We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that impressive!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Chicago to your Saves list
Hilton Chicago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   720 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605 (Downtown / The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - from $159
Ranked #93 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
“Not that impressive!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

You pay too much and get too little. Poor customer service. You pay for everything. And everything is sooo expensive. You pay for parking, wi-fi, fridge,gym and even local calls they charge $1.50/local call. Room is disappointing from what you expect from what you pay. They charge sooo much for room service or whatever you buy inside is waaay over priced. Crappy toiletries. And when you phone front desk to ask something as simple as a bag of tea or bottle opener it takes them more than half an hour. I'd rather stay somewhere else and get my money's worth!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMcArdle, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Please accept our sincerest apology for any disappointments you experienced. We have had mixed reviews on our renovations and we are sorry to hear you found the room depressing and did not enjoy the layout of your guestroom.
Please be assured, we work hard to maintain one of the most competitive pricings for the downtown area which enables us to pass along the best possible savings to all our valued guests on amenities such as luggage, laundry and internet just to mention a few. Also, please allow me the opportunity to inform you that as of January 1, 2012, we started offering free internet in our lobby area and restaurants.

We truly hope you will allow us future opportunity to serve you again in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,

Damien G. McArdle
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,054
    1,018
    615
    252
    109
See reviews for
585
547
166
1,255
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (768)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

So we stayed here for our recent trip to Chicago to do our annual marathon. We have stayed here for the marathon before, and also once will visiting the city. I remembered than it wasn't the best stay from previous trips, but this time I was compelled to write this review. As far as location for the marathon, it can't be beat! Walk right out the hotel door to the start corrals. If you are not here for the marathon, there are hotels with much better proximity (walkable) to restaurants, etc.
The most discouraging thing about this hotel really is the overall lack in quality backed by staff that really just seem to have the attitude that "I just work here". There are no mini fridges in the rooms anymore, but you can get one for $40. Need a cot? Sure, for $45. Wifi, not included, but you can pay $10 if you really want it. Our bathtub didn't drain properly, and neither did the bathroom sink. There is no bath fan in the bathrooms, and it looks like mold is beginning to accumulate. I normally wouldn't be the kind of person to write a negative review, but the Hilton really seems to be declining. Add on charges any place the can find one, poor maintenance, and uncaring staff have made it clear that I will never stay there again, despite the excellent location for a Chicago Marathoner...

Room Tip: Consider a different hotel altogether... Really, I'm not jaded, it was just that bad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMcArdle, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Please accept our sincerest apology for the disappointments you experienced during your recent stay. It appears that we fell short in meeting or exceeding your expectations and for this we sincerely apologize.
Please know we have a long and hard earned reputation for guests’ satisfaction and we take comments such as yours very seriously especially, your disappointment with regard our staff.
Please be assured, we also work hard to maintain one of the most competitive pricings for the downtown area so that we can pass along the best possible savings to our guests. Please allow me the opportunity to inform you that we know staying connected is very important therefore, as of January 1, 2012, we started offering free internet in our lobby area and restaurants.

We truly hope you will allow us future opportunity to serve you again in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Damien G. McArdle
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We booked this room at a premium since we were staying for the Chicago Marathon. But the service, room, and convenience were well worth the price. We were put in an executive floor (22). The views weren't amazing, but were nice enough. The room was very well appointed. I only wish that housekeeping had provided four bathtowels rather than three. But the towels were impressively fluffy!

The room was large enough to hold two queens rather than two doubles, which would have been nice. I liked the in-room computer, which made up for being charged for in-room Wifi. I couldn't access everything I wanted, but could find places to eat and transportation information.

I greatly appreciated the Snax to Go cafe in the lobby so that we could grab food on our way out the door, or could have a meal without having to sit down in a restaurant. I wish there were more seating in the area, however.

Overall, it was convenient and lovely, and I would stay there again for the marathon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My husband is a Hilton Honours member and we have stayed in several Hilton hotels now for both business and pleasure, including Rome Cavalieri, London Bridge, Paris La Defense, Hilton Malta, Hilton Berlin and Hilton Metropole Brighton. And, as good as Chicago may look online due to the sheer size of it, this was sadly the most disappointing. A real shame as Chicago is such a great city and we expected more.

We were in town to go to the marathon and upon arrival the place is impressive - the entrance is very grand. We were offered an upgrade to a King suite, lake view and whilst very happy at first, we were soon disappointed by how dated and old the interior of our room and indeed the whole floor was. Old brown swirly carpet, a stale smell to the room, old brown furnishings, corny marble lamps, an old bath that was about a foot deep very short in length, bad wallpaper everywhere, awful brown and gold curtains... it really failed to impress. There was a fridge but an empty one; 'they don't have mini bars in this hotel'. (Very odd for such a big hotel in such a grand city) and no bathrobes, slippers etc. These things aren't necessary to enjoy a hotel (bathrobes) but I have had them in lesser graded rooms in smaller hotels, so this was a bit disappointing. Especially as it was just over $500 per night!

As a Hilton Honours, we have also been used to a bottle of water being left in the room, maybe with a complimentary jar of nuts or sweets with a welcome note... but nothing was left here. Again, for $500 per night you would expect something.

There is actually one floor of the hotel that has been updated and one bar, but that is only one floor ... out of about 24!

The Executive Lounge was poor. The continental breakfast was not continental ... cereals were kids cereals, some bagels, dry muffins and small pastries. A bit of cut melon and some oatmeal. No yoghurt, no meats, cheeses, eggs, tomatoes etc etc. Again, the furniture and decor was old and seriously out of date, and just all felt a bit scruffy, especially for an Executive Lounge where you would expect more... and again, considering the prices of the rooms.

The pool and gym are nice, and the changing facilities adequate but still rather dated.

I should imagine that in its day, this was all very grand but not so now. It certainly needs a facelift and for the money, a lot better service and additional touches. We wanted to love this hotel but it fell short of the mark for the cost.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for the more contemporary rooms on Floor 14!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMcArdle, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear your husband is a HHonors member! Please accept our sincerest apology for any disappointments you experience during your stay especially with regard to your guestroom accommodations and the Executive Lounge. It appears that we fell short in exceeding your expectations and for this we sincerely apologize. Please be assured, we value your feedback, comments such as yours enables us to focus on opportunity for improvements.

Earlier this year, we began renovations of various areas throughout the hotel with future renovations planned. Please visit us again and come enjoy one of our newly renovated rooms with added amenities such as a refrigerator and in-room safe.

We hope you will afford us future opportunity to serve you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,

Damien G. McArdle
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

If you like something grand from the last Century, this is a must-stay hotel in Chicago. I would not stay more than 2-3 nights and without Club access, where my parents munched most of their breakfasts for free, costs can mount quickly.

Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed here the weekend of Chicago Marathon and the hotel was sold out. I asked for a quiet room on a renovated floor and got a corner room with lake view on floor 9. Everything was very nice in the room, the renovations are really classy.

The downsides was the traffic noise from Michigan Ave mostly all night. The cab drivers park there and yell and honk horns constantly. The hotel staff often whistles loudly to signal them. This noise is very noticeable as the windows are thin and also drafty. I had to use a white noise app on my iPhone to get to sleep. The windows on the lake side should really be replaced with thicker glass that closes properly. At least I didn't hear anyone throughout the halls as I was on the corner.

I liked the design and furnishings in the room, service from the front desk, the Executive lounge, and the food/drink options at the small store off the lobby. This place had everything from beer and wine to gelato, pizzas, subs, snacks, candy...all at really good prices. The Irish Pub looked to be packed each night, however we didn't check it out since we had to run the race. There are multiple bars in the hotel but none have the NFL Sunday Ticket.

Room Tip: Ask for your preference when it comes to the rooms - lake view, remodeled or not, one or two bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Expensive £300+ per night for Lake View No free wi-fi or in room safe. We paid extra for high floor, corner room . Lake view is worth the extra but basic rate is high. Busy hotel, we stayed marathon weekend which started/finished in Grant Park opposite hotel so ideal location for us. However we stayed at Amalfi Hotel one hight before (see separate review) which offers better value. Room and bed comfortable bathroom good plenty of space. Good TV but in house computerised information system not good. Coffee shop okay, restaurant okay no fine dining. Location good but southern end of Magnificient Mile. Enjoyed our stay but you pay for it.

Room Tip: You have to pay for good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Chicago

Address: 720 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Chicago
#48 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#60 Family Hotel in Chicago
#78 Business Hotel in Chicago
#81 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 1454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic meets cool as Hilton Chicago embarks upon a $150 million renovation in celebration of our 85th birthday. The fresh, new vibe inspired by traditional, design rich elements pulls its inspiration from the hotel’s original architecture and intertwines a dynamic and contemporary spin. With the renovation underway, the hotel has already introduced over 400 new guest rooms, 13 new hospitality suites, a new technologically versatile Grab & Go – SNAX and a new restaurant with private dining space and bar – 720 South Bar & Grill. The new contemporary guestrooms have been cultivated with ornamental lacquer finishes, soft leather and rich, bronze wood detailing accented by a cool color palette of velvet and silk textured accents. Guestroom media capabilities include a 37 inch flat screen television, in room touch concierge panel, HCN Navigator computer and wireless and wired internet access. Following a day exploring Chicago, decompress at the largest Chicago hotel athletic club with running track, take a dip in our indoor pool facility or catch some rays on our sundeck during the spring and summer months.Located on Michigan Avenue in the South Loop, the Hilton Chicago is 1.6 miles to McCormick Place, along the Shuttle Route to McCormick Place and the first stop on the returning route from the convention center. Directly across the street from Grant Park and walking distance to Millennium Park, Buckingham Fountain, Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum, Adler Planetarium, Lake Michigan, Buddy Guy’s Legends, South Loop dining and art galleries, Museum of Contemporary Photography, The “Loop” – Chicago’s Financial district, State Street Shopping, Soldier Field as well as two short “L” stops to Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Chicago Hilton Hotel
Hilton Towers Chicago
Hilton Chgo Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.