We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious and convenient to everything ***** 5 STAR ACCOMODATIONS & SERVICE!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Chicago

Save Saved
You added Hilton Chicago to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Chicago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   720 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
October Sale - from $179
Ranked #89 of 169 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersSilver level
St. Louis
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Luxurious and convenient to everything ***** 5 STAR ACCOMODATIONS & SERVICE!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

Every floor, elevator, shop, restaurant is opulent. This hotel is well maintained. The service is top notch - from the bell hop to housekeeping and everywhere in between.

Our room had TWO FULL BATHROOMS. The beds were very comfy and loaded with soft pillows and duvet. Large screen TV, 2 closets, plenty of drawers, desk.

Concierge helped us find parking before we arrived in the city. The bell hops got us quickly unloaded and loaded. The doorman hailed us taxis without delay.

Maintenance was lightening quick to address our room AC issue and had it blowing ICE COLD in no time during the week of extreme heat. Ahhhhhhh.

Housekeeping kept our room as neat as a pin and well stocked.

Room service was prompt, courteous and delicious.

We had the chance to eat at Kitty O'Shea's and it was very good. It was convenient on a night we wished to stay in and we were able to charge meal to our room.

The pool was wonderful retreat after a day in the humid heat. Even tho it was a busy Saturday night, there was plenty of space and the pool waters were cool and not overcrowded. The hot tubs were very relaxing as well. Before returning to our room, we were able to catch a cool breeze on the terrace overlooking the city lights.

We were most thankful for the vigilent eyes of security. We had dropped a phone while exiting a taxi. We thought it was lost for good. We left word with the front desk hoping that the driver would return it. To our pleasant surprise, security had found it and was already trying to contact us. This prevented much hassle and expense on our part that would have certainly overshadowed our vacation.

***** FIVE STAR ACCOMODATIONS!!! FIVE STAR SERVICE!!! *****

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    832
    848
    510
    203
    95
See reviews for
475
455
144
998
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (635)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

Our symposium stayed a week at the Chicago Hilton and despite some negative comments on TA I was overall very pleased with the hotel and service. This is a legacy hotel property of historical significance. When it was built in the 1920s, it was the largest and most expensive ($30 million!) hotel in the world, with the finest, most modern amenities. Staying here allows one to travel back in time to an era of elegance and opulence. That said, it is a property that, while recently renovated, has an older feel to it, taking you back to a different generation of traveler. We were upgraded to a spacious room, lake view, with two beds and two full baths. (My friends on the executive level said their room was tiny, so be sure to request a larger room). There are plenty of pictures already posted of the large marble baths. One has a tub/shower combo, the other a shower. Double beds were clean and comfortable. Two closets, beds and baths make this the perfect room for two people traveling. You don't have to trip over each other and there is plenty of space. We paid conference rate of $175 (with taxes, $200).

When we arrived at the room, we had no shampoo (lots of conditioner!) and our headboard had a grease stain on it (probably from someone sitting up in bed) but a call to housekeeping brought hangars, soap, shampoo and a pleasant supervisor who wiped down the headboard.

On the whole, housekeeping in the room was fair. Sometimes we were left amenities, sometimes not, and the furniture was a bit dusty, but overall, it was just fine. AC works well when you are in the room but automatically shuts down when there's no movement. You can fiddle with the thermostat, but it appears to be preset to 73, which when it's 95 and humid, feels just perfect.

Staff is pleasant and helpful. Conference facilities were very good. Location is great for folks wanting to head to the planetarium or Field Museum nearby. Room service and food service overall is convenient, although hotel priced. The Mercat restaurant in the Blackstone Hotel next door has the world's latest Iron Chef, and we ate there two nights it was so outstanding.

There was a huge convention here, as well as the Chicago Air Show, and the hotel was packed. It never felt overwhelming, however, and the concierge and reception staff kept their cool and were always cheerful and professional. I am a Silver Hilton Honors member but they still allowed me a very late check out with no additional fees.

I'd recommend staying here, but make sure you ask for a lake view (it's worth the $25 upgrade if you have to pay it - otherwise you're probably looking at a brick wall) and try to get the two bed, two bath rooms. If so, your stay should be pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

We stayed at the Hilton Chicago from Aug 8-12. Got a good deal on Priceline at $70 per room. Arrived at the hotel in the morning via subway from O'hare, walked a few blocks to the hotel. We knew that rooms wouldn't be ready since the hotel was full from the Lollapalooza event but I didn't expect that we would be charged for storing our bags for 4 hours until the room was ready! $2 per bag and we had 5 pieces. I thought this charge was unnecessary for a guests checking in. We had to store our bags the last day too so we had to pay the bag storage fee yet again.

We were able to get our room keys in the early afternoon. We had two rooms across the hall from each other (Rooms 577and 581) with two double beds and two bathrooms in each room which was very nice and convenient for us. Ordered an extra bed for our 3rd person (we had 5 in our family) and was told that there would be a additional cost of $40 for the whole stay. When we received our bill at checkout they did not charge us for the cot. One of the minibars had food that was half eaten and beverages used from it. We reported this problem to Robert at the frontdesk right away and he said he would send someone up to replenish while we were out. When we arrived back at the hotel in the evening, there was a message from Robert to follow up on the minibar situation. Nobody had come up to replenish so I called Robert back and he sent someone up immediately to do so. Robert as well as all other hotel staff from housekeeping to security were all very friendly and helpful.

Rooms were spacious and clean with two beds, two full baths, two closets, tv, minibar, coffee/tea, writing desk. No view from the 5th floor but we didn't mind since we weren't paying the regular rate of $204 for our rooms. Unfortunately they charge to use the fitness room and pool. We paid the weekly internet fee of $40 which was better than paying the daily rate of $20 for 4 nights.

We enjoyed our stay and would return again. Hotel and rooms setup are very similar to the Palmer House Hilton on Monroe Street where I stayed last year. I preferred the central location of Palmer House Hilton better than the Chicago Hilton but we bought a 3 day farecard at CVS so that we could ride the transit system unlimited times. #3 and #4 bus stops right outside the hotel on Michigan Avenue, very convenient. CVS, 7-11, subway, buses, restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

Saw a few skeptical comments but had a wonderful experience at the Hilton. As usual am dismayed by the add on charges (internet) but that seems de rigeur for hotels in this class.

Room was very clean. LOVED the two bathrooms, esp traveling with my spouse :-) The beds were very comfy, and linens quite clean.

Agree with another poster, thought the room was a tad on the warm side -- don't like the preset 73 degrees. Hey if I want an ice box setting, I'm paying for it, let me have it. They sent up an engineer, but I"m sure he fiddled with some nonexistent control just to humor us, and then he explained it was some "green friendly" control setting that senses movement in the room and will only activate the A/C when there is a guest.

Also LOVED the fact it was pet friendly, even if we did get some cross-eyed looks from some patrons. Get over it people. Studies show you live longer with pets. Besides I've put up with whiny kids for years ;-)

The hotel IS very large but I did not find that overwhelming. My only complaint was the rock concert going on in Grant Park the very same weekend as my conference, but they certainly didn't have control over that.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

My son and I stayed for 8 nights and were delighted. We read some previous reviews which put us off a bit. Many said couldn't get non-smoker rooms or bad smells. We had non-smokers and yes there was a strong smell on entering the room, but we think it was a cleaning agent and it was non-existent when we were in the room. It was great having two bathrooms for the one room, the beds were really comfortable, TV was a flat screen, room was quite large, and service was always courteous and prompt. Location on Michigan Ave was great with parks and lake across the road.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Villa, Illinois
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

I was at this hotel the weekend of the Blackhawks convention. I booked my room in November of 2009 for $299. Pretty good for downtown Chicago. I didn't know at the time the convention was happening. It was so crowded and loud. We got to our rooms, I was staying with friends and requested rooms on the same floor but we could not get it. The rooms are nice the view not so nice only if you are in the front of the hotel. We were looking at bricks. THe only problem is the walls are very thin. You can hear everything in the hall and in other rooms. The floor staff were very friendly and helpful.
Elevators were way too long of a wait. Took 10 minutes for one to stop on our floor. I would have taken the stairs but it was 14 flights with luggage.
Linens are a little tired but overall I would stay again if I had to...

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Illinois, USA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

The room was spacious for a downtown Chicago room. The staff were all very friendly and the rooms were very clean and quiet. Only knock migh be that it seemed to be a long wait for elevators.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Chicago

Address: 720 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Chicago
#43 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#61 Family Hotel in Chicago
#78 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#78 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Chicago 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic meets cool as Hilton Chicago embarks upon a $150 million renovation in celebration of our 85th birthday. The fresh, new vibe inspired by traditional, design rich elements pulls its inspiration from the hotel’s original architecture and intertwines a dynamic and contemporary spin. With the renovation underway, the hotel has already introduced over 400 new guest rooms, 13 new hospitality suites, a new technologically versatile Grab & Go – SNAX and a new restaurant with private dining space and bar – 720 South Bar & Grill. The new contemporary guestrooms have been cultivated with ornamental lacquer finishes, soft leather and rich, bronze wood detailing accented by a cool color palette of velvet and silk textured accents. Guestroom media capabilities include a 37 inch flat screen television, in room touch concierge panel, HCN Navigator computer and wireless and wired internet access. Following a day exploring Chicago, decompress at the largest Chicago hotel athletic club with running track, take a dip in our indoor pool facility or catch some rays on our sundeck during the spring and summer months.Located on Michigan Avenue in the South Loop, the Hilton Chicago is 1.6 miles to McCormick Place, along the Shuttle Route to McCormick Place and the first stop on the returning route from the convention center. Directly across the street from Grant Park and walking distance to Millennium Park, Buckingham Fountain, Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum, Adler Planetarium, Lake Michigan, Buddy Guy’s Legends, South Loop dining and art galleries, Museum of Contemporary Photography, The “Loop” – Chicago’s Financial district, State Street Shopping, Soldier Field as well as two short “L” stops to Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Hilton Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Chicago Hilton Hotel
Hilton Towers Chicago
Hilton Chgo Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.