We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Chicago Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Chicago to your Saves list
Hilton Chicago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   720 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605 (Downtown / The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - from $159
Ranked #93 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersSilver level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice Chicago Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I was staying in Chicago on business and needed a place to stay. This Hilton was a good choice; the rooms were well done and the staff was efficient. Food was affordably priced and tasted rather good. Overall, a very good value.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. It was a pleasure to read your comments and to learn of your positive experience with the Hilton Chicago.
We have a long and hard earned reputation for guest satisfaction and it is always good to know that our hotel is meeting the expectations that our guests come to expect and deserve.

We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,054
    1,018
    615
    252
    109
See reviews for
585
547
166
1,255
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (768)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

The only thing good about this hotel is the Beautiful Christmas tree they had up early (in November). The rooms are dark, enclosed, and uninviting. The lobby area is not comfortable, unless you are standing to check-in (think Vegas style MGM lobby). Awful heater that only blows dry air and works whenever it feels like it. Even if you call to get this taken care of, no one will come to your room. Terrible location, as there is nothing to eat if you are there with no car. You cannot walk anywhere to get any food or quick convenient bite. And you could forget about any room service there to get these needs met, either. Not that there is anything wrong with walking a lot when you are visiting a city, but In general, when a hotel is not near any eateries, they should make up for it by offering something of their own. This was impossible. Felt like a big factory hotel where customers are treated like unknown numbers or herds, although It wasn't so crowded that they could even have an excuse for making me feel that way. I have been in hotels where there are no stores or restaurants nearby, and the weather is cold , but the hotel made up for it by offering their place as a home. This is not one of those hotels. I do not recommend this hotel. I would not go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Great location that was close to McCormick Place where the ASHA Conference was held. Shopping, excellent restaurants, lake shore, and attractions all within walking distance. The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. Bring some extra cash to tip this wonderful staff. The parking was a little expensive, but I expect it when visiting downtown Chicago. The only thing I would change is not charging to use the fitness center.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. It was a pleasure to read your comments and to learn of your positive experience with the Hilton Chicago.
We have a long and hard earned reputation for guest satisfaction and it is always good to know that our hotel is meeting the expectations that our guests come to expect and deserve.

We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Can't say enough good things about our recent trip to the Windy City. We went there just for a "second honeymoon" after 20 years -- having never been there before. We kind of expected Chicago to be kind of busy and full of uncaring and brash people, but it was a very friendly "people" place. It reminded us of Washington, D.C. There was so much to do right in the vicinity of the hotel -- the Field Museum, the planetarium. We LOVED Harold's Chicken Shack and your Kitty O'Shea's pub. We hope to go back some day.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. It was a pleasure to read your comments and to learn of your positive experience with the Hilton Chicago.
We have a long and hard earned reputation for guest satisfaction and it is always good to know that our hotel is meeting the expectations that our guests come to expect and deserve.

We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

This hotel would be one of my first choices. Beautiful hotel. Friendly staff and clean. Can walk to many restaurants, Field Museum and shopping. One of us requested a gluten free breakfast. It was no problem and they really made sure we were comfortable with our meal. A plus!!

Room Tip: With the two double bed rooms, we had two bathrooms. Not sure if they all had them. Not a typical...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. It was a pleasure to read your comments and to learn of your positive experience with the Hilton Chicago.
We have a long and hard earned reputation for guest satisfaction and it is always good to know that our hotel is meeting the expectations that our guests come to expect and deserve.

We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

This hotel is not what I expected but in a good way. The location is great for sightseeing since you can walk to many attractions and metro stations are close by as well. The views are great all around. The hotel is undergoing renovations so some of the rooms are beautifully updated. We were not lucky enough to stay in one of those rooms but even the older ones are maintained well and our room has two bathrooms which was a nice surprise. The ballroom is stunning and makes you feel like you're in a different era so check it out if you get a chance.
We hung out at the Irish pub within the hotel a few nights and enjoyed the food and laid back atmosphere. We didn't use the restaurant so I can't comment on that.
Overall very happy with the stay. We got a great deal on the room but I imagine a stay there can get expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the renovated rooms if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. It was a pleasure to read your comments and to learn of your positive experience with the Hilton Chicago.
We have a long and hard earned reputation for guest satisfaction and it is always good to know that our hotel is meeting the expectations that our guests come to expect and deserve.

We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here five days for a business conference. She visited the sites in Chicago while I attended the conference. We also did some shopping on the Magnificent Mile. I've stayed in the north loop, and I liked this location better. We were within walking distance to Soldier Field and the Museum Campus (Shedd, Field Museum). We took a cab to the shopping area (< $10 and about 10 - 12 minutes). For $29 per night, we upgraded to the executive floor, which included continental breakfast, coffee, soda and water all day, free internet, access to the gym and pool, and snacks from 5 - 7 pm. We also had a dedicated concierge who booked two last-minute dinners for us at terrific restaurants. We would certainly do the upgrade again.

The staff was immensely friendly and helpful, and made us feel welcome.

We drove to Chicago, and used SpotHero to find a parking spot. It worked like a charm. We booked a spot for five days that was two short blocks from the hotel, and paid $20 for each 24 hour period. Our spot did not allow in-and-out privileges, but we did not use the car while we were in Chicago. The hotel's parking charge was around $50 for self-parking.

The ratings that I'm giving are based on a comparison to other hotels in the Loop.

Room Tip: Our room was on the executive floor (24), so street noise was not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. It was a pleasure to read your comments and to learn of your positive experience with the Hilton Chicago.
We have a long and hard earned reputation for guest satisfaction and it is always good to know that our hotel is meeting the expectations that our guests come to expect and deserve.

We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Chicago

Address: 720 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Chicago
#48 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#60 Family Hotel in Chicago
#78 Business Hotel in Chicago
#81 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 1454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic meets cool as Hilton Chicago embarks upon a $150 million renovation in celebration of our 85th birthday. The fresh, new vibe inspired by traditional, design rich elements pulls its inspiration from the hotel’s original architecture and intertwines a dynamic and contemporary spin. With the renovation underway, the hotel has already introduced over 400 new guest rooms, 13 new hospitality suites, a new technologically versatile Grab & Go – SNAX and a new restaurant with private dining space and bar – 720 South Bar & Grill. The new contemporary guestrooms have been cultivated with ornamental lacquer finishes, soft leather and rich, bronze wood detailing accented by a cool color palette of velvet and silk textured accents. Guestroom media capabilities include a 37 inch flat screen television, in room touch concierge panel, HCN Navigator computer and wireless and wired internet access. Following a day exploring Chicago, decompress at the largest Chicago hotel athletic club with running track, take a dip in our indoor pool facility or catch some rays on our sundeck during the spring and summer months.Located on Michigan Avenue in the South Loop, the Hilton Chicago is 1.6 miles to McCormick Place, along the Shuttle Route to McCormick Place and the first stop on the returning route from the convention center. Directly across the street from Grant Park and walking distance to Millennium Park, Buckingham Fountain, Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum, Adler Planetarium, Lake Michigan, Buddy Guy’s Legends, South Loop dining and art galleries, Museum of Contemporary Photography, The “Loop” – Chicago’s Financial district, State Street Shopping, Soldier Field as well as two short “L” stops to Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Chicago Hilton Hotel
Hilton Towers Chicago
Hilton Chgo Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.