We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd time at the hotel - would go back again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Hotel Chicago Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Hotel Chicago Downtown to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Hotel Chicago Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   600 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654 (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
American Girl Special
Ranked #71 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“2nd time at the hotel - would go back again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We stayed at this hotel in April/May 2015 and in July 2013. Our previous visit was good but the hotel was overrun with tons of families and the breakfast buffet/drink reception was ridiculously busy, so much so that it almost detracted from staying there. The location and set up of the hotel drove us to book again for our family of 4. This time it was when school was in session and the hotel was full of business travelers and NFL draft customers. The hotel was much more low key and enjoyable than last time! We love having a suite with the kids. They get their own pull out couch and TV in a separate room. The room has 3 sinks (1 in bathroom, 1 in bar and 1 in the bedroom), so getting ready was a breeze. The lines at breakfast and the free drink receptions were non-existent. There was no worry about waiting in line for the made to order omelettes since they were made quickly. The drink reception at night has chex mix and tortilla chips, soda, juice and beer/wine/mixed drinks for free. A great perk for staying at an Embassy! Everyone from the front desk to the bell hop were very friendly and helpful. We easily walked to the red line stop. We will chose the Embassy Suites downtown again on our next trip to Chicago.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    636
    513
    174
    56
    52
See reviews for
580
227
63
297
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Overall the embassy suites experience is a good one. Staff are good and the evening reception is most welcome. Your staff are helpful and the guest laundry is good. The suites are getting a little dated and the noise from the atrium can be intrusive, but it's Chicago. Better than New York

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Excellent hotel with wonderful complimentary breakfast and manager's reception with free drinks. I would highly recommend and is great if with small children as they can sleep in the room while everyone else relaxes in the adjoining room with TV and fold-out couch.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband had never stayed at an Embassy Suites before (?!?!?!). After this stay, he's going to insist on them in the future!
Perfect location- restaurants and attractions within walking distance
Happy hour- open bar and snacks!
Breakfast- hot foods, made to order omelets, ethnic foods, cold foods, healthy selections
Room- spacious suite style. Opens onto the indoor courtyard
Pool- loved the lounge chairs for parents to relax while the kids play
Parking- expensive! But you're in downtown Chicago. Park your car and forget about it for your stay. Walk or use public transportation.

Stayed March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Many of the downtown hotels offer earplugs now. It is true that the sirens on the street can be quite loud but this room was amazingly quiet. We were the third floor right above the pool area and it was quiet as could be. The hotel was very nice. The breakfast crew was so friendly and had fun playing tricks on the customers -- e.g., the grill guy would tell you that you couldn't have what you wanted because there weren't enough veggies in your omelet. The looks on people's faces were priceless. And if you went away hungry, it was your own fault. Location, location, location. You are next to a Starbucks, across the street from Jewel-Osco, across the street from 7-11, and one block away from the red line.
The people who work at this hotel are excellent. If they don't have what you need (like Tums after a long night) they know where to get them (7-11 across the street).
The room was very nice. The bed was comfortable and the shower was strong and pretty much instant hot water.
The place seemed to have large groups staying there so it can be a little busy at check-in/check-out time. Just an FYI so you may have to wait to get closer to the 4PM time to get into the room, which is no issue because there is plenty to do.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked two weeks before the trip. I booked a 2 DBL Bed City View Non smoking. I double check on the day I was supposed to arrive to make sure we had a city view. Got there and the front desk people said they were over book. So they only had one king size bed/ with bed sofa / city view or 2 DBL bed without view. I was very upset being that I book my room ahead time and call to confirm the room. This trip was for celebrating my three girls B-day. Desk receptions was very rude and did not care and the service was very poor. We ended up getting the 2 DBL bed without the view. Was very unhappy! Cruz told us we would get the room for 209 instead of 352 because of the inconvenience . Next morning he lied and the bill was still 352. We demand to speak to a manager Ronnie Buckhanon and she fix the whole problem . What a wonderful person and Manager. She made our stay so great that we decided to stay another night in Chicago. She deserve something from the company.

Room Tip: Just make sure they don't over book and give you a room that you didn't book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tega Cay, South Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for family trip to Chicago for Spring Break. Great location - easy walk to Michigan Ave, restaurants, shopping. El station 2 blocks away to take you to museum campus, Art Institute, etc, although if you don't mind the walk, it's very easy to get there from hotel on foot too. Navy Pier is walking distance.

Hotel serves hot breakfast every day as part of the room rate. Buffet is pretty good (go early if you want the made-to-order omelet station or be prepared for a longer wait) and saves you a ton of time and money so you can get out to see the city. Pool is open 5a-midnight, so kids will enjoy coming back for a swim before bedtime. (Bring goggles if you're sensitive to chlorine. Out of necessity, pool is heavily chlorinated.) Computers on mezzanine level so you can print boarding passes, CityPass vouchers, etc.

Rooms are nice and it's convenient to have a separate living room w/ sofa, chair and dining table so you can spread out a bit and not have everything you brought piled on the hotel bed. There's a mini-fridge & wet bar in the room and a grocery store on the next block. Bedroom has its own sink.

Staff was nice and accommodating. We were very pleased with the location, cleanliness and features of the hotel. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Hotel Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Hotel Chicago Downtown

Address: 600 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Chicago
#58 Family Hotel in Chicago
#61 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Hotel Chicago Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Embassy Suites Hotel Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Chicago Hotel
Embassy Suites Chicago
Chicago Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Hotel Chicago Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.