We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in prime location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Chicago to your Saves list
Hilton Chicago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   720 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Cyber Parking Savings!
Ranked #90 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersSilver level
Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel in prime location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My stay at the Hilton Chicago over Labor Day weekend was great. I had a corner room on a high floor and had great views of Lake Michigan. The location was not too far from restaurants and shopping. I had access to the Executive Lounge and the breakfast was nice with a variety of options.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    928
    931
    559
    232
    101
See reviews for
518
493
158
1,135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (702)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hudsonville, Michigan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The stay we had at the Hilton in Chicago was just ok , i had called ahead before we went and we were quoted for parking was $20.00 a day but when we got there we where charge $52.00 a day
wow what a big difference and the Hotel would not do anything to help us, so our weekend away was deeply hamper do to money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. Please accept our sincere apology for your disappointing experience as it relates to the additional parking charges. I was very disappointed to hear you were quoted incorrectly prior to your arrival which caused a damper in your weekend stay.
Please be assured, we work hard to maintain one of the most competitive pricing for the downtown area so that we may bring any additional saving to all of our valued guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to serve you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Staying at this hotel is generally over $250 per night thus my expectations were a little higher than a budget motel. I would like to emphasize that staff was helpful and work hard at doing their jobs. However when it comes to technology, I do not understand how this property investors attract any convention business. When I tried to connect my laptop with an HDMI cable to the room TV, I was unable to do it even when they sent a maintenance person to work on it. Perhaps they do this believing that if guests cannot connect their computers they'll be compelled to buy their TV programming. They hide the original remotes which generally give access to changing inputs. I understand they have their own policies but what is wrong with keeping an original remote at the front desk and allowing guests to check them out as needed. I called this an unnecessary inconvenience and lack of vision on the property owner’s vision. Wireless connection was also very bad; there were certificate issues for the group meeting connection, WiFi kept disconnecting which made me lose my work several times. So if you are planning to do any work on your computer you should reconsider your stay.

Room Tip: Double rooms are spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. Please accept our sincerest apology for your disappointments during your stay especially, as it relates to your experience with the TV programming and internet access.
Our goal is to always provide the finest in guest services and from what I understand we failed to do so during your stay. Please be assured, feedback such as yours enables us to focus on opportunities for improvements. I have discussed the issues noted
We look forward to welcoming you back to serve you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I stayed here for a conference. This supposedly five-star hotel is completely overpriced and overrated. For over $250 a night, the room (a so-called Executive Suite -- I have a hard time imagining any self-respecting executive staying here) is TINY, the bathroom even tinier. The hair-dryer didn't work, the wifi cost extra (when free wifi is almost ubiquitous), and the bathroom vent fan was broke the entire three nights we were there. We called for maintenance for the fan the first day but nobody ever showed up. The front desk staff are not only highly unfriendly (talking to you without a trace of smile or warmth) but also completely incompetent. My roommate and I split the charges and she checked out a day after I did. Guess what, I was charged TWICE (for both my portion and her portion), while she was already charged for her portion. Like, seriously? I'd stayed at Motel 6 and similar low-end places, and none of them ever messed things up like these people.

I will never stay at Hilton again unless it's fully paid by someone else. Period.

Room Tip: Executive Suite ain't what it sounds like. Beware!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments.
Clearly we fell short in meeting your expectations and our normal high standards during your visit and for this I sincerely apologize. It is evident that there were a number of issues you experienced which caused you disappointment of the Hilton Chicago. Please know we take feedback such as yours very seriously and use the information to focus on opportunities for improvement and/or training.
Again, please accept my sincerest apologies for your disappointments especially; as it relates to the executive suite and the level of service you received from the Front Office staff. Please be assured, your experience is not typical standards of the Hilton Chicago and that I have personally spoke to the heads of the departments to ensure such incidents are not repeated.
We look forward to welcoming you back to serve you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I stayed here for a conference recently and ended up in a suite on the 22nd floor overlooking Lake Michigan. It was tempting just to stay in the room. Staff here are friendly and efficient, even offering help with my dead cellphone. A great location, near museums and shopping.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We have stayed in a few of the hiltons and believe this was one of their best ones. We had a junior suite which was big, spacious and very comfortable. The bed and pillows were just right. Perfectly located opposite Lake Michigan, perfect location for all the shops, attractions and bus trips etc. The hotel is stunning, has the most beautiful ballroom we have ever seen.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardsville, Illinois
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Full of old charm, although somewhat awkward in that they have tried to modernize. We stayed on an executive level (24) in an older room. Amazing view (rm.2178) of buckingham fountain, the lake, and navy pier. The big bonus, two bathrooms! Concierge was amazing and sooooo helpful, what a highlight! I would recommend, although for $235/night I would choose closer to north Michigan avenue the next time.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Chicago

Address: 720 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in Chicago
#47 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#65 Family Hotel in Chicago
#77 Business Hotel in Chicago
#77 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 1454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic meets cool as Hilton Chicago embarks upon a $150 million renovation in celebration of our 85th birthday. The fresh, new vibe inspired by traditional, design rich elements pulls its inspiration from the hotel’s original architecture and intertwines a dynamic and contemporary spin. With the renovation underway, the hotel has already introduced over 400 new guest rooms, 13 new hospitality suites, a new technologically versatile Grab & Go – SNAX and a new restaurant with private dining space and bar – 720 South Bar & Grill. The new contemporary guestrooms have been cultivated with ornamental lacquer finishes, soft leather and rich, bronze wood detailing accented by a cool color palette of velvet and silk textured accents. Guestroom media capabilities include a 37 inch flat screen television, in room touch concierge panel, HCN Navigator computer and wireless and wired internet access. Following a day exploring Chicago, decompress at the largest Chicago hotel athletic club with running track, take a dip in our indoor pool facility or catch some rays on our sundeck during the spring and summer months.Located on Michigan Avenue in the South Loop, the Hilton Chicago is 1.6 miles to McCormick Place, along the Shuttle Route to McCormick Place and the first stop on the returning route from the convention center. Directly across the street from Grant Park and walking distance to Millennium Park, Buckingham Fountain, Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum, Adler Planetarium, Lake Michigan, Buddy Guy’s Legends, South Loop dining and art galleries, Museum of Contemporary Photography, The “Loop” – Chicago’s Financial district, State Street Shopping, Soldier Field as well as two short “L” stops to Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Chicago Hilton Hotel
Hilton Towers Chicago
Hilton Chgo Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.