We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“top spot for leisure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront to your Saves list
Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   71 East Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601 (The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #46 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Amsterdam
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“top spot for leisure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2009

After reading reviews on this site, I was curious to see the elevators in action but they took us to the 33rd floor (and back) in no time, all the time. Awesome view, friendly staff. There was no safe in the room, but at the front desk. I'd like them to start with the policy of only renewing towels that are put on the floor to offer choice. We had a great stay and would definitely recommend it. After all, design is in the eye of the beholder.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,983 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    960
    712
    203
    70
    38
See reviews for
429
663
84
434
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2009

I love this hotel, rooms are modern very stylish. Location is ok, staff was friendly.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2008

Recently stayed at the Hotel 71 over Thanksgiving weekend during a visit to Chicago with my wife. Made our reservations through Hotwire, so got it at a discounted rate. Honestly was a bit apprehensive after some of the reviews, but it ended up being a great stay. They seem to have addressed the elevator issue that people have complained about (we never waited more than a minute or two for the elevator (we were on the 36th floor)). The room was clean and comfortable, although the bathroom fixtures could use some updating. The staff was polite and more than accomodating. The location was absolutely perfect. Literally a few minutes walk from many chicago attractions including the theater district, miracle mile, rush street and many of the museums and restaurants. My wife and I would absolutely stay here again without hestitation.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bathroom fixtures
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2008

I booked 20 rooms for a convention. The rooms were very nice in my opinion. Not a bad view from any of them. However . . . they need to get the elevators fixed and finish renovating the restaurant. We were lucky to be near so many restaurants and bars within walking distance. I had booked this hotel early in the year and didn't know at the time there was no restaurant. I was embarrassed learning this. The last night there a man in the elevator told me the elevators were not working a year ago and the restaurant and bar we also being renovated then.

For this to be on my list ever again. They need to finish it.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — no restaurant and the elevators
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2008

I got "upgraded" to a remodeled room, #1601. Right next to the elevator, and the noises kept me up all night (and usually I have no trouble sleeping). Internet amazingly slow to the point of being unworkable. No ethernet cable to back up the wireless access. Very poor entertainment options. Colleague found a dirty sock under her bed, also found internet access unworkable, had a dripping faucet, and had a used bar of soap in her bathroom- Yech.

I stayed here last year and it was ok, but I'm not going back.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront

Address: 71 East Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#27 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#27 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#34 Family Hotel in Chicago
#49 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront boasts an unrivaled location in the heart of the city--where the Chicago River and North Michigan Avenue meet. Freshly renovated, the hotel updated guest rooms, 24-hour complimentary fitness and business centers, and Hoyt's Chicago-an in-house restaurant located on the lobby level of the hotel. This all-day dining venue features culinary delights inspired by Midwestern tastes and locally grown produce. Whether you're visiting Chicago for business or leisure purposes, you'll find yourself within minutes of your destination--the Loop, Michigan Avenue, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, the River North District and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Wyndham, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
71 Hotel Chicago
Hotel 71 Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.