We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unimpressed - Won't Go Back” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront to your Saves list
Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   71 East Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601 (The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #46 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Unimpressed - Won't Go Back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I stayed here for a business trip for five days. Overall, this is not a hotel I would ever return to.

The good:
* The hotel is located in a fairly good spot, overlooking the river.
* My room was spacious and clean

The bad:
* Materials I had delivered to a hotel guest were not given to the person until four days after my shipping confirmation says the package got there
* Materials left at the front desk for the same guest were not given to her. I had to have the manager personally deliver it after two attempts with the other staffers/
* The first day, I received a wake up call by phone, followed by a terrorizing knock on the door from hotel security. Then, they forgot my wake up call TWO days in a row, making me miss important business meetings
* There are not enough plugs in the room, and none by the desk. The hotel staff did not offer an extension cord, making me charge my laptop in the bathroom
* I stayed in a corner room on the 28th floor, and heard traffic all night, as well as slamming doors.

Highly suggest staying at another hotel unless you have to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renuka R, Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear sheilaandjon,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I would like to sincerely apologize for the problems you had during your stay. I understand your frustration and would like to assure you that it was not a true reflection of our hospitality. We would love to learn more about your stay and try to make things right. If possible, please contact our Front Desk Manager Mike Eizenberg at meizenberg@wyndham.com at your convenience.

I hope you will give us another chance to win you over.

Sincerely,
Renuka Ramanathan
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    970
    716
    205
    71
    38
See reviews for
433
668
85
436
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I booked and paid for a suite through Hotels.com but when I arrived at the hotel the desk clerk acted perturbed and went to speak to a manager, I enquired and was assured things were fine and was given my room key. I arrived at the room to find a much lower type room than booked. I returned to the front desk to inquire was the told that during my stay they would have to close the side of the hotel facing the river due to some maintenance and because my stay was for 6 nights I either had to take a lower room type or move rooms in the middle of my stay; I was also told they could not refund the difference between the room types because I had not booked through Wyndham reservations and they did not know how to issue a refund any other way. I was very polite but persistent that I needed to be upgraded instead of downgraded and was told I had booked their highest room type which all of these rooms were on the side they were going to have to close. I choose the higher room type (which I had paid for) and to downgrade rooms for the last 2 nights of my stay when the renovations were to start. I was then given my room key and shown to room 3604 which is an AWESOME suite with wonderful views. I do feel like from that moment on I had been marked as a problem customer. The staff however very polite was very slow to be of any help. I asked to have clean towels and more toiletries brought to room after housekeeping did not come and I had to repeat the request 3 times before the items were finally delivered at 12:30AM. When the items did arrive it was towels only (2 towels and we had 3 people in the room) no wash clothes, and soap only – no shampoo, conditioner or etc. The next day I left the hotel and went and bought shampoo & conditioner which I had opted not to fly on the plane with me to Chicago. My husband asked if they had any DVD players for the rooms because we wanted to watch a movie and he was told they do but because of the conference in town they were already all taken but we would be added to their wait list, we again asked a couple of days later and were told we must not have been added to the list. We just went to the store and bought one (this hotel does not offer any pay-per-view movies). Overall a nice hotel with a very nice suite but the amount of money I paid I expected much better service. They also never did any building maintenance during the 6 nights we were there!

Room Tip: Room 3604 which is a premier suite is awesome and has extreamly nice views. This Hotel is formerly H...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renuka R, Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear KGBBatonRouge,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I would like to sincerely apologize for the issues you had during your stay. We did have to complete some maintenance work to those suites during your stay, so I want to assure you that you were not moved for no reason. However, I understand your frustrations and we would love to have the opportunity to make things right with you. If possible, please contact our Front Office Supervisor David Scheffke at dscheffke@wyndham.com. He would love to get more details to assist you. I hope we will get a second chance to win you over.

Sincerely,
Renuka Ramanathan
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend on Sea
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

I find myself writing this review whilst still staying at Hotel 71 but couldn't hold my tongue any longer.
The initial promise of the hotel and excellent service we received on check in has now given in to a bit if anger if I'm honest!
Our luggage got lost and we ended up checking in really late. The front desk provided us with supplies to keep us going. When our luggage did turn up at 2.30am we were reunited with it immediately.
I e mailed the hotel in advance requesting that my 74 year old aunt had, if not an adjoining room, then a room close by on the same floor (in case she had a fall etc etc). My e mail was acknowledged but on check in she had a room a floor higher than us. She had a lovely river view but was still very worried because we were so far away. We had a view of a car park/building site. She had two sinks, myself and my husband had one.
Anyway I digress. My main issue with the hotel is the building work that is now going on during the day and were told about by means of a piece of paper in our room which we found at 2pm. My siesta was no more and hence Im in bed, jet lagged to hell and back at 8pm.
All guests should be told of all building/renovation work at the time if booking or if not then as soon as it has been arranged. We should be given the choice to stay somewhere else. I would have done. I don't want to listen to hammers all afternoon when I need to rest. As did my afore mentioned auntie!
On the plus side I found I never waited more than 30 seconds for the elevator. I waited 3 minutes at Trump Chicago!!
Not good enough 71, next time it will be a return to the Sofitel, O don't care how much more it costs!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renuka R, Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear andy_wilson,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I would like to sincerely apologize for the issues you had with your luggage, room location and construction noise. If possible, please contact our Front Desk Manager Mike Eizenberg at meizenberg@wyndham.com to further discuss your stay. If you are still at the hotel, we would love the opportunity to make things right while you are still here. I understand your frustrations, but I do not believe that your stay has reflected our standard level of service and accommodation. We would love to have another chance to win you over if you will let us. Again, thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,
Renuka Ramanathan
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 6 days. Never got half of my requested wake up calls and staff was nasty and condescending. 'manager' David is the unhelpful and condescending champion... And the rugs are dirty. Good location though.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renuka R, Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Rf3Rf3,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I sincerely apologize for any issues you had with our staff members. We pride ourselves on having a friendly and accommodating team, so it is disappointing to hear that you did not receive that level of service. You should feel welcome in our hotel and I understand your frustration. I also apologize for any problems you had with your wake up calls. We have not received any other complaints with the system recently, so we would like to look further into your situation to make sure any issues are corrected. If possible, please reach out to our Front Desk Manager Mike Eizenberg at meizenberg@wyndham.com. We would love to get more feedback and try to make things right.

Sincerely,
Renuka Ramanathan
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This was my second stay at Hotel 71 in about 14 months. Room 909 was a renovated room (I now realize that the room I stayed in during my visit in 2012 was not renovated). The room was nicely appointed and quiet, despite being located very close to the elevator. The hotel location is good for those who need to be in or near the Loop. It is easily within walking distance of shopping and tourist sites. My only negative comment is that I had asked for a room far away from the elevator, and the hotel gave me a room adjacent to the elevator. As my visit was only one night, I chose to not complain to management. Next time, I will be sure to ask about the location of the room upon check-in.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room. Room 909 was renovated, but it is next to the elevators. If you are a he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renuka R, Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear NYCityTravelers,

Thank you for staying at our hotel while you were traveling on business. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, especially location in downtown Chicago and recently renovated guestrooms. I apologize that your request to be located away from the elevators was not met, but I'm glad you did not experience any noise issues while staying close to the elevators. Thank you for your understanding. I hope we will be able to welcome you back again soon!

Sincerely,
Renuka Ramanathan
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront

Address: 71 East Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#27 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#29 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#33 Family Hotel in Chicago
#49 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront boasts an unrivaled location in the heart of the city--where the Chicago River and North Michigan Avenue meet. Freshly renovated, the hotel updated guest rooms, 24-hour complimentary fitness and business centers, and Hoyt's Chicago-an in-house restaurant located on the lobby level of the hotel. This all-day dining venue features culinary delights inspired by Midwestern tastes and locally grown produce. Whether you're visiting Chicago for business or leisure purposes, you'll find yourself within minutes of your destination--the Loop, Michigan Avenue, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, the River North District and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Wyndham, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
71 Hotel Chicago
Hotel 71 Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.