We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid airport hotel w/phenomenal service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel Midway Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel Midway Airport to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel Midway Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7353 South Cicero Avenue, Chicago, IL 60629 (Formerly Four Points by Sheraton Chicago Midway Airport)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #129 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
West Palm Beach, Fl
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Solid airport hotel w/phenomenal service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2009

Solid clean hotel with great bed and really extraordinary service. Standard hi-quality hotel room at the airport w/free 24 hour shuttle, free wifi, free computer access in the lobby, GREAT beds, and some of the best service I've ever had in any hotel - the staff were ridiculously helpful & friendly. If you get a rate comparable to other hotels, definitely go here. I used Starwood points so don't have a sense of pricing, but the beds & service were really really good.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    32
    30
    20
    17
See reviews for
29
22
15
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood, WA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

We selected this hotel based on rate and free parking. Cicero was not my 1st choice of town to stay in but this hotel is close to Midway airport and they have a shuttle. The hotel is a bit worn but the rooms are large, internet is free in room and there is a business center and workout room (neither of which we used.) We used the free internet from the room and had no problem connecting or with speed of connection. A/C in the room is a bit of pain as it's a wall unit that makes the room too cold and blows on you but we dealt with it. Amenities in bath were not fancy but adequate. The price we paid for this hotel was quite equitable especially since another major name brand down the street was double our price here.
The front desk staff was excellent, especially the day manager. We got an excellent suggestion for dinner from the evening staff, Louie's Chop House. We didn't try the food in the hotel. The area is not the best but it's not dangerous; it's on a busy road and well lit and convenient to shopping.
We found the bed too soft for us but the bedding was in excellent condition, as were bath linens. No fridge, but has a coffee maker, iron, hair dryer, which all worked fine.
The free shuttle service was nice to have as they give you a ride to bus or train and explain how it works and make recommendations on what type of ride pass you will need/want.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

On the positive side, the staff members were friendly and responsvie. The carpets had massive stains and were not well-vacuumed. The rooms were comfortable, but found pubic hair in the tub and in the soap dish next to the sink. Asked to change rooms, found pubic hair in that tub as well plus trash on top of the TV that I guess the maid did not or could not see. I remember when the name "Sheraton" meant something - not sure if that still holds true based on my latest experiences with this chain.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago,IL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2008

I will never in my life stay at this place again. I've stayed at much nicer looking , more courteous staff, and top of the line hotels that make this hotel look like DIRT!! It was definately not worth an almost $3,000.00 stay.

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2008

I was really pleased with this stay. We chose it due to points usage, so I didn't expect much since it is so far out of the city. The neighborhood it's in may be a little questionable but is pretty suburban; just seemed to be a lot of run down buildings within a mile range. The shuttle driver (I think his name was Jeff) was the sweetest man ever and he gave us a lot of city history on our travels back and forth to the Orange line. The hotel was pretty clean, decor was pretty standard. The carpet and a few other things were starting to show some age, but well kept in general. A new girl at the front desk was pretty incompetent and resulted in some long waits for pickups and some confusion about billing, but it was clear that she was in training (or soon to be fired!). All in all, my three night stay here was pretty acceptable, and better than I expected.

The only thing that is really frustrating is public transit. I guess I'm jaded from a recent stay in NYC, but the El just doesn't run to as many places, and from this specific hotel it's about a 3-5 minute shuttle ride. Getting there is fine, but waiting for pickups stinks. Also, depending on the shuttle schedule, time of day, etc, it can be up to a 45 minute ride average to the loop and possibly longer on the way back. We were in and out of the city a lot, and wasted a good part of the weekend on the El. If you plan on changing your clothes in the evenings, or want to make pit stops back at the hotel, you may wish to opt for something in the city. Had I known it would take so long I would've paid the extra money to stay closer.

One really cool thing about this location, however, is that it is within walking distance to a mall, Target, Best Buy, a drugstore, and some other really good places to get things you forgot or chose not to pack.

  • Liked — The shuttle driver, cleanliness, proximity to daily needs stores.
  • Disliked — Proximity to train station, desk staff.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2008

Pretty decent stay. Room was clean and roomy, price was affordable. Amenities were nice. Only thing I didn't like was that we had a room on the fourth floor and were carrying shopping bags to and from the elevators. Neighborhood was less that desireable (groups of people hanging out in the parking lot of the adjacent mall all night - some fighting), but at least there were stores nearby for convenience. Staff at the bar was wonderful, front desk staff not so much. The location is on the edge of town, far away from a lot of places we were visitng (i.e. Downtown). But there was a shuttle to the airport (when the driver feels like showing up), which would get you on the El-Train system.

  • Liked — Clean rooms
  • Disliked — front desk staff
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2008

My nine year old daughter and I were here for one night on the way to the airport.

Pros: Clean room, comfortable beds. Free wireless

Cons: LOUD air conditioner that comes on and off all night waking us up.
Front desk people sullen, slow and uninterested
Messed up room service order
Messed up movie order (twice)
Lobby looks depressing

  • Liked — Proximity to airport
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel Midway Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Midway Airport

Address: 7353 South Cicero Avenue, Chicago, IL 60629 (Formerly Four Points by Sheraton Chicago Midway Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel Midway Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Hotel Midway Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points By Sheraton Chicago Midway Airport
Four Points By Sheraton Chicago Midway Airport Hotel Chicago
Sheraton Chicago Midway Airport
Four Points Chicago
Chicago Sheraton
Chicago Four Points

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel Midway Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.