We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront to your Saves list
Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   71 East Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601 (The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #45 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Colorado
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Comfortable!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We stayed here 4 nights recently. We loved: the large windows (a full wall of windows!), extremely comfortable bed and bedding, large room, very clean, great location, easy to walk to almost anything you'd need, refrigerator promptly provided upon request, reliable fast free wifi. Neutral: slow elevators, no fan in the bathroom, could hear quite a bit of noise in the hallways and other rooms (was not an issue at all T-Th, but we noticed it on the busier Friday night), small lobby, no where to "hang out" in the hotel outside of the room. Overall: We'd definitely stay here again if we found it for a bargain price as we did this time!

Room Tip: We were offered a lower floor or the 34th. So glad we took the 34th! Our room was directly across...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juli C, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Hello

Thank you for your wonderful review of the Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront. We are thrilled to hear that you relaxed in one of our comfortable River View rooms. We do pride ourselves on our location, views and the great service we provide.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Regards

Juli Colon
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,991 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    965
    714
    204
    70
    38
See reviews for
430
666
85
435
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prairie Village, Kansas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

The Wyndham Grand River Chicago... Was fantastic! Perfect location, very nice rooms... Some with river views (pay the extra $20/night... You cheap skate). Close to shopping, parks, museums, etc... And close to the RedLine to get you to a Cubs game. My wife and I came to Chicago to spend some one on one time away from the kids and we loved this hotel!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juli C, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Hello

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront. We are thrilled to hear you had an amazing stay and thank you for your kind comments.

We do hope that you return and see us soon.


Regards

Juli Colon
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Large rooms. Looks like the seventies, but very clean and well set. We were on a high floor on the river side, so the view was great. Elevators were out of order during our stay, but this was off set by very responsive staff. Doormen however are not really welcoming. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juli C, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Hello

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront. We are happy to hear you had an amazing stay and thank you for your kind comments. We do apologize that you encountered the challenges we had with the elevators and we are glad our staff was there to assist.

We hope to see you soon.

Regards

Juli Colon
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

The Grand Riverfront is a newly renovated hotel that overlooks the Chicago river and is a block from the Magnificant Mile. The decor is fresh and upscale, the rooms a decent size for a big city hotel. We had a one bedroom unit, it was spacious and comfortable. The bed was the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in, in a hotel. Staff were responsive and helpful. Everything is within walking distance or a subway ride away so you don't need a car. It is $60 a night for parking. The downfall? Very persistent timeshare sales staff.

Room Tip: If you can, get a riverfront view. The view is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juli C, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Hello

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront. We are thrilled to hear you had an amazing stay and thank you for your kind comments.

We do hope that you return and see us soon.


Regards

Juli Colon
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront

Address: 71 East Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#26 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#29 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#34 Family Hotel in Chicago
#49 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront boasts an unrivaled location in the heart of the city--where the Chicago River and North Michigan Avenue meet. Freshly renovated, the hotel updated guest rooms, 24-hour complimentary fitness and business centers, and Hoyt's Chicago-an in-house restaurant located on the lobby level of the hotel. This all-day dining venue features culinary delights inspired by Midwestern tastes and locally grown produce. Whether you're visiting Chicago for business or leisure purposes, you'll find yourself within minutes of your destination--the Loop, Michigan Avenue, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, the River North District and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Wyndham, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
71 Hotel Chicago
Hotel 71 Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.