We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Chicago to your Saves list
Hilton Chicago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   720 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Start Saving - from $95/n
Ranked #90 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersSilver level
Shanghai, China
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

This hotel would be one of my first choices. Beautiful hotel. Friendly staff and clean. Can walk to many restaurants, Field Museum and shopping. One of us requested a gluten free breakfast. It was no problem and they really made sure we were comfortable with our meal. A plus!!

Room Tip: With the two double bed rooms, we had two bathrooms. Not sure if they all had them. Not a typical...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. It was a pleasure to read your comments and to learn of your positive experience with the Hilton Chicago.
We have a long and hard earned reputation for guest satisfaction and it is always good to know that our hotel is meeting the expectations that our guests come to expect and deserve.

We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    940
    942
    563
    233
    101
See reviews for
526
499
159
1,145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (707)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

This hotel is not what I expected but in a good way. The location is great for sightseeing since you can walk to many attractions and metro stations are close by as well. The views are great all around. The hotel is undergoing renovations so some of the rooms are beautifully updated. We were not lucky enough to stay in one of those rooms but even the older ones are maintained well and our room has two bathrooms which was a nice surprise. The ballroom is stunning and makes you feel like you're in a different era so check it out if you get a chance.
We hung out at the Irish pub within the hotel a few nights and enjoyed the food and laid back atmosphere. We didn't use the restaurant so I can't comment on that.
Overall very happy with the stay. We got a great deal on the room but I imagine a stay there can get expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the renovated rooms if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. It was a pleasure to read your comments and to learn of your positive experience with the Hilton Chicago.
We have a long and hard earned reputation for guest satisfaction and it is always good to know that our hotel is meeting the expectations that our guests come to expect and deserve.

We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, IA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here five days for a business conference. She visited the sites in Chicago while I attended the conference. We also did some shopping on the Magnificent Mile. I've stayed in the north loop, and I liked this location better. We were within walking distance to Soldier Field and the Museum Campus (Shedd, Field Museum). We took a cab to the shopping area (< $10 and about 10 - 12 minutes). For $29 per night, we upgraded to the executive floor, which included continental breakfast, coffee, soda and water all day, free internet, access to the gym and pool, and snacks from 5 - 7 pm. We also had a dedicated concierge who booked two last-minute dinners for us at terrific restaurants. We would certainly do the upgrade again.

The staff was immensely friendly and helpful, and made us feel welcome.

We drove to Chicago, and used SpotHero to find a parking spot. It worked like a charm. We booked a spot for five days that was two short blocks from the hotel, and paid $20 for each 24 hour period. Our spot did not allow in-and-out privileges, but we did not use the car while we were in Chicago. The hotel's parking charge was around $50 for self-parking.

The ratings that I'm giving are based on a comparison to other hotels in the Loop.

Room Tip: Our room was on the executive floor (24), so street noise was not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. It was a pleasure to read your comments and to learn of your positive experience with the Hilton Chicago.
We have a long and hard earned reputation for guest satisfaction and it is always good to know that our hotel is meeting the expectations that our guests come to expect and deserve.

We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

For the price, I was very disappointed. While this place was very centrally located and near some really nice places, I couldn't believe how shabby the services turned out. The first night we were there, I had to call for our room to be cleaned. Around 3 pm I made a call to the operator expressing some concern that the room had not been cleaned only to be abruptly told that they "had until 4pm." I didn't think twice about it. However, I was more than concerned at 6:30 when I came back to my room that it was not cleaned. Once again, I called and they finally cleaned it. Would it have been too much to have the operator do a follow up to make sure the room hadn't been missed? Next, although we were willing to pay for internet, the wireless signal "apparently" couldn't make it up to the 22nd floor. When we called to ask about the signal, the person (who was clearly outsourced) told us that he would have the signal boosted. Two days later... still no signal. Again, no follow up to check on things... Just not what I expected from a Hilton.

Room Tip: Its an older hotel so the rooms are pretty small
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments as it relates to your recent stay.
It appears we fell short in meeting your expectations and for this we sincerely apologize. Our main priority is for all our guests to have a welcoming and comfortable stay with us.
Please accept my sincere apology for not meeting your expectations throughout your stay especially, as it relates to your room accommodation, internet experience and lack of follow up. Your feedback has been shared with the departments noted to ensure that necessary re-training takes place.
We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,

Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We traveled to Chicago to celebrate our anniversary. With my online reservation I stated "for anniversary weekend" and that did not go unnoticed. We received special recognition that was not expected. We had a beautiful room and great service. We will stay there again.

Room Tip: High floor and lake room is worth it!
See more room tips
Green Features: They provided a paper bag for placing our recycled waste. We loved that touch.
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. It was a pleasure to read your comments and to learn of your positive experience with the Hilton Chicago.
We have a long and hard earned reputation for guest satisfaction and it is always good to know that our hotel is meeting the expectations that our guests come to expect and deserve.

We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I recently had an opportunity to stay at this hotel for. Business conference. My stay was filled with highlights and lowlights. First the good:
Great customer service everywhere. They treat you well at this hotel.
The concierge desk is fantastic and very friendly
The conference rooms along with the Grand Ballroom is amazing!!
Spacious rooms
Great location!

Now the bad:(mainly with the room)
1. The shower did not drain - ever. Every evening I got to stand in 1-2 in of standing water
2.The shower never heated up. In order to force hot water, you had to move the handle dial over to the extreme right hand side right before t turned off to eek out some hot water. Of course the fact that you have moved the dial over all the way affects the strength of the water flow, b/c I is about at the off position
3. The circular unit that covers the hole from where the shower faucet comes into the shower was displaced and the entire hole was exposed. It kinda reminded me of Boy Scout cam in the shower stalls that seemed to have pipes coming out of the wood to shower.
4. Soap: good grief.. The band they have makes your hair clump and the skin dry out..I think that the soap is by Peter Roth.. The would be better off offering Lava soap.
5. Warm evening in the room: yes the AC worked minimally. It never cooled the room down and ran constantly.
6 interactive tv?? Seriously.. Does anyone use a desktop anymore? Good concept, but just 15 years late.
7. Two small towels.. Wow.. Hilton just wants you to use that same towel over and over.
8. Paper thin windows. Pleasure to hear whistles, honking, and ambulances all night long.
9. Cost of food... Insane high! One Bananas and 16 ox OJ... $7.00

Not sure if I will stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments as it relates to your recent stay. I am delighted to hear of your appreciation of our staff and that you found our location great!
Please accept my sincerest apology for any disappointments you experienced especially, in regard to your guestroom accommodation and additional charges. Please be assured, we work hard to maintain one of the most competitive pricings for the downtown area and that we take it very seriously, when we fail to meet the expectations of our guests.
We appreciate your feedback, as it is feedback such as yours that allows us to focus on opportunities for improvements.
We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,

Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Mississippi
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

First time to stay here, and I was fully impressed. The Hilton provides a wonderful mix of traditional beauty and charm and also a full range of modern amenities. Rooms are clean and quiet; not exceptionally spacious, but more than adequate. Bed was nearly new, and extremely comfortable. The entire facility was immaculately clean and well-maintained. Meeting rooms were well-equipped and easy to locate.

The rooms may be slightly pricey, but I've paid this much in the past and not come near the quality of this hotel. I did not use the 'spa', but I'm certain that it was of the same quality as the rest of the hotel. You will not be disappointed here.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be excellent, but if you can have one overlooking Grant Park, it is a real bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. It was a pleasure to read your comments and to learn of your positive experience with the Hilton Chicago.
We have a long and hard earned reputation for guest satisfaction and it is always good to know that our hotel is meeting the expectations that our guests come to expect and deserve.

We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Chicago

Address: 720 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Chicago
#47 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#61 Family Hotel in Chicago
#78 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#79 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 1454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic meets cool as Hilton Chicago embarks upon a $150 million renovation in celebration of our 85th birthday. The fresh, new vibe inspired by traditional, design rich elements pulls its inspiration from the hotel’s original architecture and intertwines a dynamic and contemporary spin. With the renovation underway, the hotel has already introduced over 400 new guest rooms, 13 new hospitality suites, a new technologically versatile Grab & Go – SNAX and a new restaurant with private dining space and bar – 720 South Bar & Grill. The new contemporary guestrooms have been cultivated with ornamental lacquer finishes, soft leather and rich, bronze wood detailing accented by a cool color palette of velvet and silk textured accents. Guestroom media capabilities include a 37 inch flat screen television, in room touch concierge panel, HCN Navigator computer and wireless and wired internet access. Following a day exploring Chicago, decompress at the largest Chicago hotel athletic club with running track, take a dip in our indoor pool facility or catch some rays on our sundeck during the spring and summer months.Located on Michigan Avenue in the South Loop, the Hilton Chicago is 1.6 miles to McCormick Place, along the Shuttle Route to McCormick Place and the first stop on the returning route from the convention center. Directly across the street from Grant Park and walking distance to Millennium Park, Buckingham Fountain, Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum, Adler Planetarium, Lake Michigan, Buddy Guy’s Legends, South Loop dining and art galleries, Museum of Contemporary Photography, The “Loop” – Chicago’s Financial district, State Street Shopping, Soldier Field as well as two short “L” stops to Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Chicago Hilton Hotel
Hilton Towers Chicago
Hilton Chgo Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.