We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suitable downtown hotel especially for families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Hotel Chicago Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Hotel Chicago Downtown to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Hotel Chicago Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   600 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654 (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
American Girl Special
Ranked #71 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Suitable downtown hotel especially for families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel over part of the July 4 weekend and had a good stay overall. I had a suite that overlooked the State and Ontario intersection and could hear some traffic noise but it was not horrible. I also did hear a few rowdy kids early in the evening but the walls did not seem as thin as advertised. Staff did not advise what time breakfast was served in the morning upon checking in figuring a notice in the room would suffice. The notice was not accurate in the sense that there was already severe lineups by approximately 0830. A letter was placed under the door suggesting using phone checkout as lines were expected to be long but I did not experience this.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    636
    513
    174
    56
    52
See reviews for
580
227
63
297
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is a decent place to stay in Chicago downtown located on 600 north state st, I had to wait for long to check-in to this place, they had no rooms ready when i walked in at 11.00 AM my flight landed early. I would recommend to visit this place only after 3 PM to get a sure shot room and of course book well in advance. breakfast here is complimentary and spread is good. I really liked their breakfast offerings. Service could be better,especially the front desk persons. Otherwise everything else was fine

Room Tip: I stayed in 11th floor and was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The breakfast was good but get there early to avoid queues. The hotel room was nice and clean but very noisey as i could hear the people next to us talking and the people above banging around and walking around. other than that great location and great staff just very thin walls and ceilings. Lots of kids as well which could be a good thing or bad thing depending if you have your own.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Great location, comfortable beds and modern clean suites. Very helpful conscierge services. Excellent complimentary breakfast each morning accomodating to many tastes. What was best of all was the staff who were warm, friendly and went out of their way to be helpful

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This Embassy Suites proved a great choice. The location is close to so many sites as well as shopping on the Magnificent Mile. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room comfortable and clean. The curtains blocked light and the room was relatively quiet so our sleep was so peaceful. The happy hour and breakfast never disappoint. Parking is available but

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Breakfast, reception, pool, suites. It has everything that our family of 4 needed. We were in Chicago for a Cubs trip and this hotel is half a block from the Red line. It is minutes from the Magnificent Mile, and easy to access anywhere in Downtown Chicago. Every interaction we had with the staff was outstanding. They were all friendly and helpful. We could not have ended up in a better hotel for our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The Embassy Suites Chicago Downtown is a great value for the hotel's location. Right in the heart of River North, minutes from the Magnificent Mile, surrounded by trendy restaurants, hip, young clubs and bars, and a block away from the Red Line's Grand CTA station, the location can't get much better.

I stayed at this hotel with a group for a bachelor party night in the city and the size worked well for a group, with two beds and one pull out couch bed in the living room. The living room was of decent size, very spacious with a nice flat screen tv, a couch, a loveseat and a table/desk with chairs. The lighting in the room was a little dim for those who like bright rooms but nothing detrimental. The room's design had an interior window in the living room which faced the hallway and indoor courtyard which I felt cheapened the look of the room by giving it motel-esque feeling. The bathroom was fine however there was no exhaust fan in the bathroom and the shower's spigot massage functions did not work.

The hotel had a large nice complementary breakfast set up in the indoor courtyard from 6:30am to 9:30am, with a chef made-to-order omelet station. The hotel even had adapted for international Asian travelers by offering an entire Asian breakfast station.

Overall a great value for the location and size of the room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Hotel Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Hotel Chicago Downtown

Address: 600 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Chicago
#58 Family Hotel in Chicago
#60 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Hotel Chicago Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Embassy Suites Hotel Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Chicago Hotel
Embassy Suites Chicago
Chicago Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Hotel Chicago Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.