it was a bit pricey (what room service isn't?) the food was good and the service was prompt and courteous

Despite our concerns about the large size and business orientation of this hotel, it worked out great for our family. We had a wonderful time at the Navy Pier, Shedd Aquarium, Millennium Park (just a couple of minutes walk), etc. It would have been nice to have a swimming pool, but there were plenty of other activities to keep us busy.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

I really liked the Hyatt Regency. I received a room on the 36th floor of the West Tower. It wasn't a great view but the room was fabulous! The service was wonderful too. There was no ice machine on my floor so the hotel staff would bring it to me. They have an outstanding staff and I appreciated all of the wonderful service I received. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

We reserved our hotel through "Priceline" bidding process - for $100/per nite we were assigned the Hyatt Regency Chicago. We were very excited - it was on the same side of the Chicago River as Harpo Studios (still a $15.00 cab ride). We got a wonderful room with a great view of the river, but our friends were assigned a handicap room, which was less than desirable (no vanity counter in the bathroom, smaller room, terrible view, bathroom door was a slide-in which resonanted an echoe sound through their room when the toilet was flushed or when taking a shower). It's a HUGE hotel with an East and West building, staff VERY courteous though we had to wait 1/2 hour for housekeeping to bring a corkscrew. Maybe atlittle too much staff as we felt we were always giving tips and if we forgot, the bellman would ask if we needed any change! I would stay there again for $100/nite, but would never pay Hyatt rates. The only big disappointment we had for a hotel of this size was after a long day of bicycling (Bobby's Bike Hike - fabulous), we would have appreciated a swimming pool.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

This chain requires prepayment and if there are any changes your initial payment is lost. I added a day to a 3-day prepaid reservation and ended up with a separate 4-day reservation. My Corp. Card was charged over $500.00 for the 3-day stay and then over $700.00 for the 4-day stay when I only wanted/needed one reservation. When I pointed out the issue, all I heard was "pre-paid, nonrefundable."
If there's a chance the parameters of your business trip may be changed, stay away from Hyatt.

Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Regency Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Chicago

Address: 151 East Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Chicago
#35 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#45 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#65 Family Hotel in Chicago
#70 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Chicago 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the difference between a hotel and a Hyatt when you stay at our incomparable downtown Chicago, Illinois hotel. Set within the epicenter of the city, our AAA Four Diamond Hyatt Regency Chicago is conveniently connected to the Illinois Center and within minutes of the Magnificent Mile.We are excited to announce the completion of our $168 Million renovation! We are eager to show you our new welcoming lobby, engaging check-in pods and new restaurant concepts and menus. Come see the completely transformed Hyatt Regency Chicago! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.