We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Chicago to your Saves list
Hilton Chicago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   720 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605 (Downtown / The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - from $159
Ranked #93 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersSilver level
A TripAdvisor Member
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed at Hilton Chicago for 25th anniversary, and booked a lakeview room. Everthing was great except the window was so dirty that there was no view. Even though the hotel seemed busy, the room was very quiet, so they must have great insulation. Bed was good, everything was clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,055
    1,019
    615
    252
    109
See reviews for
585
547
166
1,257
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (769)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This particular location on Michigan Ave South is close to the lake and Millenium Park. If you're a walker, you can get to most of the main attractions easily. The rooms are smallish and the view (unless you pay an upgrade) is essentially looking into another room across the alcove. There are larger suites and rooms with a view of the lake but they cost more (as expected). We stayed on the Executive Floors but don't get too excited about the morning continental breakfast or the evening hors d'oeuvres that are included in your room price (approx $220 US per night). You will get the exact same thing every day - fruit cocktail, muffins, bagels, cereal, oatmeal and cold hard boiled eggs. Oh yes, and sweet pastries too. Evening offerings weren't very exciting either - cheese and crackers and a warm pastry-wrapped item. The rooms are in need of a reno and the staff is somewhat friendly but it depends on who you connect with. It's a busy hotel with many large groups. Indoor pool is free for all guests but if you want to use the fitness facility (which is really nice) you have to either be on the Executive Floors or pay an entry fee.

Room Tip: Elevators can be difficult to get at regular busy times of day (e.g. first thing in the morning) so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

First time visitors to Chicago, on vacation to check out the downtown waterfront and attractions.

Positives:
Great location on South Michigan Ave. (Within walking distance to Millenium Park, Art Institute of Chicago, Field Museum, Navy Pier, Magnificent Mile.) It’s a relatively quiet area, across from greenspace, yet easy access to points of interest.
Good amenities on-site. The indoor pool / outdoor sundeck / fitness centre on the 8th floor was excellent. The Irish Pub, Kitty O’Sheas has a sidewalk patio. Iit was great. There is also a lobby restaurant and a nice modern bar and a cafeteria style restaurant, and a convenience store. One block to wine and liquor store.
Good value for the room rate.
There is a lot of history in this hotel. It’s worth checking out the little exhibit near the main enterance.

Negatives:
Our room was a dated (the décor, bathroom fixtures, etc). It could definitely use a reno. However the room did have a newer TV and a desktop computer (for hotel information. Internet available at an added cost.)
Because of the configuration of the hotel, many rooms have a view of other rooms. If the view is important, you would have to pay a premium for a lake view room.
We asked for a late checkout because of a late flight leaving Chicago in the evening. The lady at the Front Desk gave the impression that she had no interest in accomodating us (even though we had just stayed in the hotel for 5 days). We had to check out by noon, even though the hotel was only 75% full. Many hotels will go out of their way to accommodate you with a later checkout in these situations.

Other:
Some of the staff were great, including Front Desk, Bellmen, Pool/Fitness. Some others were not, including Front Desk, Bellmen.
We found the “EL” (subway/rail) convenient and easy to use, even on our first trip to Chicago. We used this to travel from/to O’Hare airport, and also to go to Wrigley Field and U.S. Cellular Field.
We checked out the other Hilton nearby (Palmer House Hilton). The lobby was amazing, but I can’t comment on that hotel otherwise. The location there was a busier/noisier, but closer to shopping.
Chicago is an amazing city. Will definitely return for another vacation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Even if you do not normally stay at hotels of this type, this hotel should be experienced. The decor, the service, the ammenities are all top of the line. A room with a view of Grant park,Buckingham fountain,Lake Michigan and other sites, warrent a visit, and well worth the price. Staying at this hotel should be on everyones "to do" list.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My stay over a long weekend for the American Library Association annual meeting was nice and uneventful. Temperatures in the hotel area were in the balmy 70s with full sun all day. This, compared to a string of 117F degrees in my home city of Las Vegas, was a welcome bonus. I tried to extend my stay for another few days, but Southwest Air wanted $303 on top of my $200+ pre-paid ticket, for any change. There were plenty of vacant seats, too. 
The Hilton is a typical, old style city hotel that serves business and pleasure travelers, alike. My room on the 15th floor was specious, clean and functional. 
The negative things noted include having a room with the windows all looking out onto the other tower(?) leaving a non-view of anything, but a build side. Cavernous space that served to pickup the louder city sounds including the rumbling of what I guess is the elevated train going around "The Loop."
One surprise was the lack of any information in the room on hotel facilities that you normally find in any hotel . I did not see the restaurant until my last morning.
There is a weird, nearly unusable, electronic device on the room's desk that probably is supposed to replace paper. Do not depend on this for much, although, with difficulty, I did use it for my airline boarding pass that prints out in the lobby.
Be prepared for several taxes on your room rate and a $13.00 per day for Internet use, if you use it. The small snack shop has good food, although prices are even higher than those at Starbucks.
The two stops on the trains to and from Midway Airport are in walking distance during good weather, if you are in reasonably good condition, have no small children with you and only little (rolling) luggage. The cost is low at around $2.50 each way. That's considerably below any other means of transportation to the airports and probably safer and faster, as well. The Roosevelt stop is closest to hotel. Go out 8th St hotel exit, turn right, walk half block, turn left and walk to Roosevelt. (Double check these directions)
Too bad the hotel(s) don't have free shuttle transportation to the airports, or at least to the train
This hotel is not within walking distance of most of the 
places you might want to visit, although there are nice walking/biking paths in Grant Park between Michigan Ave and Lake Michigan. I took the long walk to the Chicago River front where you can go on sightseeing boat trips on the river and lake and return via Michigan Ave. Check for bus routes to other attractions, but can fares seemed reasonable to me.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This hotel is pricey but, since you are on Michigan Ave., you are within walking distance of the area attractions so it is well worth the price! The view from our window was spectacular as you could see Grant Park and the fountain as well as Lake Michigan, the Navy Pier, the Field Museum, Shedd Aquarium, etc.! The rooms are comfortable and the entry and lobby are beautiful!

Room Tip: Pay a little more to get a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed here for a conference recently and it was a great experience. The location was fantastic. I got one of the executive rooms and it was clean, spacious, and comfortable. Plus there were two bathrooms so my partner and I didn't have to share! I was able to get everything I needed right there, nice little coffee shop, good spaces to meet up with colleagues, the park right across the street.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Chicago

Address: 720 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Chicago
#48 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#60 Family Hotel in Chicago
#78 Business Hotel in Chicago
#81 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 1454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic meets cool as Hilton Chicago embarks upon a $150 million renovation in celebration of our 85th birthday. The fresh, new vibe inspired by traditional, design rich elements pulls its inspiration from the hotel’s original architecture and intertwines a dynamic and contemporary spin. With the renovation underway, the hotel has already introduced over 400 new guest rooms, 13 new hospitality suites, a new technologically versatile Grab & Go – SNAX and a new restaurant with private dining space and bar – 720 South Bar & Grill. The new contemporary guestrooms have been cultivated with ornamental lacquer finishes, soft leather and rich, bronze wood detailing accented by a cool color palette of velvet and silk textured accents. Guestroom media capabilities include a 37 inch flat screen television, in room touch concierge panel, HCN Navigator computer and wireless and wired internet access. Following a day exploring Chicago, decompress at the largest Chicago hotel athletic club with running track, take a dip in our indoor pool facility or catch some rays on our sundeck during the spring and summer months.Located on Michigan Avenue in the South Loop, the Hilton Chicago is 1.6 miles to McCormick Place, along the Shuttle Route to McCormick Place and the first stop on the returning route from the convention center. Directly across the street from Grant Park and walking distance to Millennium Park, Buckingham Fountain, Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum, Adler Planetarium, Lake Michigan, Buddy Guy’s Legends, South Loop dining and art galleries, Museum of Contemporary Photography, The “Loop” – Chicago’s Financial district, State Street Shopping, Soldier Field as well as two short “L” stops to Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Chicago Hilton Hotel
Hilton Towers Chicago
Hilton Chgo Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.