We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for the money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 17 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Chicago to your Saves list
Hilton Chicago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   720 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Cyber Parking Savings!
Ranked #94 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersSilver level
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great location for the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Awesome historical hotel beautifully decorated. Stayed one night in a king standard room but when the a/c failed to work they moved us up to the newly remodeled 12th floor. Room was nicely decorated in a modern fashion and for our troubles they gave us 2 free tickets to breakfast. Only went because it was free, above average buffet food but at $21.00 per person...again went because it was a comp. the irish bar on premise is standard. Has an applebees feel to it. Worst of all they dont sell irish car bombs due to management mandate. Overall great place. Would stay at another hilton downtown next time to try something new, would def recommend to friends

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    894
    909
    548
    221
    101
See reviews for
500
481
152
1,104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (691)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Basel
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This hotel is a good and practical hotel. It has many amenities in its location such as FedEx or a nice pub AND a starbucks where you can have a nice breakfast. The location is convenient and the staff very friendly. Very nice spa with Sauna and a huge swimming pool.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisle, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I had some last minute guest who stayed with me in my room which had two double beds. I was unaware that the room only had a capacity of 2. I was charged $50 additional for the 2 extra guests in both rooms ($100 total). I did not find this out until a few days later when I check my bank account and saw the with drawl. The invoice placed under my door did not have the additional charges, nor did the check out screen on the computer. If this is the rule that is understandable but to not be aware of the charge other than following up on my own.....This was very disappointing for me to see that I had no warning or alert of any kind. You just charged the card.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonawanda
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I can't complain everything was great except maid threw away a blanket and no microwaves. buffet was excellent along with all service aspect with staff which included everyone from the front door, customer services. just sad along with kid blanket was thrown away and there was nothing that could have been done supposedly garbage was taken out all ready. but maids didn't understand english so not sure they even understood what to look for. again, only bad thing for the weekend and a crying kid for hours at bed time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanford, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

The building is nice, very nice indeed. I took a lot of pictures with the interiors. I still do not understand why more expensive hotels still chrage for Wifi but since that is the standard for now, I have no complaints.

We asked for something and the housekeeping person brought it to us, but she was pretty rude and acted as if we should not have interrupted her life. Everything else is very good though. Other housekeepers greeted us in the morning and we felt really welcome here.

The location is quite good, not that great though. It is far from the busy North Michigan but you can take 1 bus ride and you get there. In the morning, you should walk down two blocks to eat at Yolk!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
St. Louis, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Clean, neat, historic hotel on South Michigan Avenue. Proximity to the museums is perfect. No issues whatsoever during my stay. I would recommend to anyone. Simply put, you get what you pay for. I use the hotel for business trips on a regular basis and have yet to experience a let down in what I expect from a brand such as Hilton.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We attended the Abraham Lincoln Library Foundation Lincoln Prize event on May 4 at the Chicago Hilton at 720 South Michigan Avenue. Everything about our stay was fantantic - wonderful staff, beautiful room with a view, tremendous event, great relaxation at Kitty O'Shea's afterwords and easy arrival and departure. This is one of the finest hotels in the world!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Chicago

Address: 720 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in Chicago
#47 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#62 Family Hotel in Chicago
#80 Business Hotel in Chicago
#80 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 1454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic meets cool as Hilton Chicago embarks upon a $150 million renovation in celebration of our 85th birthday. The fresh, new vibe inspired by traditional, design rich elements pulls its inspiration from the hotel’s original architecture and intertwines a dynamic and contemporary spin. With the renovation underway, the hotel has already introduced over 400 new guest rooms, 13 new hospitality suites, a new technologically versatile Grab & Go – SNAX and a new restaurant with private dining space and bar – 720 South Bar & Grill. The new contemporary guestrooms have been cultivated with ornamental lacquer finishes, soft leather and rich, bronze wood detailing accented by a cool color palette of velvet and silk textured accents. Guestroom media capabilities include a 37 inch flat screen television, in room touch concierge panel, HCN Navigator computer and wireless and wired internet access. Following a day exploring Chicago, decompress at the largest Chicago hotel athletic club with running track, take a dip in our indoor pool facility or catch some rays on our sundeck during the spring and summer months.Located on Michigan Avenue in the South Loop, the Hilton Chicago is 1.6 miles to McCormick Place, along the Shuttle Route to McCormick Place and the first stop on the returning route from the convention center. Directly across the street from Grant Park and walking distance to Millennium Park, Buckingham Fountain, Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum, Adler Planetarium, Lake Michigan, Buddy Guy’s Legends, South Loop dining and art galleries, Museum of Contemporary Photography, The “Loop” – Chicago’s Financial district, State Street Shopping, Soldier Field as well as two short “L” stops to Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Otel, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Reservation Counter, Agoda, Venere, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Chicago Hilton Hotel
Hilton Towers Chicago
Hilton Chgo Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.