We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star price, 4 Star by Trade, 3 Star Service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Chicago to your Saves list
Hilton Chicago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   720 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Cyber Parking Savings!
Ranked #90 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
259 helpful votes 259 helpful votes
“5 star price, 4 Star by Trade, 3 Star Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

In average, the hotel cost me USD$ 300 per night. The GM kindly upgraded me to a suite due to HHONORS Diamond membership. The room was clean but basic. The Soap and shampoo offered are very very dry. Pillow is bad and bed is not comfortable. I asked for foam pillows and they never appear.
The Gym / swimming pool are good.
Breakfast is USD$21 per day and they are boring and basic. The breakfast on executive lounge is even worse. It's self service and self cleaning. No cuttery lay down. It's just like going to McDonald's but with continental breakfast only. The lounge is dirty and tired looking.
Internet is free for me as a HHONORS member it is not the fastest in the world.

Overall, I think this hotel is over priced!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure to hear you enjoyed out athletic club and pool. Please accept my sincere apology for your disappointments especially, with your guestroom amenities, service, executive lounge, uncomfortable pillows and bed and breakfast. The executive lounge in most Hilton’s is self serve but we certainly should be cleaning up. The lounge is scheduled for a renovation early next year.
We appreciate your feedback as it is feedback such as yours that enables us to focus on opportunities for improvements and any necessary re-training.
We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    928
    931
    559
    232
    101
See reviews for
518
493
158
1,135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (702)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle Upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Hilton Chicago is perfectly situated to allow guests to enjoy the spectacular view of the waterfront (lake) and park. It is walking distance from downtown Chicago and accessible by bus on the way back. I would definitely take my family and kids there the next time we visit Chicago.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure to receive your comments and to learn of your appreciation of our hotel and its location. I was pleased to hear you had great views and that you and your family will visit us again.
We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I spent two nights in this hotel. It was clean and quiet, but best of all the beds were SO comfortable!. The check-in and check-out processes are hassle-free, and everyone of the staff was friendly, from the desk to the maids to the waiters. There is a place in the lobby where you can print or pick up your bording passes, that was convenient. The area seems to be relatively safe, and there was never a wait for a taxi. But even Hilton Honors members are not cut much slack if they ask for an extended check-out time. One hour was all they would offer.

Room Tip: I was on the sixth floor, all was fine. Can't speak for other parts of the hotel.
See more room tips
Green Features: Hilton is striving to be sustainable, like everyone else. They have a special basket for recycling, and the popular policy of only changing towels that are left on the floor. On par with other hotels.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure to receive your comments and to learn of your appreciation of the Hilton Chicago, our great location and with the level of service you received from our staff. I was pleased to hear you enjoyed our comfortable beds and the convenience of printing your boarding pass. It’s always good to hear our hotel is meeting the expectation of our guests.

Thank you for noticing our Green features and practices. We are very proud and dedicated to our continual efforts to the Green environment!
We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at this beautiful hotel over Mother's Day weekend. We booked two rooms, one with 2 beds and 2 bathrooms and the other with 2 double beds. Both rooms were large with lots of space to move around easily. The second bathroom was great for allowing my mother to have her own space without having to book an entire separate room. Our son and his family were in the other room which was right next door. It made it easy for the grandkiddos to run over to wake us up in the morning!

We enjoyed the coffee shop as it was well-stocked with fresh fruit, yogurt and pastries to grab for a quick breakfast. The bar was comfortable and we celebrated the graduation with a yummy after-dinner coffee drink. Then on Mother's Day we munched out at the brunch and all of us were extremely pleased with the selections offered.

Upon check-in, the hotel staff was quick to bring up a small refrigerator and "pack n' play" and extra towels. Everyone was very polite and professional; even when there was a discrepancy with the charges. The front desk clerk was able to fix the problem in a timely manner. My only complaint would be the $52 daily charge for parking! (Even though we were allowed in n' out privileges).

As for location, we walked the approximately 2 miles to Navy Pier and could have walked back to the same area to see a movie but chose to drive instead. We only had the car because we needed to be able to get to the University's graduation activities all over the city.

I personally love staying in Hilton Hotels because the beds are comfy and the price is reasonable! Our son liked the gym/spa/swimming pool facilities. The $25 fee for use of the gym seemed exorbitant for my tastes.

Overall, an excellent stay!

Room Tip: Get a corner room with a city view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Hilton Chicago for your recent stay and for taking the time to share your comments.
It was a pleasure to receive your comments and to learn of your appreciation of the beautiful Hilton Chicago, convenient location and with the quality of service you received from our staff. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your spacious and comfortable rooms. It also good to hear you enjoyed SNAX, our grab and go store and our Mother’s Day brunch.
Please accept my sincerest apology for your disappointment with the added parking and athletic club charges. Please be assured, the Hilton Chicago works hard to maintain one of the most competitive pricings for a large downtown area hotel on its products and services.
We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels is known.
Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I stayed for two nights during a convention in Chicago. The check-in was quick despite thousands of people descending on Chicago for the show. The room was large with two bathrooms (for just one person), but it was a business trip so I spent little time there. The added benefit of a lobby desktop and printer where you could access and print the boarding pass for your flight was very much appreciated (no business center charge). Internet connectivity in the room was good, though the lack of wifi was a little odd. I had an enjoyable dinner at the restaurant bar--steak and a Martini--hard to go wrong there.

Room Tip: The room I had was not facing Michigan Avenue--which made for a quiet night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Hilton Chicago for your recent stay and for taking the time to share your comments.
It was a pleasure to receive your comments and to learn of your appreciation of our efficient and comfortable hotel. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your spacious room accommodations and your dinner at the 720 lounge. It’s always good to hear our hotel is meeting the expectation of our guests.

We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels is known.
Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I loved Chicago. The cruise in the canals was an excellent way to see the architecture of the city. The park was an oasis in the middle of the day with interesting modern sculptures. Hilton, an excellent hotel, reminds me the aristocratic site of the city. The breakfast buffet was tasteful and rich. I will come back for sure!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at a high floor. The view of the city is fabulus!
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel has an ENERGY STAR. The hotel measures multiple utility and operational metrics such as energy, water, carbon, housekeeping, paper product usage, waste, chemical storage, air quality and transportation.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Hilton Chicago for your recent stay and for taking the time to share your comments.
It was a pleasure to receive your comments and to learn of your appreciation of our excellent hotel. I am delighted to hear how much you love our windy city and enjoyed our breakfast buffet. It’s always good to hear our hotel is meeting the expectation of our guests.

Thank you for noticing our Green features and practices. We are very proud and dedicated to our continual efforts to the Green environment!
We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels is known.
Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Stayed from May 30 - June 3 while attending ASCO. Check in was quick, efficient and extremely friendly. The person(s) who were assigned to housekeeping for my room were totally impeccable - it was a pleasure to return to my room each night after a long day at convention to have everything so clean - right down to my shoes being lined up very neatly. I was on the Concierge level and the breakfast and coffee each morning was the perfect way to start my day. I am a very proud Hilton Honors member. Thank you for an amazing stay.

Room Tip: I was on the 24th floor and it was wonderful
See more room tips
Green Features: Loved the paper bags for recycling and also the small video in the elevator informing guest on the measures Hilton is taking to Go Green.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Hilton Chicago for your recent stay and for taking the time to share your comments.
It was a pleasure to receive your comments and to learn of your appreciation of the hotel with outstanding service, impeccable housekeeping and with the quality of service you received from our staff especially, with Housekeeping. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed our executive lounge breakfast. It’s always good to hear our hotel is meeting the expectation of our guests.

I’m happy to hear you appreciated our Green features and practices. We too are very proud and dedicated to our continual efforts to the Green environment!

Thank you for being a Hilton Honors member. We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels is known.
Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Chicago

Address: 720 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in Chicago
#47 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#65 Family Hotel in Chicago
#77 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#77 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 1454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic meets cool as Hilton Chicago embarks upon a $150 million renovation in celebration of our 85th birthday. The fresh, new vibe inspired by traditional, design rich elements pulls its inspiration from the hotel’s original architecture and intertwines a dynamic and contemporary spin. With the renovation underway, the hotel has already introduced over 400 new guest rooms, 13 new hospitality suites, a new technologically versatile Grab & Go – SNAX and a new restaurant with private dining space and bar – 720 South Bar & Grill. The new contemporary guestrooms have been cultivated with ornamental lacquer finishes, soft leather and rich, bronze wood detailing accented by a cool color palette of velvet and silk textured accents. Guestroom media capabilities include a 37 inch flat screen television, in room touch concierge panel, HCN Navigator computer and wireless and wired internet access. Following a day exploring Chicago, decompress at the largest Chicago hotel athletic club with running track, take a dip in our indoor pool facility or catch some rays on our sundeck during the spring and summer months.Located on Michigan Avenue in the South Loop, the Hilton Chicago is 1.6 miles to McCormick Place, along the Shuttle Route to McCormick Place and the first stop on the returning route from the convention center. Directly across the street from Grant Park and walking distance to Millennium Park, Buckingham Fountain, Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum, Adler Planetarium, Lake Michigan, Buddy Guy’s Legends, South Loop dining and art galleries, Museum of Contemporary Photography, The “Loop” – Chicago’s Financial district, State Street Shopping, Soldier Field as well as two short “L” stops to Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Chicago Hilton Hotel
Hilton Towers Chicago
Hilton Chgo Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.