We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular river view in the heart of Chicago!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront to your Saves list
Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   71 East Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601 (The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #46 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Michigan
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Spectacular river view in the heart of Chicago!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

An excellent hotel in the centre of all the amenities that Chicago has on offer. Our first impression when we checked into our splendid hotel room on the 36th floor was "Heaven". We were in awe with the view of the Chicago River outside that snakes it's way passed Hotel 71. The hotel is located beside Michigan Avenue bridge and it faces the Trump Tower from across the river. It is also conveniently located beside an "EL" station (Chicago's elivated rail network). We stayed here for 5 days in mid september 2010 and I loved this hotel in the best city in the world.
The hotel staff were very friendly and courteous to any of our requests and the room was very clean, spacious and elegant. The hotel is perfect for romantic couples and my girlfriend and I had the time of our lives here. We plan to go back to Chicago before christmas and yes I will be booking back into this hotel!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    970
    716
    204
    71
    38
See reviews for
432
668
85
436
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

This is a solid hotel with some of the most beautiful views in the city. The rooms are large and clean. Bathrooms are a bit worn down, but clean. Park your car yourself next door and save yourself more than $30 a night on valet parking. Near everything.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

Hotel 71 is in a great location, sort of straddling the Loop and the Magnificent Mile. Walkable to or just a quick cab ride away from everything you want to see and do in Chicago. Parking was tough, though - we ended up in a lot around the corner, to the tune of $44 for 24 hours. Ouch. The hotel itself is lovely, modern exterior and lobby, but very elegant upscale spacious rooms. We were on the 16th floor with a river view, and it was really nice. Super comfy big bed and the bathroom was beautiful (the water in the tub and shower wasn't quite as hot as we like it). The yummy-smelling orange bath products are worth mentioning. The room was quiet through the night, but the housekeeper made quite a bit of noise in the hallway outside fairly early in the morning and there was what sounded like construction going on in the room next door. Not very conducive to sleeping in! The hotel bar was pretty underwhelming, but the bartender said they're in the process of updating it. Other than those fairly minor complaints, we had a great stay at Hotel 71.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, AL
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

Newly opened Hotel 71 is a real jewel in downtown Chicago. Located just west of Michigan Avenue facing the Chicago River,it's opposite the much more expensive Trump Hotel. Shopping is a short walk away on the Magnificent Mile or walking the other way, to Macy's. The rooms are more like suites than the typical Chicago hotel rooms. Hotel 71 is much like a large, full service boutique hotel. The staff are friendly and hospitable. Parking is by valet but your car will be under the building instead of halfway across town. Breakfast is served in the cozy dining room, either buffet or ala carte. Imagine, fresh squeezed orange juice. The fitness center is way up where you can enjoy a fabulous view of Chicago. Upper floors facing south have a nice view of the Loop but I suggest paying a few bucks more for the river view. We could see seven bridges spanning the Chicago River. A few minor inconveniences: ice machines are only on a few floors and there are no soda machines. I'm proud to attach my name to this review. Burt Katz

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

This is by far the best hotel in Chicago. Excellent Service! Thank You Reservation for seeing to our "Special Request". Friendly-Professional-Courteous! Love, Love,Love the location...can walk anywhere. Beautiful upscale room decor. Clean, clean, clean....did I say CLEAN!
Thank You for letting us check in early & check out late!
Thank You! Our #1 choice!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

I stayed here with a friend in March last year and was very impressed.

We had a small hickup on checkin but this acutally occured by the hotel trying to be nice to us. They had given us a complimentary upgrade to a suite but it had a king sized bed and we needed a twin, this was rectified immediately and the staff were very very helpful.

The rooms very very tastefully decorated, there was a decent gym upstairs. Unfortunately though we never got to eat in the restaurant as it was being renovated at the time but we did have room service and again I couldn't fault any of it.

The location could not have been better, the hotel is right at the top of Michigan Ave and all of the shopping and sights are within walking distance, also the hop on hop off tours etc have a pick up point right outside the hotel.

I found Chicago lovely and the people the friendliest I've met in the US. Cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

Ok, Hotel 71 is not bad. The location is spectacular, it could hardly be better. I have been for four days with my wife in September 2010, and at check in I was offered an upgrade room overlooking the river and stuff, all for $ 140 more. I thought it best not and got the standard room. Well the room needed a makeover, but it is quite large and the bed is good. It also has Wi Fi quick and free. The front desk is very friendly and attentive. Chicago is an expensive city, so the 71 can be a good option, but rather a search for other hotels in the same category before going ahead.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront

Address: 71 East Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#27 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#29 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#34 Family Hotel in Chicago
#49 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront boasts an unrivaled location in the heart of the city--where the Chicago River and North Michigan Avenue meet. Freshly renovated, the hotel updated guest rooms, 24-hour complimentary fitness and business centers, and Hoyt's Chicago-an in-house restaurant located on the lobby level of the hotel. This all-day dining venue features culinary delights inspired by Midwestern tastes and locally grown produce. Whether you're visiting Chicago for business or leisure purposes, you'll find yourself within minutes of your destination--the Loop, Michigan Avenue, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, the River North District and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Wyndham, Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
71 Hotel Chicago
Hotel 71 Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.