We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   350 West Mart Center Drive, Chicago, IL 60654 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #87 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Vista, California, USA
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Most of the reviews nail the hotel overall. good location great city view, good for business, good internet, nice pool, etc. As to the negative points about service or cleanliness in other reviews we did not experience that in our 10 day stay. As to cost try shopping on the internet.

Room Tip: Room 613 is close to Elevator and has a great river - city view. Any room facing North will give the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Recent Guest,

Thank you! Thank you for your review and thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    454
    180
    51
    41
See reviews for
234
236
66
318
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed for a weekend. Check-in was efficient, but maybe not as warm or welcoming as it could be.

Standard room was clean & well-equipped. River view was beautiful. Air conditioner was very noisy. Free fast internet.

During regular hours, you can access the CTA brown line (Merchandise Mart) by going up the escalator from the ground floor and across the street via the enclosed bridge walkway - 5 or 10 min walk, all indoors. Also, easy walk to Clark/Lake blue line across the river. Starbucks & CVS a block away on the east side of the building.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Recent Guest,

We appreciate your comments and your review. It is your feedback that allows us to work towards our Goal of 100% Satisfaction. Thank you and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a week on business. The location was great - within walking distance to sites, restaurants, etc. And the view from my room was very nice. And the wifi worked well. However, the room itself smelled like smoke and it was a nonsmoking room. Maintenance came up to clean the air, but the next day the smell was back. I gave up.

The young lady that checked me in was friendly, but I cant say the same for one of the managers I dealt with while requesting a late check out. He didnt seemed interested in helping me.

I ordered a salad from one of their restaurants....it was a waste of money.

While I was underwhelmed with my stay, I would stay here again only because of the location and the views.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martplaza, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Recent Guest,

We are very sorry to hear of this. We value your patronage and would like to find out more about your stay. Can you email us with the details of your room number at flangan@martplaza.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, IA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

The view of the River was GREAT!!! The doormen were always friendly and welcoming. 3-4 blocks to the brown line, CVS and Starbucks. We booked this room vai a site with blind pricing, the only challenge was that we were three people and the room had a king bed. They brought in a roll-a-way bed and the bellman had to move the TV and than we had to put the bed up to move in the room. If it had just been the two of us the room would have been great Parking was outside and $39 a night - which I believe is the highest we've paid.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Recent Guest,
Thank you for the review. We agree parking is on the high side in Chicago, but at $39 a day with in and out, believe it or not our parking is on the low side. Some of our competition are in the $40’s and $50’s without in and out privileges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here three nights in mid Sept. We have no real complaints other than it is slightly outside of the Loop, but the Merchandise Mart's Brown line L stop made that a minor inconvenience . We were easily able access Wrigley Field, the Sears Tower, Navy Pier and numerous Loop restaurants. Cab fare from Union Station is about $10 including tip.To and from O'Hare is $2.50 each way on the Blue line via the Brown line.
The hotel itself is clean, comfortable and modern. and
the staff is very friendly and helpful. Spend a little extra and book a room with a river view, which is fantastic, especially at night, and probably the hotel's best asset. For a mid-priced hotel it gives a lot of bang for the buck.
I'd recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Recent guest,

Thank you so much for the kind review. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here as the departure point for Route 66 trip. The hotel itself is easy to find and the foyer was very tidy, modern and friendly. The bar and restaurant was also clean, tidy and friendly.

The rooms have a good view depending on what side of the hotel you stay on, however, the rooms are showing a little sign of tiredness and looking slightly dated (wallpaper falling off, loose shower head).

The worst aspect was the parking, this is located straight outside the hotel, for a 2 night stay it cost $78. When you have paid so much as a group of 4 adults to go on such a trip this was quite disappointing and unexpected. This could also be pointed at the travel agency who we booked through (Virgin/American Ring Travel) for not informing us that this would be the case.

All in all, a good hotel with kind friendly staff, slightly dated rooms but good access to the city for tourists and good food/drink. Horrendous parking fees, find a parking facility close by that costs $10 per day.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Recent guest,
We appreciate your comments and your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahore, Pakistan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed in Holiday Inn Chicago - Mart Plaza from 15th to 18th September, 2012. We had gotten a deal through anonymous hotel finding tool of expedia.com and we found ourselves lucky to have gotten a stay in this hotel at around 120 dollars per night. We got a room with a view to river and downtown, that's something you should definitely ask for, when you stay there. The hotel is accessibly quite easily via CTA train; there is a station at Merchandise Mart (building next to Holiday Inn's) and there is a sky bridge that connects the hotel with the subway station in Merchandise Mart. There is a food court in Merchandise Mart that is a great help. There is a subway outlet just next to hotel. The room was clean and specious. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this hotel and it is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a view room. Buy water bottles from outside as hotel doesn't give complimentary water an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Recent Guest,

We are so pleased that you found us! Thank you for the review and we hope that you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North

Address: 350 West Mart Center Drive, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#68 Business Hotel in Chicago
#73 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#74 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 521
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enhance your family vacation, corporate travel, or romantic getaway by staying at the Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North. Located atop the Chicago Sun Times building presenting the best views of the Windy City fifteen stories above the action, it's a high-rise haven of relaxation, convenience, and unbeatable service. Each of our 521 guest rooms and suites are spacious, beautifully furnished with awe-inspiring city and river views. There are also amenities galore that will be most comforting to both leisure and business travelers including complimentary Wi-Fi throughout guestrooms and lobby, LCD flat-screen TVs with cable, premium channel access, and Pay Per View movies, over sized work desk, heated indoor atrium pool,24-hour fitness facility, and complimentary business center. Guests of the contemporary hotel will find themselves in the middle of downtown Chicago's bustling River North area offering the top restaurant and nightlife options, within walking distance of the Loop, the main business district, and Michigan Avenue, aka the Magnificent Mile where chic shops and restaurants abound. Walk across the fully enclosed pedway into the Merchandise Mart where you can ride a train to just about anywhere in the city, including attractions like Navy Pier and Millennium Park. The Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North is located 3 miles from Chicago's McCormick Convention Center, 12 miles from Midway International Airport, and 18 miles from O'Hare International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Agoda, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chicago - Mart Plaza Hotel Chicago
Holiday Inn Mart Plaza
Chicago Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.