We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront to your Saves list
Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   71 East Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601 (Downtown / The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights, Save 25%
Ranked #61 of 178 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Great hotel. Fantastic views. Stayed there with my family of 5 adults. We had two rooms on the 28th floor, an executive suite and lake view king. Rooms were spacious and clean. Loved the view looking down the river. Would definitly stay here again and would highly recommend to a friend. I hear they are changing from a boutique hotel to Wyndham...I hope they don't change anything. FYI...no swimming pool. My only complaint was parking $49 a night!!!

Room Tip: Upper floor with a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,285
    922
    287
    102
    59
See reviews for
600
858
109
608
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (490)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The rooms are clean and nice and well-appointed. The view up the river is fantastic. The location is walking distance to lots of restaurants and attractions. Check in and out were swift, relaxed, competently-performed. We didn't have a car and didn't need one. You can walk or cab anywhere you want to go.

But.

There's a "but."

The restaurant and the service in the restaurant need work. A simple thing like getting two cups of coffee to go in the morning was unduly complicated by the lack of someone in charge of doing it and someone finding paper cups and plastic lids. We ended up with one cup with a lid and one without. The night before, the bartender figured that there must be bar snacks or nuts somewhere. They were eventually unearthed and were fine. It's just weird that the bar wouldn't be ready with snacks, plastic coffee tops, someone to operate the coffee machine, etc.

The hotel is really just everything in the title of this review and nothing more. That said, it's more than enough if you're OK with that.

We ate breakfast at the Corner Bakery all three mornings we were there. It's two doors down. Fast, predictable, tasty.

We would definitely stay here again. But we'd know to steer clear of the restaurant.

Room Tip: Get a river view room. It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sycamore, Illinois
Level Contributor
96 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This hotel is located in the middle of everything you may want in downtown Chicago. The rooms are modern, clean and big. If you are driving and don’t want to pay $49 for parking, you may want to drop of your family and self park for a lot less…I would definitely stay here again…

Room Tip: Make sure when you are booking a room king versus two queen's that you check in early. They had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Very comfortable bed and room - plenty of space. Had complimentary wifi which is rare for nice hotels. Very clean. Easy and short walk to Michigan Ave, State Street and the Clark/Lake stop for the Blue Line to/from O'Hare.
I was here for a meeting that was held on he 39th floor ballroom. It had spectacular views of the city. My room - not such good views but I only slept there so not a big deal.
I typically stay at the Hard Rock Hotel when in Chicago for meetings but this stay may change my preference.
Very quiet and secure.

Room Tip: If you don't want a view of the back side of other buildings ask for a room with a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We took the train into Chicago to enjoy a weekend of sightseeing, shopping and family time. We booked a room with 2 queen beds at the Hotel 71. Our 11th floor room overlooked the river and also had incredible views of the Magnificent Mile. We arrived early and the staff was more than willing to see if they could check us in early, which they were able to do. The room was spacious and included a large bath with 2 separate sinks and an adjacent room with large bathtub, walkin shower and stool. The bedroom was spacious with the two beds, desk and chair/couch sitting area. It was a short walk to the Metra station as well as to several shops and dining establishments. We would look no further than the Hotel 71 for our next Chicago run.

Room Tip: Request the river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Clean and comfortable hotel. Centrally located downtown on the river, with easy access (5 block walk) to Clark/Lake metro stop. Minutes walking distance to Michigan Ave shopping. Staff friendly. The suite I stayed in had a handicap access bathroom (which I didn't request) - making it difficult to use, ironically. The shower only came up to chest level (made for someone sitting down). And that bathroom needed some updating. But apparently, the deluxe rooms (little more expensive) are updated. Overall would recommend for convenience of location and price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I spent nine nights lodging at Hotel71 and was very impressed with staff welcome, cleanliness, room size and location.

I was in an Executive King. The bed was huge. Seemed a lot bigger than my king size bed at home.

The view was nice looking up the river. Especially nice At night.

There was so much food to enjoy in hundreds, if not thousands, of locations in Chicago, Inever actually ate in the building.

A reasonable Fitness centre is available on the 7th floor, I believe. Not that I used it. I did look on it though and was well stocked with weights, aerobic equipment and weight machines.

I would definitely stay her again.

Walking distances

Magnificent Mile - 4 mins
Field museum - 30 mins
Navy Pier 20 mins
Hancock Tower - 15 mins
Wabash area shops 10 mins.

Room Tip: Stay on a floor where two lifts only service a fewer number of floors. That way you should get your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#59 of 178 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 stars 679 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#91 of 178 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 stars 4,361 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hard Rock Hotel Chicago
Hard Rock Hotel Chicago
#101 of 178 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 stars 1,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront

Address: 71 East Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#30 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#37 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#41 Family Hotel in Chicago
#65 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront boasts an unrivaled location in the heart of the city--where the Chicago River and North Michigan Avenue meet. Freshly renovated, the hotel updated guest rooms, 24-hour complimentary fitness and business centers, and Hoyt's Chicago-an in-house restaurant located on the lobby level of the hotel. This all-day dining venue features culinary delights inspired by Midwestern tastes and locally grown produce. Whether you're visiting Chicago for business or leisure purposes, you'll find yourself within minutes of your destination--the Loop, Michigan Avenue, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, the River North District and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Wyndham, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
71 Hotel Chicago
Hotel 71 Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.