We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT WEEKEND GETAWAY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   350 West Mart Center Drive, Chicago, IL 60654 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #87 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
naperville, il
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“GREAT WEEKEND GETAWAY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This was a great spot for a girl's weekend get away! It's a bit of a walk to get to Michigan Avenue but the stroll was, by no means, boring! Right along the Chicago River, it was scenic and the room was excellent - I had a corner room that was large, clean and updated. The bathroom was a bit bland but very clean as well! The front desk was helpful and courteous! I would recommend it in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room - on the southeast side - the views are spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Recent Guest,

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit and hope that you visit us again soon. We appreciate your review and will share your comments with our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    454
    180
    51
    41
See reviews for
234
236
66
318
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland Park, Florida, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This Hotel has a great location. It is connected to the Merchandise Mart Building, a office and shopping mall with a nice food court in case you're on the budget. It is located almos on Wacker Street ( by the river) and from there you can go to any Downtown Chicago has plenty restaurants and bars.

It also has a CTA metro/train station (Brown Line Mercandise Station) that can take you from/to the airports ( only one quick in Clark Station) so no need to take taxi to get there.

The view was great. I stayed in the 22nd floor in a very nice corner room with an incredible view. The room and the bathroom were very good. The concierge was very kind and helpful.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Recent Guest,
you’re review is so very appreciated. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit and hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

A friend of mine suggested this hotel to us and she was right. The hotel is very nice with a view of the city. It was clean and the service was great. The price was reasonable. We also went to the restaurant / bar the food was very good. They also gave us suggestions on things to see and do along with restaurants that were within walking distance. Well be back!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Recent Guest,
And, we look forward to your return. Thank you for your business and your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This Holiday Inn was very nice - the staff was very accommodating, the room was comfortable, and the views were stunning. The Cityscape Bar on the 15th floor was a good comfy spot for a drink overlooking Downtown Chicago.
Breakfast buffet offered a nice variety of standard fare. I ordered room service one night, and frankly, the chicken dinner I ordered left much to be desired. However, there are plenty of good restaurants within walking distance.
I also thought the room rates were reasonable for the quality.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Recent Guest,
We appreciate your comments and hope that you will visit us again on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed here three nights in early November. I found the Hotel to be conveniently located in central downtown. Public transportation was only a block away and taxi's were available all hours of the night. You must stop by and have a drink at the bar because it would be difficult to find a better view of the river and downtown Chicago.

In fact, that is this hotel's most endearing attribute "the view." If you don't get a room facing the river I don't see much point in choosing the Mart Plaza over any other hotel as I found the room rather utilitarian. However, the staff was pleasant and helpful when needed so, over all I rate this hotel somewhere between good and great.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Recent Guest,
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We know that you have many choices in Chicago and appreciate your patronage. We will pass along the “good and great” to our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Had a room facing the rivers and view was just great during the day, also looking at vehicles parked out front which was highlighted with the brilliant red/amber of the leaves as we went into Fall.But at night the whole of the city just came to light in a natural glow from all the all the lights.You must have a room with a river view.Short walk across the road to a great food hall all usual takeaways and The Loop rail service which can drop you off at 9 stations around the centre of Chicago. But lets not forget the Hotel usual high standard of Holiday Inn rooms great, service very good, the view from the Bar is also excellent pity the restaurant did not have the same view. Food of the standard expected from Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: Must have a room overlooking the river, worth the extra dollars
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I LOVED my stay at the Holiday Inn Mart Plaza. There is so much to say. My room was great. The pool was great. The views were fantastic. The Cityscape Bar was phenomenal- not just the drinks, but the views- my pictures were amazing! The Italian-Asian Fusion restaurant was fantastic. It was one of the best meals of my stay - and I had a few good ones! I had the wild mushroom ragout with roasted polenta. It was amazing. I highly recommend it!
The fact that you can walk from the hotel across the street via walkway to the design building check out the coffee, smoothie, and breakfast spots and get onto the brown line without even going outside- so convenient. This was a wonderful and pleasant stay. I would recommend it in a heartbeat! The only con was having to pay $25.00 for a little frig in my room. When I travel for a few days, especially solo, I like to keep milk, cheese,wine,etc in my room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Recent Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us. Thank you for the kind review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North

Address: 350 West Mart Center Drive, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#69 Business Hotel in Chicago
#73 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#74 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 521
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enhance your family vacation, corporate travel, or romantic getaway by staying at the Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North. Located atop the Chicago Sun Times building presenting the best views of the Windy City fifteen stories above the action, it's a high-rise haven of relaxation, convenience, and unbeatable service. Each of our 521 guest rooms and suites are spacious, beautifully furnished with awe-inspiring city and river views. There are also amenities galore that will be most comforting to both leisure and business travelers including complimentary Wi-Fi throughout guestrooms and lobby, LCD flat-screen TVs with cable, premium channel access, and Pay Per View movies, over sized work desk, heated indoor atrium pool,24-hour fitness facility, and complimentary business center. Guests of the contemporary hotel will find themselves in the middle of downtown Chicago's bustling River North area offering the top restaurant and nightlife options, within walking distance of the Loop, the main business district, and Michigan Avenue, aka the Magnificent Mile where chic shops and restaurants abound. Walk across the fully enclosed pedway into the Merchandise Mart where you can ride a train to just about anywhere in the city, including attractions like Navy Pier and Millennium Park. The Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North is located 3 miles from Chicago's McCormick Convention Center, 12 miles from Midway International Airport, and 18 miles from O'Hare International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Agoda, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chicago - Mart Plaza Hotel Chicago
Holiday Inn Mart Plaza
Chicago Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.