We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect weekend getaway hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   350 West Mart Center Drive, Chicago, IL 60654 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #82 of 168 hotels in Chicago
Chicago, IL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Perfect weekend getaway hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My wife and I spent two nights at the Holiday Inn Merchandise Mart for an anniversary weekend and were quite pleased with the location, convenience to trasportation, and overall cleanliness of the hotel. Checkin took all of two minutes and was quite efficient. The room appeared to have been refurbished recently with new carpeting, and what appeared to be relatively new furniture. Our room faced north, and the view of the city was awesome. Mind you, the best view is to the south, but no matter where your room is you will have a great view of the city. We had breakfast in the Italiasia restaurant both mornings and were very impressed with the good variety of food on the buffet. Everything was fresh and tasted great. The pool looked nice, but we did not have time on this visit to try it out. To sum it up, we have found a new getaway weekend hotel as the Holiday Inn Mart Plaza compares quite favorably with it's competition and is a good value by comparison.

Room Tip: Rooms facing south offer best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Recent Guest,

“Happy Anniversary”, again. We thank you for staying with us, we appreciate your kind review. We are so pleased that you found us and look forward to your next visit. If possible, please “like” us on face book or email us on your next visit at sales@martplaza.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    307
    393
    159
    40
    39
See reviews for
208
202
57
282
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This was our first visit to Chicago and we got an incredible deal for four nights using a third party website. With that in mind we were fully expecting a more basic room. However on arrival we were given a wonderful room on the 16th floor overlooking the river and to describe the view as stunning is an understatement! The room itself was spacious and very clean, as was the bathroom. Credit to all the staff working in the hotel as everyone was friendly and helpful, from the concierge who assisted us with Ryder Cup journey planning to the team at the Cityscape Bar. Do try and visit the bar if you can as the views here are also outstanding. Location wise we were close to many attractions, but with taxis also outside the hotel it was easy to get around the city. We hope to be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Recent Guest,
we hope that you will be back as well! Thank you for the wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Merchandise Mart for a wedding recently and there was absolutely nothing to complain about. The staff was very polite and helpful. The bellhop was even nice enough to go out of his way to search through all of the brochures to find an activity he was recommending for us to do. The service was top notch, nothing to complain about the room, excellent view, and I'd definitely recommend the Holiday Inn Merchandise Mart if you plan on staying in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Recent guest,
thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments and will share them with the staff. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, California, USA
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Most of the reviews nail the hotel overall. good location great city view, good for business, good internet, nice pool, etc. As to the negative points about service or cleanliness in other reviews we did not experience that in our 10 day stay. As to cost try shopping on the internet.

Room Tip: Room 613 is close to Elevator and has a great river - city view. Any room facing North will give the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Recent Guest,

Thank you! Thank you for your review and thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed for a weekend. Check-in was efficient, but maybe not as warm or welcoming as it could be.

Standard room was clean & well-equipped. River view was beautiful. Air conditioner was very noisy. Free fast internet.

During regular hours, you can access the CTA brown line (Merchandise Mart) by going up the escalator from the ground floor and across the street via the enclosed bridge walkway - 5 or 10 min walk, all indoors. Also, easy walk to Clark/Lake blue line across the river. Starbucks & CVS a block away on the east side of the building.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Recent Guest,

We appreciate your comments and your review. It is your feedback that allows us to work towards our Goal of 100% Satisfaction. Thank you and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a week on business. The location was great - within walking distance to sites, restaurants, etc. And the view from my room was very nice. And the wifi worked well. However, the room itself smelled like smoke and it was a nonsmoking room. Maintenance came up to clean the air, but the next day the smell was back. I gave up.

The young lady that checked me in was friendly, but I cant say the same for one of the managers I dealt with while requesting a late check out. He didnt seemed interested in helping me.

I ordered a salad from one of their restaurants....it was a waste of money.

While I was underwhelmed with my stay, I would stay here again only because of the location and the views.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martplaza, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Recent Guest,

We are very sorry to hear of this. We value your patronage and would like to find out more about your stay. Can you email us with the details of your room number at flangan@martplaza.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, IA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

The view of the River was GREAT!!! The doormen were always friendly and welcoming. 3-4 blocks to the brown line, CVS and Starbucks. We booked this room vai a site with blind pricing, the only challenge was that we were three people and the room had a king bed. They brought in a roll-a-way bed and the bellman had to move the TV and than we had to put the bed up to move in the room. If it had just been the two of us the room would have been great Parking was outside and $39 a night - which I believe is the highest we've paid.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Recent Guest,
Thank you for the review. We agree parking is on the high side in Chicago, but at $39 a day with in and out, believe it or not our parking is on the low side. Some of our competition are in the $40’s and $50’s without in and out privileges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North

Address: 350 West Mart Center Drive, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Business Hotel in Chicago
#69 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#75 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza, a downtown Chicago hotel offering the best view of Chicago. River North, the Loop, Michigan Avenue, the Magnificent Mile, the Merchandise Mart, the landmarks that draw millions to downtown Chicago each year are right outside the Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza hotel. Stroll to countless restaurants and shops in the Chicago's River North Area, or conduct business in Chicago Loop's dynamic business center. Plan a quick trip to downtown Chicago's Magnificent Mile, Millennium Park or Navy Pier. Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza hotel puts you in the heart of the downtown Chicago. Fifteen stories above the action, it's a high-rise haven of relaxation, convenience, and unbeatable service. At the Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza Hotel each of our 521 guest rooms and suites are spacious, beautifully furnished with awe-inspiring city and river views. The Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza hotel offers 16 meeting rooms with nearly 25,000 square feet of modern, flexible function space, complete with the latest audio/visual technology and high-speed Internet access. The Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza hotel is located 3 miles to/from Chicago's McCormick Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chicago - Mart Plaza Hotel Chicago
Holiday Inn Mart Plaza
Chicago Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.