We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hotel Loved Hotel 71” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront to your Saves list
Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   71 East Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601 (The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #46 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Otario
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Awesome Hotel Loved Hotel 71”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

Husband and I stayed in the premier king river view room was just awesome. The room was just gorgeous. Very clean and roomy, bathroom was huge and even had a tv in it not kidding was great. The shower had a rainforest shower head with room to spare big enough for 4. Lovely bathroom was huge. The view from the room was just amazing. The front desk was very helpful with any questions that we had. The doorman was very helpful as well always right there if you needed anything. Hotel 71 was close to all attractions we walked everywhere and felt safe no problems at all. Could not say enough about this hotel not sure about the standard rooms but ours was just beautiful even the hallways were very clean and well decorated. Also try Dicks last resort which is right across the river, atmosphere was just so much fun we had lots of laughs there the servers were just hillarious and food was good. Dicks is right on the river so the view again was great. This was our first time to Chicago and we had a blast. We would definetly go back again and stay at Hotel 71 not a bad thing about this hotel. Loved Hotel 71.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    956
    707
    202
    70
    38
See reviews for
426
658
83
434
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

My wife and I stayed here for a long weekend. I was in fear when we were told at check in that the hotel oversold our room type. The desk clerk, Mike, quickly commented that this was their fault and he would have to make it right. We were upgraded to an executive suite. This was a huge two room suite. It spanned to both sides of the hotel. We were able to have a great city view on one side and an even better view of the river and lake on the other.

The hotel is very conveniently located; right across the street from the River Walk and just two blocks from the CTA trains. We took the train rather than the $40 - 50 cab ride. We were glad we did. $2.50 each and about 30 minutes took us from the airport to the hotel, no traffic and more $ for the city.

The hotel was clean, staff friendly, in the midst of great restaurants and all around wonderful. We had never been to Chicago and had a great time. Hotel 71 was a wonderful experience. Make sure you take an architectual river tour or you will miss some real gems in this city.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

Had romantic, Valentine's package that was completely messed up. Scheduled to have rose petals and champagne in room and the hotel didn't do at scheduled time. They claimed someone was in the room showering, when we were clearly out of the hotel at dinner reservation. The staff was snobby and didn't believe me. They snapped at me on the phone. Parking cost was extortion. Rooms were very night and the bathroom was fantastic, but not sure these amenities are worth the nasty customer service.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

Weekend girls getaway - large room with 2 queens was perfect. Big bathroom and closets, plenty of floor space and great location. The staff could not have been nicer and they accomodated both a very early checkin and a delayed checkout. This will be the 1st choice for the next trip to Chicago and also 1st recommended to any who ask.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

Hotel 71 was conveniently located within 1-2 blocks of Michigan Avenue, other attractions, and restaurants. We had a beautiful view of the city from our room overlooking the river. Beds were comfortable. Room decor was pleasant. Hotel staff were helpful and courteous. I accidentally left behind some personal items and the housekeeping staff was instrumental in getting it returned to me. This was my first visit to Chicago and staying at Hotel 71 definitely made it memorable. The only drawback I can think of is that one of the elevators was not working. I recall seeing this complaint in other reviews and wonder if this is a permanent problem. The wait for the working elevators was very slow. That part was frustrating, but I wouldn't let it keep me from staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

Hotel 71 is the perfect place to stay when you want to be in the middle of all attractions. Nice big rooms, very clean, excellent Italien Restaurant next door, Coffee Place around the corner. Everything in walking distance. And we made an excellent deal to get a room with the perfect view.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

What an amazing find! Our room was amazing - awesome view of the river and in a prime location. I only hope the rates stay as competitive as we found for our stay here in July 2009.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront

Address: 71 East Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#27 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#27 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#34 Family Hotel in Chicago
#47 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront boasts an unrivaled location in the heart of the city--where the Chicago River and North Michigan Avenue meet. Freshly renovated, the hotel updated guest rooms, 24-hour complimentary fitness and business centers, and Hoyt's Chicago-an in-house restaurant located on the lobby level of the hotel. This all-day dining venue features culinary delights inspired by Midwestern tastes and locally grown produce. Whether you're visiting Chicago for business or leisure purposes, you'll find yourself within minutes of your destination--the Loop, Michigan Avenue, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, the River North District and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Wyndham, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
71 Hotel Chicago
Hotel 71 Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.