We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Chicago's Essex Inn to your Saves list
Chicago's Essex Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #106 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is the second year I have stayed at the Essex when in Chicago for a conference. It is in an excellent location, was clean and very fairly priced. I would recommend a stay here and will be back! When booking just check to make sure you are in the renovated section.

Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    526
    254
    82
    77
See reviews for
272
358
73
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wausau, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This was a fantastic location and the price was great! The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, check-in and out were simple. The rooms were clean for the most part. The hotel is very centrally located. The only downside was the cost of parking, but knowing how much parking is in the city I guess it wasn't horrible. I would recommend this hotel and for sure stay again if looking for a bargain in a central location!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed at this hotel in October for 4 nights on the 14th floor. Two adults - room was great two queen beds very comfortable. Room was very today and a good amount of room for the two of us and our suitcases. We had a small fridge in the room which was great for a couple of soda cans and water bottles. We also had included wifi which worked well for us. Check in was very fast, we arrived around 830pm on a Saturday night, Staff we were courteous and helpful with restaurant recommendations. Another feature we loved was the laundry. There is two washing machines and two driers located on the 12th floor. We used this for a load or two of washing. Also Wi-Fi was available in the laundry which was great. We checked out the pool and the gym both were very clean and enjoyable. The location of the hotel is great, across from Grant Park. If you were going to Soldiers Field it would be a excellent choice of hotel. The hotel is very close to restaurants -Lou Malnattis, devil dogs & a Peets coffee place on State and 8th street. There is also a 7/11 is behind the hotel on the corner. There is also a trader Joes and a Walgreens a couple of blocks from hotel. Great for stocking up on drinks and snacks. We walked from the hotel along to the Bean and Madison Avenue. As two single females we felt very safe walking around on our own, even at midnight on the way back from a Chicago Blackhawks game. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: We were on 14th floor and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The only thing(s) that kept me from giving this hotel a five-star review were: the inability to control the heat (two settings: "Off" and "Mordor") and the cigarette smoke leaking into the hallway and room.

I slept with the window open to help with both issues. Luckily, it was 45-ish and not a true winter night. I was on a non-smoking floor, so either people were violating the rules or it was drifting up from a smoking floor. Honestly, I should have called the desk to inquire.

Anyway, the good far outweighed the bad.

The bed was firm but comfortable, and I liked the little book lights. The room was decorated in a mix of contemporary and mid-century modern. (See picture of wallpaper and lamp)

The shower and toilet were in a separate room from the sink and vanity, which is always good for couples. One can primp while the other is showering. It's a good design.

The room came with a good-sized fridge, a safe, and free wifi. The free wifi is a bit slow, but you can pay $6 for high-speed. Parking is expensive, but seriously - why are you parking downtown? Park in the 'burbs and take Metra in (or take Amtrak from wherever you live).

Big plus: the hotel is close to the bus lines on Michigan Ave and the Red Line. Also, there is a 7-11 just down 8th St, and it's a safe walk, even at midnight. Getting a cab is really easy too. The concierge is a cab-hailing expert.

The hotel is in a quiet, safe area of the South Loop. If you're on the north side, facing 8th and leave your window open, you'll hear drunk twentysomethings walking from the Red Line to the Hilton. If you're facing Michigan Ave, you'll get some traffic noise, but duh. You're in Chicago. If you can't sleep unless it's 100% quiet, either stay in the suburbs or find a hotel with 40+ stories (though I promise you, you can still hear sirens 40 stories up).

All of the staff I dealt with were friendly and knowledgeable. The night shift clerk was particularly engaging. He handled a few people at once, by himself, and he remained cool, calm, and professional.

Each floor had a different artist theme. I was on the 5th Floor (Chagall), and the room featured one of his paintings.

Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a room on the 15th floor but as served by the lift this was no problem. Rooms large and clean. Staff very helpful and friendly, good budget option in reasonable location. The hotel provided a free shuttle to the christmas market and the magnificent mile. For budget transfers from ohare use the cta train then the bus, it is only $5 per person each way.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel changed hands since Oct and "lost" my reservation. Ended up in a tiny room. No "Lake Michigan" view. View is roof of building next door. Advertised a smoking room; there are none. "King" bed is smaller than my queen at home. Rooms hot, had to open window and listen to El train all night. Despite what website boasts, there is no free shuttle. Only thing going for it is location. Better stays elsewhere, am sure.

Room Tip: Ask for one that is on S. Michigan Ave. Otherwise you will listen to the L train all night. Better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Located across a side street from the Hilton and across the street from Grant Park, it is a good choice for conventions ay McCormick center, walking to cubs games at the stadium, and forays into downtown. The front desk staff was very alert and professional, the guests very cosmopolitan, and the room was clean and well kept. The 5th floor interior rooms look out onto a walkway and into a glass covered pool so there is low privacy without some curtains. The heat/cool system is antiquated but works fine and is not noisy. The building has been renovated to a good standard and the beds were comfortable. The desk staff will refer you to the Brasserie for meals, but will print a walking list to other local restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chicago's Essex Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago's Essex Inn

Address: 800 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#98 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chicago's Essex Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chicago’s Essex Inn is a hotel in downtown Chicago on the Michigan Avenue Cultural Mile that combines breathtaking panoramas of Grant Park, the Museum Campus and Lake Michigan with exciting promotional packages that incorporate famed attractions and events in Chicago.From our steel and glass lobby to contemporary rooms with floor-to-ceiling windows to an all-season rooftop pool, the Essex Inn offers amazing views and amazing value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Chicago's Essex Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago`s Essex Hotel Chicago
Chicagos Essex Hotel
Essex Inn Chicago
Hotel Chicagos Essex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chicago's Essex Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.