We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Deal for Downtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Chicago to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Chicago
720 North LaSalle Street, Chicago, IL 60610   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #120 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Olin,Iowa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best Deal for Downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed there in August. A great location and staff. They have a good diner with very good prices for downtown Chicago.Secure parking was free, right near your room.Very close to alot great places.Will stay again for sure.

Room Tip: Rooms above check in are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    187
    145
    68
    50
See reviews for
118
146
45
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Good rates for being right downtown. Free parking was a huge plus for us. Rooms were a little tired but not horrible. Bath remodel was A+, even though it's small, it's very well designed with 2 usable shelves below the granite top sink. This is gives you the equivalent of a 6' wide countertop and it more convenient. We appreciated that you can put the HVAC on continuous fan for white noise which cancels out hallway/room noises. The front desk staff couldn't have been more friendly! They should be commended! Super helpful and always a smile! The little diner at the front offers good "stick to your ribs" food at reasonable prices and they're fast. We'd definately stay here again. It's not the Hyatt, but neither is the price!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at the Howard Johnson 3 nights and it was wonderful, great location, friendly staff especially Daisy at the front desk, everywhere she recommended us to eat was fabulous.
If you want a really good steak/seafood go to Wilfire a couple of blocks from the hotel, also breakfast try the Yolk around the corner, huge breakfast keep you going all day. We loved Chicago a wonderful clean city and the weather was great for us.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The man behind the desk was friendly and helpful, but check-in was the only high point. I walked into the dingy, overheated room and turned down the thermostat. The heat just kept blasting, so I finally turned it off. I took one look at the couch and resolved not to go anywhere near it during my stay. I checked for bedbugs--no danger signs. The bathroom seemed relatively clean, and the plumbing worked. The Internet connection was easy to access but extremely slow.

I have to admit the room was worse than expected, though expectations were low. I had booked it with 16,000 free Wyndham Reward points, so I didn't feel too bad about not complaining. Or leaving. Switching hotels wasn't in the budget this time. It would only be one night, and I planned to spend as little time in the room as possible.

The River North location is convenient to nightlife and shopping and great architecture. Walk nine blocks to Water Tower Place and the John Hancock Observatory. Walk six blocks to Frontera Grill at Clark and Illinois for the best Mexican food you've ever had. Walk three blocks to Ed Debevic's diner ("Get in here!"). I even ended up walking 1.4 miles to Navy Pier, which is worth a visit if you have any interest in Shakespeare, stained glass windows, lake cruises, people watching, or any of a big variety of tourist activities.)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great value. Looks a bit sketchy at first, about what you'd expect from a two star hotel. But found it terrific and would recommend (to travelers on a budget) and would stay again. Free parking, but when checking in on Friday night the staff told me there are only 40 parking spots for 70 rooms. But I had no problem finding a parking spot throughout the weekend. The onsite restaurant was also a great value. Fast friendly service, big portions, perfect quick breakfast--but nothing fancy! Typical greasy spoon restaurant and I mean that In the best possible way. Room: king bed mostly filled the room, and carpet and fixtures and furnishings seemed a little tired, but my teen daughter and I slept great and found it nice and cozy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waconia, MN
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The location is good. The wi-fi works. The front desk staff is nice. The property is a dive. Holes in the shower curtains, worn out carpet, and (as often happens with in-room climate units), and you have a choice between blast furnace and meat locker for temperature. The garbage truck for the dumpsters in the alley has conveniently arranged a 4:30 am wakeup call almost every day.

The cute little cafe is open at no hours at all, but if you do get in for a meal there you can't beat the price. Steak and eggs under $10 for breakfast is as good as you'll get. And the location is walking distance to some knockout incredible restaurants, so there is that.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Chicago

Address: 720 North LaSalle Street, Chicago, IL 60610
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Chicago Hotel Chicago
Howard Johnson Chicago
Chicago Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.