We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, Good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Hotel Chicago Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Hotel Chicago Downtown to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Hotel Chicago Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   600 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654 (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
American Girl Special
Ranked #71 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Richmond Hill, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, Good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed here through the fourth of July Weekend. It was definitely a hotel that was great for families as there were a lot of them. The rooms were renovated and big. I was lucky enough to get a corner street facing room on a high floor. We had two windows one in the sitting area as well. The hotel was renovated, didn't get to use the pool, but it didn't seem that big. The hotel was in a great location just three block from the Mag Mile and a short block to the Red Line Subway. Everything was in walking distance. The free trolley stop to the Pier was close as well. I would definitely stay here again.

For what it is, a family hotel, with free breakfast and drinks in the evening, it was worth every penny. It's a five rating for a 3.5 star hotel.

I would definitely stay here again. If you have a family, stay here.

Room Tip: Get a corner room on a high floor. Street facing if possible. The rooms in the back have no view a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    636
    513
    174
    56
    52
See reviews for
580
227
63
297
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed 2 nights at this hotel. We got a king suite and it was nice and spacious. Awesome location - many shops, restaurants and the red line train within a block. Breakfast and manager reception were good, but crowded. The only negative part was that it is so noisy! There is an atrium in the middle of the hotel and sound travels up. My room faced state street and there was a large amount of road noise (I was on the 5th floor). Light sleepers will want to ask for a high room or one facing the parking garage.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Hard to sleep with the noise. we were on the 11th floor and we could hear everything. Breakfast was good and the staff was friendly. Pool wasn't very big but, the kids still liked it. The staff at the front door was excellent. Took care of all our needs. The location was great, able to walk to michigan ave. So many places to eat near by.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Who knew the Embassy Suites had rooms that were not suites? Would have been nice to have been told this when I booked the room! The bathroom in this non-suite room was so small it only included a shower stall--no bathtub!Not a fancy stall either. Reminded me of a locker room type shower. Oh, and there was no blower in the bathroom to circulate the air and I don't recall a place to hang the towels and wash cloths after use. The king size bed pretty much took up the majority of the space in the small room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitowoc, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I was very pleased with the location and the staffing of this hotel. There is a nice complimentary cocktail/appetizer reception in the evening and the made-to-order breakfast is excellent! I'd highly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

While booking this hotel, I ran into a problem -- since my friend, who was over 18 and was going to be our check-in person, couldn't make it, we were left with 4 minors who had booked airline tickets and the hotel and probably could not check in. However, I made a few phone calls and after talking with several hotel staff, we were approved to stay at the hotel without an 18-year-old.
The hotel lobby & atrium is very clean and airy, and the staff is very friendly. Continental breakfast is great as long as you get there before 8:30 AM, or else it doesn't taste good. Rooms were great, there is a bedroom with 2 beds (or 1 king, if that's what you reserve) and another living room with a sofa bed, desk, and other seating area. There's also a microwave & fridge, so bring leftovers home (if you'll eat it, that is). The beds were kind of damp when we first arrived, but it was probably because of the humid Chicago weather that occurs during the summer. Sofa bed is comfy too, and there are TV's in both room.
Great location as well, walking distance from CTA red line (Grand), as well as many other places. You can take the subway to most places, such as Sears tower, John Hancock center, Northerly Island, etc. There are also a bunch of great places to eat around here!
Would definitely recommend, especially when you're traveling with others.

Room Tip: Corner rooms get two windows facing outside rather than one facing the atrium and one facing outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Great location and very helpful friendly doorman and front desk staff. The internet is expensive and terrible. Do not count on it. The rooms were not well serviced daily although things were clean when we checked in. I may cautiously recommend this hotel for family travel absolutely not for business.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Hotel Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Hotel Chicago Downtown

Address: 600 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Chicago
#58 Family Hotel in Chicago
#61 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Hotel Chicago Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Embassy Suites Hotel Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Chicago Hotel
Embassy Suites Chicago
Chicago Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Hotel Chicago Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.