We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views of the city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Chicago

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Chicago to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Chicago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   151 East Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601 (The Loop)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #79 of 168 hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersSilver level
illinois
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great views of the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This was a busy busy hotel but the staff was always very accommodating. Beds were comfortable and bathroom was very nice. Especially liked the lighted make up mirror! Very convenient to downtown shopping and sightseeing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for your review of Hyatt Regency Chicago on TripAdvisor! I'm so glad you found our guest rooms to be comfortable and accommodating and our staff to be extremely helpful. I hope you choose to stay with us again the next time your travels bring you to the Windy City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,542 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,157
    1,446
    577
    229
    133
See reviews for
517
827
230
1246
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (769)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reggio Emilia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I've been there for a weekend and reserved my room on Onhotel.com with and offer for 100$. The room, at the 26th floor, was quite, very clean, clean and fresh smelling, with view on Michigan Avenue. The staff at check-in desk is kind and quick, guys at concierge at disosal for any request and Big Bob at the entrance is there to catch you a cab. Strategic position, close to the lake shore, in front of the Mag Mile, close to therater district....I'll be surely be back again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
I'm so glad you took the time to review Hyatt Regency Chicago on TripAdvisor! Our location next to Millennium Park, Michigan Avenue and Navy Pier makes for some great views from our guest rooms, and I'm glad you were able to enjoy them! I hope you choose to stay with us again the next time your travels bring you back to the Windy City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
160 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I had been in this hotel before but never actually been a guest. It is convenient to be attached to the Illinois Center and Pedway as you have a multitude of dining and shopping options without going outside. For those not familiar with Chicago, it is a great location. On the other hand, it is a huge property so it was a hike from the room to the fitness center.

I ate at the lobby bar and found my meal to be tasty and reasonably priced (open late as well). There was also a snack shop nearby where one could buy a frozen meal and use the microwave. The fitness center was large and modern. There was a bustling lobby bar and there was always crowds of people milling around.

The room was large and appeared to be recently renovated. There were lots of outlets, which aren't always easy to come by in some rooms. I found the bed to be comfortable. Unfortunately the phone didn't seem to work as I continued to get busy signals and I actually had to use my cell to call the front desk and room service. Also, as with most chains the tv had a limited supply of channels so I couldn't get some of the games that would be available on a full cable package.

I generally prefer a smaller property, but I enjoyed my recent stay at the Hyatt Chicago.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of Hyatt Regency Chicago on TripAdvisor! I'm glad you were able to find our recently renovated guest rooms pleasing and comfortable. Our Food & Beverage on property is second to none and I'm so glad you were able to enjoy some! Our location is great; next to the Chicago River, Millennium Park and Michigan Avenue as well as connected to the Illinois Center. We have it all! We look forward to welcoming you back to our downtown Chicago hotel soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I stayed at the Hyatt Regency Chicago for a blogging conference this November and the overall experience was excellent. The room that I stayed in was always super clean, had fresh towels, and the bed was very comfortable. We used a conference room and even there were other events going on at the same time, the atmosphere was very organized and calm. I loved the staff who served dinner and cocktails--they were friendly and kind.

I ate a superb dinner at the restaurant downstairs (I forget the name). Had one of the best burgers in my life! I would totally go back and bring my family for comfortable accommodation, great food, and top-notch service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for your review of Hyatt Regency Chicago on TripAdvisor! I'm glad you enjoyed your room amenities and our Food & Beverage services! I hope you're able to stay with us again the next time your travels bring you to the Windy City! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This was our first stay at the Hyatt Regency in Chicago. We were able to check in early upon arrival, which was much appreciated. Our room was the 2 Queens, as requested. It had some minor non-clean things - toothpaste spit on the wall next to the sink, dried coffee (?) spilled all down the nightstand, etc. Not a deal breaker but not pleasant to see either. The decor was nothing special but it was up-to-date. Our room was always quiet. The location of this hotel is superb and the price we paid was the lowest we have ever paid in Chicago. Our only complaint was the chaos of the lobby. It wasn't inviting to check-in, it wasn't pleasant to come and go, and it was a nightmare to check-out. I am hoping they are doing so renovations because it appeared that the front desks were in a temporary location. The lines were always long and the lobby was, in general, very packed and uninviting morning, noon and night. We have never experienced that at any other Chicago hotel, not even on the same weekend of previous years. I was thankfully able to figure out the self check-out kiosk while my husband wandered around trying to find out where we could check our suitcase until our train later in the day. Waiting in the snaking (probably 50 people as it wound around the lobby) line to ask about the luggage wasn't an option as half of our day would have been shot. So, in all our stay wasn't bad but when you leave on a sour note it leaves a sour taste. Not sure if we will stay again because it just wasn't a relaxing stay outside of our room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I've stayed in this hotel a number of times over the years and, although its never been bad, the rooms had begun to show some wear. On this visit I was surprised by a fantastic re-model, comfortable beds and the usual great service. This hotel is in a fantastic location for business or vacation travelers and has a great bar overlooking the river.

I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
It's so nice to hear you enjoyed our room renovations since the last time you stayed with us! We love the new modern decor and can't wait to unveil our lobby renovation in spring 2013! It will be a totally transformed hotel and we can't wait to welcome you back to enjoy it! We look forward to having you back soon to our downtown Chicago hotel! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from a business trip staying overnight at this property. A beautiful hotel right in the middle of downtown Chicago. The rooms were spacious, clean with comfortable beds. The hotel staff that I interacted with were professional and helpful. Loved that the hotel was a block from Michigan Ave. which was great for shopping and dinIng. Also, there was a very large conference going on during my stay and you would have never known as the rooms were quiet and staff again was great. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor for Hyatt Regency Chicago! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and our staff. We love our location along the Chicago River and steps from Navy Pier, Millennium Park and the Magnificent Mile. I hope you choose to stay with us again the next time your travels bring you to the Windy City! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Regency Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Chicago

Address: 151 East Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in Chicago
#38 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#44 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#66 Family Hotel in Chicago
#72 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Chicago 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the difference between a hotel and a Hyatt when you stay at our incomparable downtown Chicago, Illinois hotel. Set within the epicenter of the city, our AAA Four Diamond Hyatt Regency Chicago is conveniently connected to the Illinois Center and within minutes of the Magnificent Mile.We are excited to announce the completion of our $168 Million renovation! We are eager to show you our new welcoming lobby, engaging check-in pods and new restaurant concepts and menus. Come see the completely transformed Hyatt Regency Chicago! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Regency Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.