We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed bugs” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Hotel Chicago Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Hotel Chicago Downtown to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Hotel Chicago Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   600 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654 (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
American Girl Special
Ranked #71 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bed bugs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

My husband and I stayed here last week with our three children. The hotel was okay, and the suite seemed fine. One our third morning there we discovered three bedbugs. I'm not sure if my husband or I were bitten, but my children each had one or two bites. Management was very responsive and took all of our clothing and the kids stuffed animals to be dry cleaned, moved us into another room, and didn't charge us for that one night, but we couldn't stay after that experience. We've been home 6 day now and I still can't sleep or eat for fear we brought these things home with us. They did say a "pest control" agency inspected the room and found nothing, but after researching this we are very positive of what we saw. A long awaited family vacation was ruined as we left early, and I don't know if I'll ever be able to stay in any hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESChicagoDowntown, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, August 23, 2010
Thank you for your comments regarding our management teams response to a difficult situation. We take this matter very seriously and abide by a detailed protocal to treat the effected areas immediately. Professionals were hired and performed a thorough examination of your guestroom and several others. As you have noted, they did not find evidence of a threat. Nonetheless, I am pleased that the hotel took every precaution available to ensure your well being. Our guests safety and satisfaction remain our top priority. Ed Buckley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    636
    513
    174
    56
    52
See reviews for
580
227
63
297
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

I recently visited this hotel. Wow, I was impressed! The staff were some of the nicest people I've seen in a hotel. From the moment we arrived we were helped and assisted with everything we needed. The continental breakfast in the morning was great, it helped us all get out of bed and get our day started. They had everything you could think of for breakfast, it was a great value. The rooms were also very spacious and well laid-out. With our room package, we also got free parking for our stay, which saved us a great deal of money. We ended up staying 2 extra nights here, and the hotel staff was happy to accommodate us, even putting us in the same room. The pool is fun for kids and was enjoyable for all. Definitely spring for the city view, we had a great view of State Street. The location was great, nearby Michigan Avenue and great restaurants, and a short walk or taxi ride from everything else. I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

I've been traveling to Chicago for years and always stayed at The Drake. Because they were full, I decided to try the Embassy Suites. Wow, what a great experience!
The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. Our kids loved using the pool. The free breakfast was also quite good.
This hotel has a fabulous location and is a very good value. Great Choice.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne Indiana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

Really the only downer was finding out about the $75 fee for incidentals when checking into our room. This was news to us and so we paid cash and had it returned when checking out the last day. It would have been nice to have a "heads up" on this in light of planning and not wanting to use our credit cards. Okay on to the good stuff. Traveled with our two boys, ages 8 and 6. 4-day vacation with the City Pass in hand. The hotel and rooms are clean and beautiful. Fantastic breakfast with a big variety. We always arrived 7ish so as to avoid the long lines after 8. Loved the cooked-to-order omelettes! Location was ideal-local grocery chain and Trader Joe's around the corner, red line subway, and close to bus stops. Great restaurants, extremely helpful Concierge, walking distance to Michigan Ave, Lego store, etc. etc. Manager's Reception-snacks and free beverages. Don't plan on making this your meal though. Pool is tiny and got a bit crowded with all the kids in it. Rooms are spacious. We requested a City View room and would do that again. It was the same price as the other rooms in the Park and Stay package. Our suite had a small fridge so we bought sandwich stuff and made lunch every day to take to the museums. That saved us a ton of money, plus it was more healthy. Staff were all very friendly from the bellhops to the valet parking attendants to the front desk. It was so nice to leave our car in the garage and not worry about it. Took CTA everywhere we went. Recommend the CTA pass for ease of use. Also, in Park and Stay they let you park your car before you check in. This allowed us to visit the Willis Tower before our room was ready. The Pizzeria Via Stato which is attached to the hotel is delicious, especially if you don't like Chicago-style pizza.There is no need to stay anywhere else in Chicago, this hotel and its ideal location had all we needed and more. Thanks Embassy Suites for an awesome getaway before school starts!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

We stayed 4 nights at this hotel. The hotel is located in downtown Chicago, a walking distances to most attractions. Magnificent Mile (Michigan Avenue) is just 2 blocks away; John Hancock Observatory is about a 15 minute walk; the Loop is about a 20-30 minute walk. However note that in the summer it gets quite hot and humid so walking to places that are more than 4 blocks could be challenging. The hotel has a beautiful lobby. The Manager's daily receptions (free drinks) is great! The staff and people working at the hotel are very professional and helpful. We stayed in a suite with one bedroom. The room was quite roomy. It did not have a kitchenette as in other hotels that have suites, but it had a microwave, sink, and small dining table. The sofa enabled some of us to sleep comfortably in the living room. We had a nice view of Ohio street and State street from our room. Definately ask for a room on the top floors. The breakfast was excellent! The cook to order eggs was excellent. Expect to wait in a long line in the morning to get your breakfast. Lineups were absurd. Seems the breakfast area, which is quite large, is not capable of handling the number of guests staying at the hotel. Too many kids in the breakfast area make things annoying as well. The hotel is close to Rush Street with all the restaurants. The areas that need to be improved, however, include: rooms need new furniture, rooms need to be renovated (new paint and carpet), internet should be free (should not have to pay $10 a day for internet connection in this day and age), parking is too expensive ($44 a day is more than other hotels of this class), cleaning needs to be more supervised (we noticed that our room was not properly cleaned (the dirt under the chair when we got there was never vacuumed); policy needs to be put in place about people going wet from the swimming pool to the elevators (elevators smells like chlorine and dead fish at times). There is also only one washing machine for the entire hotel. So do not expect to get your laundry done while staying at the Embassy Suites. Overall I do recommend the hotel as its in a prime location. Make sure you use the tour buses to see Chicago as its cheaper than driving around and paying for parking. Chicago can be a rip off if you drive. The parking fees are outrageous and the toll fees on the highways are a joke (one toll booth every 10 miles).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

My wife and I recently had to drop off our daughter for a week stay at one of the local Universities. As a result, we decided to spend the night in Downtown Chicago at the Embassy Suites Hotel. We spent the aftenoon walking up and down Michigan Ave and shopping. Later that evening, the concierge suggested a fantastic local Italian restraunt that we could walk too. We loved the food and outdoor atmosphere. The front desk then recommended a fabulous local bar to go for a night cap. Finally, we relaxed in our spectacular room overlooking a fantastic city view. What a FANTASTIC SUNDAY EVENING we spent in Chicago. Thank you Embassy Suites - Chicaga for a worderful memory!

Matt .

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

Location is ideal - walking distance to many of Chicago's top destinations and public transportation. The RedLine to Wrigley is one block away. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. Rooms were recently refurbished and very clean. Complimentary, cooked to order breakfast was delicious. Would highly recommend this hotel for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Hotel Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Hotel Chicago Downtown

Address: 600 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Chicago
#58 Family Hotel in Chicago
#61 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Hotel Chicago Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Embassy Suites Hotel Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Chicago Hotel
Embassy Suites Chicago
Chicago Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Hotel Chicago Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.