We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic Chicago experiance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   71 East Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601 (The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #46 of 167 hotels in Chicago
Atlanta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A fantastic Chicago experiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

A frequent traveler to Chicago suggested the Hotel 71 ( the hotels name at the time ) when asked where to stay in Chicago. We had a fantastic experience, it is convenient to all shopping, dining and the public transportation system. The view from out window was a "classic Chicago city view" ( see pic I uploaded ) one of the rare times a room lives up to expectations.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear mwcotton,

Thank you for the wonderful review! I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay, especially our location in downtown Chicago and views of the city. It's great to hear that we lived up to your expectations. I hope we will be able to welcome you back again soon!

Sincerely,
Bob Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,581 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    773
    567
    157
    56
    28
See reviews for
309
500
65
350
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Received a free upgrade at check-in for no reason at all! Bathroom was very big. Staff was nice, view was spectacular. Room was on the 27th floor so it was very quiet. Great place to stay right in the middle of everything in downtown Chicago!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 27th floor overlooking the river. Absolutely amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear susanlee07,

Thank you for the wonderful review! I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, especially our location in downtown Chicago, quiet guestrooms, and friendly staff. We try to accommodate upgrades whenever possible to help make our guests feel more at home. I hope we will be able to welcome you back again soon!

Sincerely,
Bob Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Very good location, at the centre of Chicago. I had a room with an amazing view of the river and the skyline. The room was very big, clean and the free wifi was quick. The american breakfast was good although a little pricey for european standards. The guys at the reception always there to help you with any questions.

Room Tip: Ask a room with a view at a top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear General_traveller,

Thank you for the great review! I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay, especially our location in downtown Chicago, spacious guestrooms, and views of the city. I hope we will be able to welcome you back again soon!

Sincerely,
Bob Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We visited Chicago & The Wyndham Grand this August for 4 nights with another couple. We were celebrating our 12th Anniversary (Aug. 4th) and their 14th Anniversary (July 31st) & only our 2nd trip away from our kids. Considering were were here the same weekend as Lallapalooza we were able to find a pretty good deal online through the Hotwire Mystery Hotel. Unfortunately the deal does not disclose that the hotel is under construction. This was no bother through the weekend but on Monday-Wednesday the noise started pretty early right outside below our window. Construction aside the hotel was pretty nice & a good value for the money . Our room was a decent size & nicely furnished. Our only issue in the room was the leaky shower as there was no seal on the bottom of the glass door causing the water to pool on to the bathroom floor each morning & a pillowcase that had an unwashed dried blood stain on it (which we promptly put aside) We never had any problems with the restocking of toiletries and coffee but our friends did not have their coffee or shampoo replaced during cleaning when it was all used up. The common areas...lobby, business centre, elevators & bathrooms were all excellent. The staff was always pleasant & friendly but when I tried to have a bottle of wine sent to our room on my anniversary I felt I didn't get that" above and beyond" attitude. By no means was anybody rude or unprofessional but I did expect them to help take care of that detail for me. When I came down that morning to ask if I could have a bottle sent up while we were out the staff at the desk informed me I would have to go back to my room and contact dining. This did not work for me as I wanted it to be a little surprise for my husband when we returned from the ball game later that day. The staff then called dining for me but said I would have to speak to them. After waiting on the phone for a while with no answer I gave up. Not once during my time at the front desk did staff wish me a happy anniversary or offer to take care of it for me. It was minor detail but I feel its that kind of extra effort and service that make a place really special. That being said we still had a great time in Chicago and at the Wyndham.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Speedygee,

Happy anniversary! Thank you for choosing our hotel to celebrate such a special occasion. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall, especially our spacious guestrooms. However, I sincerely apologize for the minor issues you experienced with your room and our staff. Your feedback is extremely valuable and will help us improve our hotel.

Thanks, again! I hope we will be able to welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Bob Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront

Address: 71 East Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#36 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#38 Family Hotel in Chicago
#44 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront boasts an unrivaled location in the heart of the city--where the Chicago River and North Michigan Avenue meet. Freshly renovated, the hotel updated guest rooms, 24-hour complimentary fitness and business centers, and Hoyt's Chicago-an in-house restaurant located on the lobby level of the hotel. This all-day dining venue features culinary delights inspired by Midwestern tastes and locally grown produce. Whether you're visiting Chicago for business or leisure purposes, you'll find yourself within minutes of your destination--the Loop, Michigan Avenue, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, the River North District and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Tingo and HostelBookers so you can book your Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
71 Hotel Chicago
Hotel 71 Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.