We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile to your Saves list
Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   540 N Michigan Ave., Chicago, IL 60611 (Magnificent Mile)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #111 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Houston, TX
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2007

Stayed at this hotel on business and found the location right on N. Michigan to be perfect. Good access to trains, restaurants, shopping, river, etc. I lived in S. Florida for a few years and was excited to see a Joe's Stone Crab directly across the street when I arrived.

Room was good sized, clean, and decorated well. Alot of the convenience plugs added to the desk area for business travelers did not work, so i found myself searching for plug-in space behind furniture. Not a huge thing, but if you're gonna bother with the extra plugs, why not make sure they work?

Hotel was full with a convention at the time I stayed and it took along time to get an elevator. This was my biggest complaint with the place. Bar in the lobby was fun and active. Restaurant is kinda outta the way up on the 4th or 6th floor, but had a good breakfast buffet at a reasonable price.

Price was in-line with other comparable hotels for features and location. I would stay here again on the company's dime. For personal travel, there are slightly better deals close-by that I would choose first.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Elevator wait times
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    713
    401
    140
    67
See reviews for
298
266
79
796
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2007

Let me start by saying that I love Marriott hotels. I have never stayed at one that I didn't enjoy. That being said, they are sometimes above my price range. For this trip, I needed to go as cheaply as I could without lowering my standards.

While searching, the Marriott website was the first one I looked at. Then I looked at different hotel sites as well as travel sites offering deals. Everything was above my budget. So I tried Priceline. This was my first time using it, and I was so very happy when my third bid was accepted to see that I'd won the Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile!

Being a Pricline reservation, there were restrictions. However, it doesn't hurt to try, so the week before our arrival, I emailed the hotel directly to request that the 2 rooms I had reserved be adjoining and that we have 2 beds in each room. Within one day, I had a reply from them saying they would forward my request to the front desk and do everything possible to accomodate us. When we arrived, I mentioned emailing, and the front desk person assured me that they were going to accomodate that request! I was very happy, as we had 5 in our party, and wanted to stay together, if possible.

The rooms were beautifully decorated. The beds were the most comfortable beds I have ever had in a hotel room. Lots of soft, fluffy pillows, down comforters, quality bed linens. Modern, flat screen tv's in each room. Two phones in each room. A desk with chair, and an upholstered chair as well. We also had a full length mirror in each room, which was very nice.

The only down side, and this was very minor, was the size of the bathrooms. The toilet and tub were in one very small room, and the sink and closet were outside of that room. Only one person could stand in front of the sink, as there was no room for anyone else. Having 3 women in one room and 2 in the other, this made it a little hard, but we made do just fine. Water pressure in the shower was good, not a fine spray like most hotels. Never had a problem with water temperature either.

The staff at this hotel were wonderful. Every time we had a question or request, it was dealt with very courteously and quickly. Check in and out was quick and easy. The only time we ate in one of the hotel restaurants was the morning we left. We grabbed a muffin and coffee on our way out, where the service was quick and the prices were decent.

We tried out the pool and the hot tub the last evening, and that was a big hit, as we were all pretty tired from all the walking we did while shopping. The exercise room looked very nice, although we didn't have an opportunity to use it.

Location of this hotel was great for our needs. Close enough to walk to the Loop for the theater, and right on the Mag Mile, close to shopping and restaurants. We caught the bus right across the street for the northern end of Michigan Ave, and for going to the zoo.

All in all, a wonderful stay, and this hotel may just become the only place I want to stay while visiting Chicago! If only I could afford to stay there more often!

  • Liked — The beds were the most comfortable I've ever had in a hotel.
  • Disliked — small bathrooms
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2007

We stayed for a long weekend 10/11 -10/14. Everything about the stay was perfect. The room was great, the view was great, the location was perfect. The front desk was knowledgeable and helpful as was the concierge. Great restaurant recommendations, helpful with directions. This hotel's location is ideal for seeing multiple parts of the city.
As other reviewers stated the bathroom was on the smaller side, but it wasn't a problem for us. We didn't spend our trip in there and it was clean and everything was in good order.
I honestly have not one complaint about this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2007

As a frequent traveler to Chicago, I always welcome the opportunity to come back to a city that has some of the best hotels in the US. Usually I stay at the Park Hyatt or the Peninsula, but our conference was at the Marriott so I stayed there out of convenience- what a mistake! For over $300, you get a room smaller than some closets, with virtually no amenities. The Michigan ave location is good, but for another $150, the Park Hyatt is sure to delight you!

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2007

We stayed our first night in a hotel just down the block but were not happy with the premises. Walked into the Marriott on Sept. 8 and they were very helpful - showed us a room and we promptly booked 5 nights on the spot, government rate for 3 nights and AAA rate the other two, so overall less expensive than the hotel down the block.

Everything about this hotel made our stay a pleasant experience - the hotel staff, housekeeping, breakfast at their 4th floor dining room, view from our room on the 41st floor, and the fact that the entire hotel is a nonsmoking facility. Rooms were tastefully decorated and very clean. Beds were comfortable and room was quiet, too - no noise from rooms on either side. Ask for a lakeside view - you get a little of the city and a little of the lake. We had a city-only view with sunsets, and that was nice, too. One added bonus: Trader Joes is in the next block, which is convenient for snacks and wines.

Location is good - one block off the Magnificent Mile and within walking distance of Millenium Park, the Art Institute, and the Chicago Architecture Foundation (the latter for great tours & info). We didn't care about the shopping on The Mile, but it's where to get buses to go places elsewhere in the city.

Overall, the Marriott made our first-time stay in Chicago a wonderful experience. I'd recommend it to my relatives....

  • Liked — The room + facility and central location
  • Disliked — business center charges 50 cents per minute for internet access
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2007

We stayed at this location for a conference for 5 days. The location was nice but I was not impress with the hotel at all. I rather stay off of Michigan Ave. if it meant we can stay at a hotel where it is cleaner and spacious.

We arrived during the conference and it took awhile for us to check-in. Unfortunately, it was during high school proms, the lobby was swamped with 4 different proms the weekend and the attendees of the conference (McCormick Convention Center).

I was not impress with the wait in the elevators and because it was so crowded with unsupervised teenagers and professionals, getting to the top floor was a hike.

The hallway was very narrow and gloomy with unattractive 70's carpet.
The room was very tight. It was two double with a 'view' but it was not much of a view. The got us excited during check in but the room/
window was against a wall so we can only see out at an angle. The bathroom was very ugly. The tub was standard and small. Very dated. The toilet was old and the seat was chipping so I can't tell if they cleaned the toilet or not.

The closet door did not slide; we called someone to fix it and not one came by to fix the door during our stay. (5 days of neglect).
The iron did not work so we had to call for another one. We needed to iron our clothes for work. That was also a drag.

Bar was small and dingy. The desk did not know of late night restaurants. Getting a cab was about 20-30 minute wait. I was not impressed at all. The city is full of fun things to do but at the end of the day, we dreaded coming back to our room.

I have to go to Chicago every year for the conference and this is one hotel I plan on never returning to. I felt like I was in a run down old Vegas casino-hotel.

  • Liked — Location on Magnificent Mile
  • Disliked — overall experience was below average; crowded and hectic, rooms are dark and lobby is dated.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2007

I stayed in Chicago with my new FIANCE. We booked a room at the Chicago Marriott. It was a little pricy, but included a lot. I recommend the "Romance Package" to anyone looking for a "wow" weekend. It included champagne, chocolate covered strawberries, breakfast in bed for 2 and a later checkout. Not only was the hotel nicer than anything I've stayed in, but the service was also great. They gave us info on where to go (dinner, nightlife, etc.) We got to check in early. The room was great. Not the biggest, but very nice. We were on the 33rd floor which meant just a magnificent view of the city. I proposed at Navy Pier, and everything worked out great. Needless to say, this was the greatest weekend of our lives. A great hotel, great location and an all around great city. What more could you ask for?

  • Liked — The location and very friendly staff
  • Disliked — Not enough time to enjoy everything!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile

Address: 540 N Michigan Ave., Chicago, IL 60611
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#83 Family Hotel in Chicago
#90 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#98 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 1198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter a renowned Chicago hotel combining the epitome of luxury and convenience at the Marriott Downtown Chicago Magnificent Mile Hotel, a Windy City landmark on Michigan Avenue's Magnificent Mile. Situated amongst world-class shopping and dining, this Chicago, Illinois hotel is in walking distance of top attractions, including Navy Pier, American Girl Place, Shedd Aquarium, Millennium Park, Theater and Museum Districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Chicago Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.