We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Chicago to your Saves list
Hilton Chicago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   720 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Start Saving - from $95/n
Ranked #91 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, IL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Memorable Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2006

My husband and I stayed here for one night after we were married and we were impressed with the hotel staff. We told the lady at the check-in desk that we had just gotten married and when we came back from dinner we noticed that a complimentary bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries had been sent to our room. We considered this a wonderful act of service and it showed that the hotel really valued and listened to it's customers. Our room was lovely and clean and this made for a comfortable stay. We were only there one night before flying out for our honeymoon but we wished we could have stayed a little longer to enjoy some of the other hotel amenities and the downtown Chicago activities.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    939
    942
    563
    233
    101
See reviews for
526
498
159
1,145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (707)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
carrollton,tx
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2006

Had a great stay at the Hilton. Upgraded to a room on the Executive Level with 2 full size beds and 2 baths. The room was very clean and the entire staff was friendly. Unable to get a lake view without paying an extra $75/night. Also, continental breakfast is free for Executive level guest. Great location, very close to the Taste of Chicago event. Free shuttle to Magnificent Mile. Fire broke out at the hotel during my visit but still had a ball.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2006

While my title says "beware", I merely say this as a precaution when you select which room you want. Everything else was very top-notch.

We got our room on a good deal with Hotwire. When we arrived, the check-in line was long, so my wife and I didn't want to wait and instead, we headed for the auto check in kiosks. While going thru the screen, the room with a king bed was not available, but the system opted for a room with "2 beds, 2 bathrooms." We immediately selected the room with excitement thikning we were getting a suite. So the machine spit out the room keys and my receipt and we were on our way.

When we arrived at the room, the description was right, 2 beds and 2 bathrooms. However, the two beds were TWIN BEDS. Suddenly we were back in the 1950's like Lucy and Ricky Ricardo. Since we were only staying one night, and we were too tired to go back down and change our room, we decided to sleep one night in separate beds.

Besides the bed logistics, the room itself was great. The bathrooms were both clean and had La Source/Crabtree & Evelyn ameneties. The beds themselves were very comfy. All in all, its a perfect room for friends travelling since 2 bathrooms means getting ready can happen in less time.

The hotel clientele varies from Chicago tourists to business travellers. Its almost like going to Vegas where you have people dressed to the nines intermingling with folks in sweatshirts and jean shorts waiting in line for breakfast.

The attached stores and restaurants are nice too. The latest bar to stay open is Kitty OSheas unless another bar has enough people.

As far as location, its great for getting into Grant Park, so those going to Taste of Chicago or Lollapalooza wouldn't need any taxi or bus help whatsoever. Also, parking is pricey - $38 a day. Consider other all-day options from lots around the area if you don't mind walking a few blocks.

So all in all, its a fine hotel. Just watch what you shop for.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaker Heights, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2006

Stayed at the Chicago Hilton for a long weekend. I simply do not understand the negative reviews of the hotel on this site -- perhaps they come from people who only want to stay in sterile, ultra-modern hotels.

The lobby of the hotel is spectacular. The rooms were actually very large and nice, with new furnishings done in a style to match the hotel's public spaces. The beds and linens were very comfortable, and our room had new electronics and web-tv. There is absolutely no reason for this hotel to be considered anything less than a four star by anyone who has done a bit of traveling.

Is this a Penninsula or Four Seasons? No; but it doesn's cost $500.00 per night. At a minimum, this hotel has all the comfort and amenities you would find at any 4 star business hotel, wrapped up in a grand, old package. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2006

Totally wonderful historic hotel. I booked this hotel on Hotwire for $106 to surprise my husband for his birthday. He thought I must have paid a fortune. It was a beautiful hotel and the staff could not have been more friendly. The hotel was completely modern but retained that historic feel. I agree with previous reviews that the bathroom is a bit small compared to other luxury hotels, but no big deal. The bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in and besides the occasional sound of the El, was very quiet. The breakfast buffet was amazing, but a bit pricey. It was a bit of a walk to other restaurants, but the area was very safe and cabs or train was readily available. There was a free shuttle all day to the Magnificenat Mile shopping area. I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2006

I stayed here for one night, May 28, 2006, and overall, I thought that this place was great. I arrived at 9:00am to ask when I would be able to check-in. They lady at the Hilton HHonors front desk counter told me to give her my cell phone number and that she would call me when my room was ready. I told her that would be great. I was able to leave my luggage for free until I returned. I doubted that they would really call me, but sure enough, at 2:30PM, the same lady called me and told me that my room was ready. I just had to pick up the key at the front desk.

I received a King Non-smoking room (as I requested) on the 16th floor. The room was great. The AC was quiet and worked fine. The room was plenty big, and I barely heard the El go by during the day. The bed was comfy. The bathroom, however, was a bit small. I have silver status with Hilton HHonors, which usually isn't worth too much. But at this hotel, I received free access to the huge Hilton Athletic Club on the 8th floor and two complimentary bottles of water in the room. I would stay at this hotel again simply because of the size the gym.

Many past reviewers have commented on the prices at the hotel restaurants. Yes, they are quite expensive, but you are paying for location and convenience. I had the cold breakfast buffet on Monday morning for $13.50 and I thought the food was fine. The service was great!

Complaints: There was a NCFL (debate) tournament at this hotel during my stay and the elevators were always slow. I doubt this would be a problem if I stayed at the hotel when they were less busy. The toilet in the room backed up several times and seemed to take several flushes to do the trick.

I payed $143.00 (+tax) for the room and thought that it was good value for Chicago.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sulphur Springs, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2006

We loved the hotel. When I see other posts about it being shabby I can't for the life of me figure out what they are talking about. Rooms were large with TWO bathrooms, lobby was fabulous, pool was large with two hot tubs and huge gym, staff was courteous. For us, the location was great--across the street from Grant Park with a great view of Buckingham Fountain and close to all the museums and theatres. I'm sure others would rather be north of the river closer to the Magnificent Mile but we enjoyed the quieter and more scenic location. Got it for $105 on Hotwire. What a bargain for such a nice hotel.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Chicago

Address: 720 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in Chicago
#48 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#61 Family Hotel in Chicago
#77 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#79 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 1454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic meets cool as Hilton Chicago embarks upon a $150 million renovation in celebration of our 85th birthday. The fresh, new vibe inspired by traditional, design rich elements pulls its inspiration from the hotel’s original architecture and intertwines a dynamic and contemporary spin. With the renovation underway, the hotel has already introduced over 400 new guest rooms, 13 new hospitality suites, a new technologically versatile Grab & Go – SNAX and a new restaurant with private dining space and bar – 720 South Bar & Grill. The new contemporary guestrooms have been cultivated with ornamental lacquer finishes, soft leather and rich, bronze wood detailing accented by a cool color palette of velvet and silk textured accents. Guestroom media capabilities include a 37 inch flat screen television, in room touch concierge panel, HCN Navigator computer and wireless and wired internet access. Following a day exploring Chicago, decompress at the largest Chicago hotel athletic club with running track, take a dip in our indoor pool facility or catch some rays on our sundeck during the spring and summer months.Located on Michigan Avenue in the South Loop, the Hilton Chicago is 1.6 miles to McCormick Place, along the Shuttle Route to McCormick Place and the first stop on the returning route from the convention center. Directly across the street from Grant Park and walking distance to Millennium Park, Buckingham Fountain, Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum, Adler Planetarium, Lake Michigan, Buddy Guy’s Legends, South Loop dining and art galleries, Museum of Contemporary Photography, The “Loop” – Chicago’s Financial district, State Street Shopping, Soldier Field as well as two short “L” stops to Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Chicago Hilton Hotel
Hilton Towers Chicago
Hilton Chgo Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.