We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Chicago to your Saves list
Hilton Chicago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   720 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605 (Downtown / The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Drive into Summer & Save
Ranked #96 of 179 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersSilver level
Thousand Oaks, California, USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Huge room with 2 bathrooms made this lady traveller very happy!

Loved the little market "Snax" on the main floor. Made it super easy to grab some steel cut oatmeal and a coffee quickly before heading out on business.

Also got great service at the 720 Bar. Bar server remembered us each night and took great care of us, even returning a less than stellar manhattan for another without hesitation.

See you next year!

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. It was a pleasure to read your comments and to learn of your positive experience with the Hilton Chicago.
We have a long and hard earned reputation for guest satisfaction and it is always good to know that our hotel is meeting the expectations that our guests come to expect and deserve.

We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,118
    1,073
    643
    264
    116
See reviews for
616
572
171
1,346
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (810)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Clean, quiet hotel. Convenient location to the Loop. Great service; very good food. Although the room furnishings are dated, everything was clean and in good condition. And although the hotel was hosting a large convention when I stayed, I did not notice the large numbers of other guests at any point -- i.e., no congestion in the elevators or restaurants, and my room was still very quiet. I'd be highly likelyl to return to the hotel next time I'm in Chicago.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. It was a pleasure to read your comments and to learn of your positive experience with the Hilton Chicago.
We have a long and hard earned reputation for guest satisfaction and it is always good to know that our hotel is meeting the expectations that our guests come to expect and deserve.

We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Central Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I'm finishing up a three-night stay at this hotel, and I must say that the hotel itself is very, very nice for an old hotel. Even renovated old hotels can still seem gross (I'm looking at you, Adam's Mark in St. Louis) but not this one. Everything seems in tip-top shape. I checked in early so they didn't have my king bed room ready, but it was just me so I said a room with two double beds was fine.

Very, very comfortable. I slept like a baby all three nights. The bed was great. The pillows were great. They had plenty of layers of bedding but NO gross never-washed comforter or bedspread.

Mild annoyances: you can get free wifi at Starbucks and most cheaper motels--why nickel and dime me for Internet? It was $13 a day or $32.50 for a week. Jeez! It's the 21st century, Hilton--buy a few wireless routers and eat the cost.

The television has a typical menu-based system when you turn it on. The first selection is new movies (that you have to pay for), then next one over is PORN, then kids TV, Japan TV (or something like that) and you have to scroll all the way to the next screen just to watch actual television. I get that you want people to spend money on premium content, but really? Just wanted to watch some football.

They also have this goofy, clunky touch screen "HCN navigator" thing that is hard to use, doesn't give useful information (like "when is checkout time?"), and offers you a web browser that (wait for it) you have to PAY for. It just takes up space on the desk.

Speaking of the desk, the chair that comes with the desk is not an office chair, and is squishy and WAY too low to be comfortable to use as a desk chair. Again, for $250 a night, get me a halfway decent office chair to sit in. Gosh, maybe my four stars is too high...

Bathroom was spotless and updated. The rest of the hotel was gorgeous. I didn't use the exercise rooms or anything.

TIP: Don't wait in the line at the cab stand on Michigan Avenue outside the hotel. Walk a half-block north and catch one at the corner -- we did that all three nights and had a cab in seconds.

I'd stay here again for business if I had to. Personally, I doubt I could afford to stay here on my own money.

Overall, nice, clean, modern hotel.

Green Features: Oh, they had a paper bag for recyclables, which I thought was a nice touch. Had a few beers in the room and it was nice to not just throw the can in the garbage.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
275 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

The rooms are very old, but they are tastefully updated and with modern conveniences. It was a good balance and overall comfortable. It was a little crowded and hectic when booking a room when there is a major conference booked in the hotel. We liked the service of the executive floor, but it got crazy when the lounge was packed with HHonors people trying to get a free breakfast.

Good restaurants and good service, but the price is a little compared to the competing hotels and restaurants nearby. The views of Lake Michigan are excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed two nights in mid-September and were not very impressed with the hotel. The hotel is next to Grant Park, which was nice, but the hotel is far from restaurants and shops. Lou Malnati's Pizzeria (yum) was very close, as well as Buddy Guy's Legends, but everything else was a hike. Check-in was ok as we were able to use the Hilton Honors line, however guests before us received bottled water and we did not - maybe they were gold members? There was iced tea and lemonade set up in the lobby near check-in, which was a nice touch.

The room really didn't seem up to par for being a 4 star hotel. There was no refrigerator and our room didn't appear to have a safe. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean, so nothing really to complain about - I just thought it would be nicer. I used the hotel's gym, as it was raining out. They charge $15 a day to use the facilities - unless you're higher than a Blue Honor's member. They had water for sale - $15 doesn't even include a lousy bottle of water. There was plenty of equipment and it was clean though. The staff that we encountered seemed nice and were helpful, but the overall stay was a little disappointing as far as the hotel's location and room amenities.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments as it relates to your recent stay. Please accept my sincerest apology for your disappointments in regard to your room accommodations and the added charges. Please be assured, the Hilton Chicago works hard to maintain one of the most competitive pricings for the downtown area
Please allow me to take his opportunity to inform you that we recently underwent a renovations project that included a restaurant, lounge, SNAX our new grab and go store and some of our guestrooms. These new exciting changes to guestrooms included amenities such as an in-room safe and a refrigerator. We have future renovations planned as well, more guestrooms, fitness center, meeting rooms and Kitty O’sheas.
We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,

Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Ground WA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

What a great old hotel!! This was my first time in downtown Chicago, and the location of the Hilton is perfect! Museums, restaurants, parks, and much more are just foot steps away. The employees/service at this hotel were top notch, and the Lakeview room from our room was beautiful. Thank you for a great stay Chicago Hilton!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed here as a family for the 2013 Chicago Marathon. The hotel staff was fabulous! The concierge was so helpful booking dinner reservations. The staff was extremely accommodating given our early rising schedule and so supportive of the runners. The reason I did not rate this a 5 was due to no safe in the room, being right on the subway route - meaning could hear it pass by regularly, and the price of the hotel.

Room Tip: Request to be on the Michigan Ave side of the hotel. The back side is on the train tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hilton Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Chicago

Address: 720 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Chicago
#53 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#60 Family Hotel in Chicago
#78 Business Hotel in Chicago
#81 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 1454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic meets cool as Hilton Chicago embarks upon a $150 million renovation in celebration of our 85th birthday. The fresh, new vibe inspired by traditional, design rich elements pulls its inspiration from the hotel’s original architecture and intertwines a dynamic and contemporary spin. With the renovation underway, the hotel has already introduced over 400 new guest rooms, 13 new hospitality suites, a new technologically versatile Grab & Go – SNAX and a new restaurant with private dining space and bar – 720 South Bar & Grill. The new contemporary guestrooms have been cultivated with ornamental lacquer finishes, soft leather and rich, bronze wood detailing accented by a cool color palette of velvet and silk textured accents. Guestroom media capabilities include a 37 inch flat screen television, in room touch concierge panel, HCN Navigator computer and wireless and wired internet access. Following a day exploring Chicago, decompress at the largest Chicago hotel athletic club with running track, take a dip in our indoor pool facility or catch some rays on our sundeck during the spring and summer months.Located on Michigan Avenue in the South Loop, the Hilton Chicago is 1.6 miles to McCormick Place, along the Shuttle Route to McCormick Place and the first stop on the returning route from the convention center. Directly across the street from Grant Park and walking distance to Millennium Park, Buckingham Fountain, Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum, Adler Planetarium, Lake Michigan, Buddy Guy’s Legends, South Loop dining and art galleries, Museum of Contemporary Photography, The “Loop” – Chicago’s Financial district, State Street Shopping, Soldier Field as well as two short “L” stops to Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Chicago Hilton Hotel
Hilton Towers Chicago
Hilton Chgo Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.