We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Great Location, Fantastic View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   350 West Mart Center Drive, Chicago, IL 60654 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #86 of 169 hotels in Chicago
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Clean, Great Location, Fantastic View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

My husband and I just had an overnight get-away in Chicago. We found the Holiday Inn Mart Plaza to be an ideal central location for walking about the city. We did a lot of walking. Especially nice was its close proximity to night life and restaurants. The hotel was clean and spacious. The concierge and bell hops were very helpful. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Room on the south had great views of the river, Willis Tower, and skyline. We were on the 20th floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Dear Recent Guest,
Thank you so very much for your kind review. We are so pleased that you
found our location perfect for getting around Chicago. Our River North area
certainly is the Restaurant, Nightlife Capital of Chicago. We are so pleased
that you enjoyed our service and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    309
    408
    164
    46
    39
See reviews for
211
211
58
289
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

This Holiday Inn is a good choice for location in Chicago. The front rooms have a beautiful view of the city centre and Chicago River. Rooms are very comfortable, clean and other luxuries provided.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the river is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Dear Recent Guest,
We appreciate your review and look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We spent last week end at this location and had a great experience. Connected to the Merchandise Mart by a walkway, it is easy to get to the subway, the L. The $2.25 ride to O'Hare could not be beat, and a call to the hotel prior to arrival gave us info on which train to take and at which times of the day to use the L vs a shuttle,etc. The rooms were clean and well kept with internet at no charge. We had no trouble at all with this service. The concierges were extremely helpful. The bar has great views of the city, as did our room. The bartender( wish I had his name ) was also very helpful when asked questions about the city. The restaurant he suggested ( Girl and a Goat ) was terrific beyond words. This location is great. We will stay here on our next trip.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Dear Recent Guest,
Thank you so much for the kind review. We couldn't be more pleased that you
enjoyed your visit and our service. We look forward to your next visit.
Please check out our Facebook page for specials.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

There isn't enough that can be said about this hotel. It is walking or easy subway to EVERYTHING, clean and has some of the best views. I fell in love with my little penthouse in the sky as I called it because my room was on the top floor and had THE BEST view. I have to admit Robert at concierge is one of the best I have seen and I travel lots and have worked for some of the biggest names in hospitality. I got injured in an accident shortly after arriving and Robert helped get me medical supplies, found a doctor, figured out when a short wait would be and then from every day on whenever we spoke he would tell me how much better I looked. Along with the fact that he knew every answer to every question and would often pick up the phone and call places directly to get tips or find the best way to make it work in my trip plans. This hotel makes you feel like a celebrity. Honestly you can't pick a better hotel

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Dear Recent Guest,
Thank you! We knew Robert was good, but coming from you means everything. We
hope that you are healing well and appreciate your patronage. We look
forward to your next visit to Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison Heights, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We recently stayed in this hotel for the Tigers/Cubs series. We loved that it was close to the train station and downtown ammenties for half the price of other Chicago hotels. It was about a 1.5 mile walk to/from Navy Pier on the river. Everyone was very nice and pleasant. Our only problem was having new coffee cups after the cleaning crew went through, but we just walked down to the lobby and asked for them.

Room Tip: Riverview rooms are worth the extra few dollars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Am currently staying at this hotel and so far really good.

I got an upgrade to an exec corner room and it is huge, sofa, chair, desk, fridge and masses of room, if you can would recommend the upgrade. Two of the walls are huge windows with a great view of the city. My parents have a standard room and it is quite a bit smaller than ours, without the two walls of windows or fridge.

Bed is comfortable and everything is clean and modern, the internet is free but connection drops from time to time but not much of a problem for me.

Grayline tour picks up just across the street if you are doing their city tour, plenty of bars and restaurants within a short walk.

Would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Dear Recent Guest,
Thank you so much for the kind review. We appreciate all of your comments and are researching our internet connectivity. We hope that you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida (home of the Gators!)
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel numerous times. I absolutely hate it. I only gave it two stars, instead of one, as they do have a couple pluses (location, location).

First, the internet stinks, I'd rather be on a 2400 baud dial up. The rooms are only wireless, not sure how they can call themselves a business hotel without a wired room. The connection dies over and over (and over). The rooms are dirty and old. Most of the staff are helpful, but the bellman was useless. I'm also not a fan of a hotel that's lobby is on the 15th floor!

And the price for one night - ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!

Of course, I'll be here again next year, ONLY because of the proximity to the Mart. If I had any other better options, I would choose it...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear Recent Guest,
We are very sorry to hear of your experience. We have recently spent a significant amount of capital dollars to improve our internet service. We have gone from 3 T1 lines to Fiber optic, we have gone from 4.5 mbps to 100 mbps. We offer some of the highest quality internet service in the Chicago area and complimentary. We would like to hear more of your experience and room location so that we can check the access point in that location. Please contact me directly, Tony Miu, General Manager (312) 529-1130 or tmiu@martplaza.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North

Address: 350 West Mart Center Drive, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#69 Business Hotel in Chicago
#75 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza, a downtown Chicago hotel offering the best view of Chicago. River North, the Loop, Michigan Avenue, the Magnificent Mile, the Merchandise Mart, the landmarks that draw millions to downtown Chicago each year are right outside the Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza hotel. Stroll to countless restaurants and shops in the Chicago's River North Area, or conduct business in Chicago Loop's dynamic business center. Plan a quick trip to downtown Chicago's Magnificent Mile, Millennium Park or Navy Pier. Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza hotel puts you in the heart of the downtown Chicago. Fifteen stories above the action, it's a high-rise haven of relaxation, convenience, and unbeatable service. At the Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza Hotel each of our 521 guest rooms and suites are spacious, beautifully furnished with awe-inspiring city and river views. The Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza hotel offers 16 meeting rooms with nearly 25,000 square feet of modern, flexible function space, complete with the latest audio/visual technology and high-speed Internet access. The Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza hotel is located 3 miles to/from Chicago's McCormick Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chicago - Mart Plaza Hotel Chicago
Holiday Inn Mart Plaza
Chicago Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.