We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a face lift” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Congress Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Congress Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   520 S Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605 (Downtown / The Loop)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
stay 2 nights or more
Ranked #127 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Portage, MI
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Needs a face lift”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed here this weekend for two nights. We booked the Congress because they offer family suites which hold 6 and the have a refrigerator. The room was huge and overlooking the lake. The hotel is very old and is in major need of some renovations. The price was fair for the location. Good spot for those going to Lollapalooza. We had to wait for over a half hour for our car to be returned by the valet. They brought the wrong car the first time. The front desk was not willing to wave the valet fee because "they don't own the garage" but the employees working the valet work for the hotel. That was dissapointing.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    424
    496
    222
    276
See reviews for
270
398
102
335
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

A few friends and I came down to Chicago with friends and family Memorial Day weekend. The hotel itself was really pretty and the location was perfect. The problems came when we checked in. They had messed up some of the names on the rooms, so the few people who got in at 2am, had to call and wake the room holder up to get to their room. Then on our last night, we needed to check out one room (we had 4 booked) The people staying in that room checked out and made sure it was the correct room. Come later we realized they checked us out of ALL the rooms. My friend had to put a deposit down for the remaining rooms and we had to get our cards reactivated. The hotel was supposed to give my friend the deposit back when we checked out, but ended up charging her for a whole extra room! The rooms were also very cold.
The customer service was terrible and far as that whole situation. The only thing that was good besides the location was the customer service from a bell hop named Jose. We will not be staying again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn Heights, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

This was the worst experience. In short, I had to be inconviently moved twice due to blood on the walls, no hot water, over charging for roomservice, electrically issues that resulted in lights in the room, and drug paraphernailila that had blood traces of cocaine on the tip of it that my one year old daughter found. They had the worst customer services and treated us horribly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Stayed here with a friend who got a great package deal online. 3 night stay. Our 9th floor room was at the end of a longish hallway and had a lake view. Clean, quiet, terrific location. No issues with water temp or pressure. Room temp was fine as well. Friendly staff. If you're looking for something brand new and shiny, this isn't going to be the place for you-- but it is not a bad place to stay. Interesting history to the hotel and it definitely has character!

Room Tip: I thought the lake view was fabulous. The elevator situation is not as confusing as other reviewers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

the congress plaza hotel is an absolutely beautiful old world hotel. beautiful marble foyer looks like its straight out of a movie and the staff are all very friendly… although the rooms are old, they are perfectly acceptable and clean and with the high ceilings, they feel very large. the location of the hotel is absolutely perfect and for the price i would recommend this hotel to all

Room Tip: the 8th floor is supposedly haunted
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Great location - all I needed was a shower and bed. No hot water, no water pressure. The room was a pit - stained, peeling walls which would have been fine for the price. I would have rather been camping in a tent by a lake.

Room Tip: Don't. Just say no.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I went here on business and brought my wife and we actually checked in and then left 20 minutes later. Hotel is old and kinda tacky and gross and rooms are not very pleasent. Needs a major upgrade. We didnt want to walk barefoot on the floor or even put our bags directly on it. One pillow case was actually dirty. We checked out and took our bags to the Hilton just two blocks up the road.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Congress Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Congress Plaza Hotel

Address: 520 S Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Congress Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 851
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step inside and experience an extraordinary piece of living history during your next visit to downtown Chicago at the Congress Plaza Hotel. This "Landmark of Chicago Hospitality" has delighted business and leisure travelers for over a century. Guests at the Congress Plaza Hotel can explore art institute, millenium park, buckingham fountain, magnificent mile,museum campus all with in walking distance just by stepping outside our front doors. Situated adjacent to Grant Park, our 14-story property is located along Michigan Avenue, providing unlimited access to the city's finest retail stores, the bustling business district and Chicago attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Congress Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Congress Plaza Chicago
Hotel Congress Plaza
Congress Hotel Chicago
Congress Plaza Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Congress Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.