We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was robbed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Chicago Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Chicago Downtown to your Saves list
Travelodge Chicago Downtown
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 East Harrison Street, Wabash St & Harrison St, Chicago, IL 60605 (The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #121 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
South Bend
1 review
“I was robbed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We had several items stolen from our room and a broke TV without any signs of forced entry. Had HOUSEKEEPING call us and tell us they mysteriously found ONE of them a day later. Now they're ignoring us

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    324
    408
    167
    119
See reviews for
226
258
121
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brownsville, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I went with my cousin and it was nice to stay in if you want to be close by downtown area. There was no breakfast but oveall good location and beds were comfortable. The metra was a few blocks away and all bus stops were close by too.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEWITT
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I was not impressed with Travelodge's service. The hotel that we stayed at in Chicago took two hours one night to get a hair-dryer to our room and after we put a do not disturb sign on the door (at that point we decided to go to bed) we got woke up at midnight with someone who had finally brought a hair-dryer up (and this was after two calls). Overall, the travelodge is not a place I would choose to stay again. We also were never informed on breakfast times or that it was even an option, and our bed did not have a fitted sheet or mattress pad on it so after a night stay of sleeping the sheet they used to cover the bear mattress, we woke up sleeping on top of a matteress top that many people have slept on, gross to say the least.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Montanta was a pleasure and Gem who should be rewarded as an assets to your company. She was friendly and full of knowledge and was willing to go out of her way to get us information because we were not from Chicago. I wish she would of been the one on duty when we 1st arrived because the guy wasnt much help when we got there. He seemed like he was annoyed that I even asked about early check-in which was at 3pm. I asked if we could come back and check a little later and he stated you can but I wont have a room. I know we got in early buy I did come back about 2pm and he was right, without even checking he stated " I have nothing " So if you think getting there early was an option rethink it because tere not kidding check-in is 3pm and no sooner. The Cubs Convention started at 1pm and because of the room situation we didnt get their until 4:30. Thanks I tried to ask a few question about different kinds of transportation and he acted like he didnt have time for me and was no help what so ever.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Wanted to stay downtown and our travel agent recommend the Travelodge since it was so close to the college. The hotel is OLD - the doorman and desk clerk could not even get us a cab; the lobby is old and worn but then the room was no better so I guess if you want an old hotel we got it. The morning clerk was nice the afternoon girl that checked us in was shy. Hotel Needs a major facelift - the breakfast was ok and the dinner in the hotel was something worse. Maybe the Board of Health needs to inpsect both places DIRTY and not really good hygene. Never again stay here.

Room Tip: select a better hotel -
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAKEWOOD
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Rooms are old and smell dust. The air conditioner made so much noise, we had to turn it off to sleep in silence. The room then got very cold..... you must see we didnt get the very best impression. (Clevland).
In Chicago the room was ok.
I hoope it get better next time...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The Travelodge is one of the cheaper downtown options.... but it is not worth the money that you save. The decor is super old and run down... the window in my room looked out to a building that I could barely see (because the glass was so grungy) even though it was less than 5 feet away. It is in a convenient location... which is pretty much the only thing that is keeping my from giving it a terrible rating instead of poor

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Chicago Downtown

Address: 65 East Harrison Street, Wabash St & Harrison St, Chicago, IL 60605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Chicago Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Wyndham, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Travelodge Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Chicago Travelodge
Chicago Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Chicago Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.