We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marriott at Magnificent Mile” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile to your Saves list
Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   540 N Michigan Ave., Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #105 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Big Spring, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Marriott at Magnificent Mile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

I enjoyed my stay very much. The hotel was lovely, I had a view of the beautiful city right out my window. Customer service is top of the line! Loved it. Wanted to bring home my bed it was so comfy!

Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    669
    368
    129
    60
See reviews for
274
252
76
729
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

Stayed at the hotel only 1 night. Arrived early to find the room was available, always a plus. Lobby was packed but the check in line moved very quickly. I was greeted by a very friendly and helpful young lady. The room was on the 43rd floor over-looking the city. What a view!! The rooms are a bit small but they are clean and comfortable. The hotel is in a great location with plenty of restaurants. A quick vist to the concierge desk answered all my questions. A very good experience in a great city. Only downside: why do some hotels continue to insist on charging for internet service. It drives me crazy!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsdale, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

Stayed here in Room# 2230 from July 22-25. Room was nice, internet good. Bathroom is TINY. No room to open/close door once you step out of shower/tub. That should be remedied if they remodel. I was also missing shampoo but had double conditioner. They brought up some shampoo immediately. Work out room(s) are terrific. A full compliment of treadmills, ellipticals, steppers, etc. And a separate room for weights/yoga/machines. Plus a pool area. The onsite restaurant is delicious. The soup/sandwich $10 lunch special was a nice surprise. Everyone was very nice. But here was my problem - since my room was not ready upon check in I stored my luggage with the bellman. When I got it back, my laptop screen had been destroyed. They did send an investigator, and everything was resolved to my satisfaction and I have a new laptop. So booo to the bellman but YAY to the Loss Prevention Officer (Gabriel) and Claims adjuster (Kyle). They did a good job. Another goof, upon packing for home I could not find my MK "Very Hollywood" perfume (roll-on) that I kept in the bathroom. I later spoke with housekeeping who said it wasn't in lost & found. If anyone sniffs out a housekeeper with a lovely citrusy-floral new perfume on... mazel tov. Either that, or it got thrown out with washcloths in the bathroom and ended up in the laundry/trash. I can recommend the hotel (minus the bathroom) to others, but the staff should be more careful.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

If you want to be close or have easy access to most downtown attractions, this hotel is great. The rooms were very clean, a bit small with 2 double beds. Couple blocks from trolley stop, in the middle of shopping, walking distance to good restaurants. Had breakfast buffett at the hotel, which was delicious. Staff is courteous and helpful. You do hear sirens all night long which can be annoying, but expect that when you're downtown. No microwaves or frig in room, but they did bring us a frig when we asked about it. A little pricey.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

I went to sleep and woke up with bites ALL OVER MY LEGS IN LINES OF THREE! Although I didn't see a bug, the bottom of the box spring was ripped open - which suggests that they spray for bugs! When I called the hotel, they reacted fast and changed my room. They said they would "lock-down" the room and have an independent third-party confirm whether there were any bugs. Although they told me that this thrid-party did not find any bugs, they also refused to show me the report generated by this third-party (which would have showed the type of tests they ran, etc.)!

Later that day, I asked the hotel to bring a flash light to my new room so I could thoroughly check my new bed. The first staff member that arrived was not accompanied by a member of management and I told him what had happened to me and he was VERY SYMPATHETIC and said IT WAS NOT THE FIRST TIME. He gave me the flash light, let me check out the bed myself and then left after I was finished. About 10 minutes later, I got another knock on the door - this time with a member of management with another staff member with a flash light. This time they conducted the search (which was not as extensive as mine) and kept putting doubts in my head like it could not have happened!

Don't stay here unless you want to be some creepy crawler's meal! Hotel management will not admit to the problem!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

This hotel is nicely located but so are many others along Michigan Avenue. Most disappointing for us was the lack of microwave and refrigerator. Our room was very small, barely room for the two queens and the bathroom was miniature. For the price, it is not a value. The staff was very gracious, especially the concierge and maid service. Room was clean, wall to wall windows afforded a beautiful view at night. Siren noise frequent. This hotel is geared to conference and business travelers, not families. Good restaurants are in the neighborhood. Our stay at the Hyatt last year was much much better. Disappointed to pay $16 a day for in-room high speed internet. Felt nickel and dimed for every add on. Free wi-fi hotspot in hotel lobby hard to connect and slow and blocked my e-mail service.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura County
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

This is a beautiful hotel on Michigan Ave. So central to everything. The room was wonderful, quite large and Marriott bedding is always so comfy. The bathroom was a little small. The lobby is large and lively and has a full serve Starbucks! Great service everyone was extremely helpful and friendly. We were on a combination business and pleasure trip and it fit our needs perfectly.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile

Address: 540 N Michigan Ave., Chicago, IL 60611
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Family Hotel in Chicago
#89 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#97 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter a renowned Chicago hotel combining the epitome of luxury and convenience at the Marriott Downtown Chicago Magnificent Mile Hotel, a Windy City landmark on Michigan Avenue's Magnificent Mile. Situated amongst world-class shopping and dining, this Chicago, Illinois hotel is in walking distance of top attractions, including Navy Pier, American Girl Place, Shedd Aquarium, Millennium Park, Theater and Museum Districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Chicago Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.