We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, friendly staff, overpriced.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile to your Saves list
Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   540 N Michigan Ave., Chicago, IL 60611 (Magnificent Mile)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #111 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Iowa
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Good location, friendly staff, overpriced.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I have stayed here for a Fall meeting for quite a few years. Strange, but it seems like the small rooms shrink every year. The beds are comfortable, the bathrooms are tiny. Staff are competent and very friendly. Intenet is a rip-off at $15/day, and parking is also quite expensive. You don't get anything for being a member of their rewards club. It's getting a bit worn looking - time for an upgrade of the rooms? One of the nights of my stay my room had not yet been cleaned at 5:15PM.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    713
    401
    140
    67
See reviews for
298
266
79
797
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tustin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Arrived with my roll luggage and was met with a series of downward stairs to the lobby - no ramp. Very lame. Stayed in a very average room in the "low rise" tower. No immediate light switch on the wall when you enter the room. Cheap shampoo/bath soaps. A booger on the wall in the bathroom when I arrived - remained after maid service. Two of the power outlets in the room did not work. No free breakfast/coffee unless you pay roughly $60 extra a night for access to the 'concierge' lounge. No thanks. Your rates are not competitve.

For a business oriented hotel, they are screwing you on fees that no longer apply most places. The most offensive is the Internet usage at a rate of 14.95 noon-to-noon. Now, that is for wireless. If you plug the CAT5 cable into your laptop they charge an additional 1.00. That is a deal breaker for me. The $6.00 1-liter bottle of Fiji water was very obnoxious, but fifteen bucks a day for Internet access is just greedy.

You got my money this time, but when my company travels, believe me - I WILL make sure we stay elsewhere. Keep the $90, lose the $850.

Travelers, save your money - stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan P, Manager at Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Josh,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile. We appreciate your candor regarding the issues you encountered, however are regretful to hear of your dissatisfaction. Feedback like yours helps us maintain the very highest level of service. That said, we would like to address your comments directly. In regards to your initial entrance to the hotel, we do have an elevator available, which is conveniently located adjacent to the staircase. Also, though we understand the fee associated with in-room internet access may be a deterrent for some, we do offer complimentary internet access in the public areas of the hotel. At the Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile, we are committed to providing a clean, fully functioning room to each and every guest who sets foot in our hotel. As such, we have looked into the issues you've brought to our attention and will address accordingly. We can assure you, a respected customer, that a return visit will be far more reflective of Marriott's core values and offerings. We hope that you'll provide us with the opportunity to make it up to you. Thanks, again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, LA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

This hotel has an excellent location and an excellent staff. Everyone I came into contact with was professional and helpful. However, the age of the property shows. While the lobby is bright and sleek, the rooms feel like 1985. The elevators shake, and the bathrooms are held together with caulk. I've stayed at this property twice and might be back, but I recommend giving the other Marriott properties in the area a try.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Great location....just walk out straight onto the magnificent mile.
Chicago is an easy city to walk and has plenty of cabs, public transport etc.
We wandered up the mile to the lake shore and all the way over to the willis tower and back to the park.....if you have the time and the energy it's a great walking city.
We also did an architectural cruise on the river which we really enjoyed with a great guide......lets you see another view of the city and lake.
The hotel is pretty contemporary through the lobby area and restaurants......rooms and hall ways are very average if not a little dated.
You get everything you would expect from a Marriott and the staff without exception were excellent.
I had a small housekeeping issue that seemed to be pretty well ignored the first night....mentioned it again and the place went into overdrive to solve it....even with a promise of not 100% solved we've got another room ready for you.....all a bit unnecessary as only a small issue.....it was easily sorted.
Enjoyed a good breakfast with some nice choices on the menus or buffet.
Valet parking is a little fierce....so if you are genuinely abandoning the car for a few days take a little time to find some self park.
Highly recommended for location and service.......not for you if your looking for a wow room......but who wants to be in Chicago and hang out in your room!!

Room Tip: I've nicknamed Chicago 'siren city'......get as high as you can afford!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This hotel is really well priced for its quality, cleanliness, and service. We were there for a conference, it was really quite nice. Plenty of decent restaurants and shopping in the neighborhood, and the Trader Joes on Ontario is just a block away. Around the corner there is a gorgeous little jewelry store called Pistachios, which I also recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The location could not be better! Right in the middle of everything, with entrances on both sides of the block making it extremelly easy to access. Confortable without exageration, allows for a decent stay. But valet parking is a real killer US$ 50,00 a day! I have never seen a more expensive parking. And then I found the secret for Chicago: you don't need a car! Public transportation is available everywhere and taxis are plenty. The best option is the 3 day pass for the double decker buses that stop a block form the hotel.

Room Tip: Facing away from the busy streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Ok
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Perfect location if you are shopping along Michigan Avenue. Upscale hotel right in the heart of the Magnificent Mile. The three of us usually like two queen beds but their only option was two doubles. Not uncommon for downtown large metro cities. Smaller rooms, not enough room for two queens. Staff was extremely helpful, plenty of elevators, not much waiting on a ride. Will probably be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile

Address: 540 N Michigan Ave., Chicago, IL 60611
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#83 Family Hotel in Chicago
#90 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#98 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 1198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter a renowned Chicago hotel combining the epitome of luxury and convenience at the Marriott Downtown Chicago Magnificent Mile Hotel, a Windy City landmark on Michigan Avenue's Magnificent Mile. Situated amongst world-class shopping and dining, this Chicago, Illinois hotel is in walking distance of top attractions, including Navy Pier, American Girl Place, Shedd Aquarium, Millennium Park, Theater and Museum Districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Chicago Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.