We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel--Doorman could be friendlier” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront to your Saves list
Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   71 East Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601 (The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #46 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Write a Review

2,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    970
    716
    205
    71
    38
See reviews for
433
668
85
436
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holland, Michigan, Usa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

this hotel has a great view of the Chicago River and skyline, a very convenient location to walk anywhere, but there is always a cab at the door if you need one. They always accommodate our early check-in as we walk from the train station. The rates are reasonable. We always stay here when we come to Chicago.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sshern, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Berma M,

Thank you for the great review! I'm so happy to hear that you love our location, views and accommodating staff. Thank you for being a loyal guest and for choosing Hotel 71 whenever you're in Chicago.

I hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Safe travels,

Steve Shern
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, IN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I have only great things to say about Hotel 71. The location is unsurpassed with iconic views down the Chicago River. Staff are unbelievably helpful and courteous. One of the best overall values with top shelf quality of service and venue.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sshern, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear HoosierTravelMaster,

Thank you for the great review and for being a loyal Hotel 71 guest! Your positive comments about our staff, location and views of the Chicago River are very much appreciated. I'm so happy to hear that you love our hotel.

I hope we will be able to welcome you back again soon.

Safe travels,

Steve Shern
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Hotel 71 turned out to be the ideal wedding venue for us. We had about 125 guests at our ceremony, cocktail hour and reception on the 39th floor on February 16th. Our experience working with Hotel 71 was amazing and we would recommend the venue to anyone who is looking for an intimate city venue.
While touring the top floor of the hotel, my mother and I instantly knew that it was exactly what I had imagined my venue to be – although still in sticker shock over what a wedding in Chicago would end up costing us. While negotiating our contract, the catering sales manager (at the time) was very willing to work with us to change a few details so that this wedding could stay close to our budget. By discussing details like menu options, number of hors d’oeurves passed, and types of liquor offered helped keep our costs close to the food and beverage minimum. The staff at the hotel was so easy to work with, very quick at returning phone calls and emails, and made the decision very easy to book our wedding there.
During the planning process, a bride and groom need to make a LOT of decisions (both about the venue, but also about other vendors). Chelsey Brunner, the Catering Sales Manager who we worked with most, made these decisions very easy by telling us what she has seen in past weddings, what has worked and what hasn’t. She also helped bring to our attention small details that we wouldn’t have planned for otherwise (like “will your DJ have an extra speaker for the cocktail hour?”) Hotel 71 cooperates with Alliance Bakery, so our wedding cake was included when we booked our wedding. Chelsey was so helpful in coordinating with the bakery when we asked to have a sweets table set up as well. I made a lot of trips to the hotel to see where the uplighting would look best, choose linen colors, and plan the layout of our cocktail hour, and Chelsey made herself available every time.
The weekend of our wedding came before we knew it! We had boxes and boxes and boxes of stuff to be set up on that day (a card box, a photo booth with props, sweets table platters, signs, place cards, table numbers, champagne flutes, etc). The bellmen were so incredible and always smiling when we asked them to help us move the boxes from our car to the hotel room, or from the hotel room to the 39th floor. The staff who set up our wedding knew exactly what to do with the contents in each box and made the venue look better than I could have imagined. Everything was in its place and the day went by without any hiccups.
When we checked in, our suite was waiting for us with Champagne, delicious chocolate covered strawberries, and a hand-written note from Chelsey. After the Wyndham purchased Hotel 71, they have been undergoing some renovations, but besides some exposed drywall along the hallways, we never would have known it. Our suite was spotless, had an incredible view of the river, and was the perfect place to call home for the weekend of our wedding. It was even spacious enough to have 2 hairdressers, a makeup artist, 6 bridesmaids, 2 mothers, and a grandmother spend time together while getting ready for the big day.
My groom and I chose to take “first look photos” prior to our ceremony. The 39th floor was being set up for our ceremony, but we were able to sneak up there for our photos and the views made for some incredible pictures to capture that moment. Our ceremony fell right around sunset, so we had many compliments on how gorgeous the venue was during that time. During cocktail hour, the staff flipped the ceremony room to our reception room. We were able to sneak in for a few minutes before the guests were invited in and noticed the great job they did making the room look perfect in very little time. During dinner, the photo booth was set up, the gift table was turned into a sweets table, gifts sent up to our suite, and each transition happened as seamlessly as the next. Our guests really seemed to enjoy their meals (prepared by Hoyt’s – the restaurant on the first floor at Hotel 71), and then the party started!
From beginning to end, Chelsey was on top of every single detail and we can’t thank her enough for her hard work and the fantastic job she did at making our day memorable. It definitely wouldn’t have been the same without her! Because of the incredible customer service, the atmosphere that the staff creates for you, and the views from the 39th floor, we would highly recommend Hotel 71 to anyone who wants to host an incredible wedding in a great city venue!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sshern, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Kristi H,

Congratulations! Thank you for choosing Hotel 71 for such a special occasion. I'm thrilled to hear that you had an amazing wedding here and found our staff to be so accommodating throughout the planning process. From Chelsey Brunner (our Catering Sales Manager), to our event staff and hotel bellmen, I will be sure to pass along your kind words to our team. It's also great to hear that our 39th floor Penthouse Ballroom and panoramic views of Chicago created a special atmosphere for your ceremony and reception.

Best wishes on a long and happy marriage! Thank you for recommending Hotel 71 as an incredible wedding venue.

Steve Shern
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Hotel 71 is in the perfect location. We went for St. Paddy's 2013 and watched the river turn green right from our window. Definitely get the river room- it's worth it for the view. The rooms were spacious for a city hotel, comfortable and very clean. The location is perfect for walking magnificent mile or other Chicago area attractions. Always an easy cab available to go any where you need to go. The downsides: Bathrooms could use more towels and more amenities (q-tips, mouthwash, etc... like the high end hotels all provide). Bathroom lighting was really weird and low- made it hard to do makeup. The walls are relatively thin- but it is a city hotel. The restaurant was just OK- nothing great and it's quite small. Room service was just mediocre as well. However, lots of great restaurants nearby- including Trump right across the street. Service was wonderful though and the location made Hotel 71 a great choice.

Room Tip: Pick the river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sshern, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear TucsonThree,

Thank you for staying at Hotel 71 for St. Patrick's Day! I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed our location, spacious guestrooms and views of the Chicago River. Perfect for watching the annual river dyeing event!

Regarding bathroom amenities, we are always happy to provide extra towels or assist with any items you may have forgotten at home. Simply call our Front Desk and they will deliver any needed amenities.

I'm sorry to hear that our food did not live up to your expectations. As you can see from recent reviews below, we frequently receive great comments about our restaurant. I hope you will give us another change to win you over with our food.

Again, thank you for staying at Hotel 71 and for your great feedback. I hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Safe travels,

Steve Shern
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I try to book this hotel when I travel to Chicago on Business. The hotel is clean and well decorated. The staff does an excellent job. I'm writing this review for two reasons. The first is that I really like this hotel and the rooms-clean and spacious.
The second is because the restaurant attached to this hotel is Hoyts Chicago with great food and a very nice menu.
If you go to the Hotel 71 you must go to Hoyts and try the French Fries (of all things-this is a quality steak and seafood restaurant and a good place to meet business customers). They cook their French Fries in white truffle oil. They are the best fries I've ever eaten in my life.
The Hotel's great. The rooms are very nice. The staff is friendly and helpful. BUT THE FRIES ARE BEST IN THE WORLD.

Room Tip: The higher rooms have the nicer views - of course. This is a high rise building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sshern, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear FillyFrank,

Thank you for being a loyal Hotel 71 guest and for leaving us such a great review! From our excellent staff to our spacious guestrooms, thank you for all of your positive comments.

I'm also glad to hear that you enjoy the food in our restaurant, Hoyt's Chicago. Especially the Truffle Fries, which is also one of my absolute favorite items! If you love the fries, I think you'll also love our seasonal Truffle Burger. I hope you can try it the next time you're here.

Safe travels,

Steve Shern
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront

Address: 71 East Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#27 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#29 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#33 Family Hotel in Chicago
#49 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront boasts an unrivaled location in the heart of the city--where the Chicago River and North Michigan Avenue meet. Freshly renovated, the hotel updated guest rooms, 24-hour complimentary fitness and business centers, and Hoyt's Chicago-an in-house restaurant located on the lobby level of the hotel. This all-day dining venue features culinary delights inspired by Midwestern tastes and locally grown produce. Whether you're visiting Chicago for business or leisure purposes, you'll find yourself within minutes of your destination--the Loop, Michigan Avenue, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, the River North District and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Wyndham, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
71 Hotel Chicago
Hotel 71 Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.