We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent Staff!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile to your Saves list
Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   540 N Michigan Ave., Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #105 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Ancaster, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Magnificent Staff!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

It was my first time in Chicago to attend a Conference so I stayed where it was held at Marriott Downtown. We were gretted so well by the Bell staff then quickly checked in and early too which was amazing. Ornelise St. Louis looked after us...her cheerful attitude and professionalism was such a bonus. She went over and above to look after my needs and the room...spectacular. The view was awesome. Beds and pillows extremely comfortable. Hotel is clean but really...what easily overrides any outdated this and that is outstanding staff and this hotel by far in all my extensive travel is one of the finest in the world. The Concierge staff are equally incredible and even the Starbucks folks are awesome, happy and fast! Thank you for the wonderful experience all of your efforts although you may think are small collectively make for a successful experience and I cannot thank you enough. My first Trip Advisor review/comment in all my years and that means something. All the very best. The staff is worth every penny!

Room Tip: Corner rooms have two sides of windows so views are great!! I was on 33rd floor. I faced the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    668
    367
    129
    60
See reviews for
274
251
76
728
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
SF
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Let me start with my bias is that I am not generally a fan of Marriott properties. The older they get the worse shape they are in and this one is no exception. We stayed here because my spouse insist on using the Marriott FF program which to me is generally worthless compared to other hotel programs. I prefer Hyatt or Starwood as a top status member because of the benefits. My partner has the same with Marriott and he NEVER gets upgraded as a result. He gets the same standard room as anyone off the street and the only benefit is their club room. Big deal. Leftover food from the kitchen served cold. :) So here are my pros and cons:

Pros: Location is good. The shower and toilet work. The bed is comfortable and they do provide more than one bath towel. But that is it for this hotel. I could find no other redeeming qualities for this hotel in downtown Chicago.

Cons: (Here we go) This place is a dump. I read some of the latest reviews and have to wonder if these folks have ever stayed anywhere other than a motel 6. It is a hotel packed with tour groups and when that happens the lines are long and the noise in the hall ways are constant with kids talking or little ones running up and down the floor. You might as well leave the door open to your room because the sounds from the hallway sound as if you did leave it open.
The rooms are small and crowded. The furniture beat up and you cannot adjust the chair when you want to work on a laptop so I had to put pillows on the chair so I could work. If you want to stay at this hotel you must bring ear plugs because the noise from the street is constant including never ending sirens as there is a hospital close by. The bathroom is one of the smallest I have ever used outside of the NY Sheraton. The coffee in the room is gross and so you head downstairs for an overpriced cup of starbucks. Since this property does not open its club room on the weekend for its FF guests we had to eat breakfast in their main dining room which was standard Marriott barf. Scrambled eggs, nearly cold potatoes and a variety of chewy doughy breads or pastries washed down by foul weak coffee. (They offered 2000 points for this weekend inconvenience instead of providing breakfast coupons as their competitors do when the club room is not open)
This is simply a beat up hotel in desperate need of a major makeover but in the end you still have small rooms with a glass window that lets all the noise in. I would pass this Marriott dump by unless you get a heck of a deal and do not plan to be in the hotel except to sleep.

Room Tip: try to ask for a room at the end of hallway as it will cut down on the noise from people talking and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmella G, Senior Executive Assistant at Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time ot forward your feedback regarding your recent stay. I was sorry to learn your overall stay was less than exceptional. We at the Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent MIle make it a priority to provide our guest with an exceptional experience located on the famous Magnificent Mile/Chicago. I apologize for your disappointment regarding not receiving an upgrade. It is always our pleasure when availability permits to extend an upgrade ot our Marriott Elite members. Our Club Lounge/Concierge Lounge which is loctaed on the 2nd floor overlooking our dynamic Lobby and Lobby Bar - Rush is one that is favored by many Elite members, we are alwayd open to feedback and look to provide a menu specially selected by our Executive Chef. Thank you for your valued feedback. We look forward to winning your confidence back and having the opportunity to "Host You Brilliantly".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Stayed here for the first time for a work conference! The hotel is very well situated, the meeting rooms were all very comfortable, and the provided meals and snacks were all really, really good! My guest room was a bit on the small side...especially the bathroom, but the comfort of the bed made up for it! I would stay here again for the location!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We visited this hotel on a quick trip to Chicago with our kids (6 & 8). We wanted a hotel central to many of the sites. It was just an easy couple blocks walk from the Grand subway station. From that subway stop you can hop a bus to the museum campus and hit the Field Museum, Shed Aquarium, and Alder Planetarium. It is also just a few blocks walk to Watertown place (Lego store for the boy and American Girl Place for the girl). Just around the corner were several good places to eat. Check out Eataly for a fun place to get all things Italian.
The hotel itself is very nice. Everything was spotless and in great shape. I can only speak to the room we had but the room was nice and standard size for downtown hotels. Since the hotel rooms start at floor 28 the views are great (floor to ceiling windows). Also the higher floor means it is quieter than in some of the hotels in Chicago. The negative would be the bathroom – it was tiny. With 4 people it was a tight fit. Not much space between the toilet and the door. The only place with suitable light for putting on makeup is the bathroom and you can’t do while someone else shaves or brushes their teeth. The standard rooms are either a king or 2 doubles. We choose the doubles and also got a roll-away. The roll-away was very poor. You could feel every coil, as if there was no pad on top of the coils at all. (Lucky for us my daughter thinks roll-away are cool and didn’t seem to care about the lack of comfort. She got to sleep looking out the big glass window so she was fine). The beds were comfy and very plush on top.
The staff was excellent. My daughter lost her glove and they did their best to help us find it.
One note – if you are thinking of visiting Chicago you can check out the CityPass for a good deal on sites. Another option may be to check with local museums in your home area and see if membership there includes free admission to other museums. The Science Museum of MN has a family membership for $99 and we were able to use that id to get into the Alder and Field for free (special exhibit and shows are extra). We were only there a few days and only went to a few sights so it was a good deal (we love to visit the Science Museum of MN anyway) If you go to a lot of the sights the CityPass might be a better deal.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Although not the newest or glitziest hotel in the area, this Marriott boasts an excellent location. Although it is a convention hotel, there is tremendous sound bleed between the meeting rooms. The Harvest restaurant is OK, but not able to handle large numbers of people in a hurry.

Room Tip: Try to get a room looking towards the lake, as high as possible. The view is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmella G, Senior Executive Assistant at Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to forward your comments regarding your recent stay. We have various meeting rooms to meet the specific needs of our guests. We apologize if sound was heard from a neighboring meeting room. We have various meeting rooms available to meet our guests needs it would have been our pleausre to be of furhter assistance. Additionally, we appreciated your feedback regarding the Harvest restaurant. Please know your comments have been shared with the applicable deparment managers to ensure your feedback is addressed as a learning/training opportunity. Your patronage is valued and appreciated. We are here to ensure your experience is exceptional. We look forward to wining your confidence back and the opportunity to welcome you again and "Host You Brilliantly".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

This was a terribly disappointing visit. The location is great - right off Michigan Avenue, close to shopping, restaurants and the lake. That was about the end of the good news. This was the first visit to Chicago for my young granddaughter, so we wanted to make it special. We were upgraded to a 'suite' - but it is really just two connecting rooms next to each other, though it was still nice. The bathrooms were tiny. Luckily we had two or my husband and I couldn't even have gotten ready at the same time. The tile in the tub/shower was horribly filthy (I attached a picture that isn't completely clear - it was much worse in person). I realize these older hotels in a downtown area can be challenging, but the rooms and hallways were so hot it was unbearably uncomfortable. Keep in mind we were there in March, and the high was 39 or 40. The first night - no one was able to sleep. The windows can only be opened about 2 inches, so though we left them open all night, there was no relief. All the guests we encountered in the elevators and lounges were complaining. The best they could do was add a couple fans in each room, which helped a small amount, but not much. They told us that it is a central air and heating system, so no air could be turned on until the furnace was off. Needless to say, when it is cold outside and hot inside it is terribly uncomfortable. We didn't sleep well during our stay, which made the city less enjoyable. There only solution was to suggest adding a humidifier!! How would that help?? Putting moisture in a room makes you feel warm sooner - you need to remove moisture to cool it down. We also had issues with the parking ticket. It is supposed to be coded so we could go in and out of the self park garage as much as we wanted during our stay, but it would only work a couple times, and we had to pay $43 to get out of the garage. When we went to the front desk about it - they sent us to the valet desk - who said we would have to see the manager over in the garage for a credit. Surprise - there was NO one in the garage, much less a manager, so we had to pay $41/night for parking in our room bill, and another $43 at the garage. With all these issues, no one at the hotel desk or Elite desk offered to do anything helpful. Needless to say it was not the experience we wanted for our family, and we will definitely not recommend anyone stay at this hotel. Go to the Omni - the service is spectacular and the rooms are great.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmella G, Senior Executive Assistant at Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to forward your comments regarding your recent experience. i was sorry to learn you were disappointed with your stay.and your guestroom could not reach a comfortable temperature. Our Director of Engineering and his team have been informed and have discussed the best strategy possible to heat/cool adequaetly during the incliment shoulder season weather. I apologize customer service was lacking in assisting you with your parking questions regarding in/out privileges via the self parking garage. The self parking option should be a seamless process offering our guest once their parking ticket is validated at the front desk upon check in the option to utilize your vehicle with in/out parking privileges. We take great pride in meeting and exceeding our guests expectations. Our goal is to address your concerns to ensure your next stay is exemplary. We hope to win back your confidence and look forward to welcoming you back again for an exceptional stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Busy hotel close to everything. Too bad it was too cold to go out and explore much. Excellent service at desk and lobby bar. Conference rooms were away from the bustling public areas. Room was clean but could have used some updating. Breakfast was horrible and overpriced. Thankfully, there are other options close by.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile

Address: 540 N Michigan Ave., Chicago, IL 60611
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Family Hotel in Chicago
#88 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#97 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter a renowned Chicago hotel combining the epitome of luxury and convenience at the Marriott Downtown Chicago Magnificent Mile Hotel, a Windy City landmark on Michigan Avenue's Magnificent Mile. Situated amongst world-class shopping and dining, this Chicago, Illinois hotel is in walking distance of top attractions, including Navy Pier, American Girl Place, Shedd Aquarium, Millennium Park, Theater and Museum Districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Chicago Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.