We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Chicago's Essex Inn to your Saves list
Chicago's Essex Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   800 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605 (Downtown / The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #118 of 178 Hotels in Chicago
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Helpful Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed at the Essex Inn one night before helping to move our daughter into an apartment in Chicago. The room was clean, but small -- other reviewers have covered this in detail. We did really enjoy the Brasserie bistro that is in the lobby of the hotel -- very good and reasonably priced. We would like to send a special thanks to Erika who was working at the front desk. Our flight was cancelled which meant that we got to Chicago one day later than planned. Erika helped us get the charge for that first night removed from our bill. We appreciate her help. Having a person like her behind the desk is the reason we would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    653
    322
    107
    100
See reviews for
360
441
91
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Tennessee
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

After reading other reviews after booking, I was a bit nervous. I will start off by saying our room was clean and although the air was not controlled by us, we were comfortable the entire time (and I am pregnant on top of behing hot natured).
We chose the Essex because we were looking for an affordable two-room suite near all the tourist attractions. For what we paid I was very pleased with the hotel. Yes, the rooms are a bit small, especially the bathrooms, but we had no plans of spending much time in our room! The staff was friendly and quick to answer questions and deal with any concerns we had. Although the hotel's shuttle service is limited (and hot on the day we used it), the driver is quite accomodating when not busy. We enjoyed the floor to ceiling windows overlooking the sun deck and the lake. The restaurant was also better than I had expected. The breakfast was nice and was a very filling portion.
Feedback for improvement: Pool and fitness center hours were too limited for our lifestyle. Linens in the main bedroom were stained. The proper quantity of towels and wash cloths were not always provided for our family of 5 in a two-room suite.
Overall, we were satisfied with this hotel and would stay there again. We would also recommend this to anyone who is looking for a no frills clean room.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors often have a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Ontario
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Location is close to bus lines/subway and near one of the stop for Hop-on/Hop-off sightseeing bus tours. Room is small but clean. Washroom is also small and there is no hook for your clothes. The pictures on this site show exactly the room/washroom/pool. The pool is indoor and quite big with life guard on duty. There are many machines in the gym to provide a good work out.

WI-FI is extremely slow compared to what i got from other motels. Two internet enabled computers available near the front desk but you have to pay. On-site park is $52 per night and therefore I suggest to find some self parking lots (within 10 minutes) and pay less than half the price.

Room Tip: 4th floor is where the gym and pool is. For some rooms, you can actually see the pool and/or some lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland. UK
Level Contributor
108 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Check in staff good. We upgraded to a king suite without seeing the room we had been allocated and were glad we did as if the bathroom had been any smaller we couldn't have used it. We felt that in the bathroom if bath mat was to be used then door had to be closed and then could not be opened which would be dangerous if someone had a fall in there. Decor out of the 70's, linen clean and bed extremely comfortable, very disappointed that on our last night we were left with a fraction of towels that we'd had the previous nights, not even a bath mat left.
We ate in the Restuarant twice, once for dinner and once for breakfast. Food ok, service slow.
Not a place we would usually book but we weren't given the option as this was a hotel recommended by Virgin.

Room Tip: Book a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

this is a great place, i loved the room, very nice, small but with a nice view on the 10th floor, the bed was so confortable and bathroom very nice, we dint go to the pool or gym but they look nice, te restaurant downstairs was a big plus, and one of the best breackfast i ever had, my wife is agree, so everything is great, location, room, food, value until you have to talk to a human, frontdesk was ok, the server at the restaurant was ok- not big deal, the food made us very happy, so we had to check out and i tried to print my boarding pass, the night auditor person was giving me instructions from his chair telling me what to do insted of come to me and assist me like they suppose to do, but what really made me downgrade this review to 3 stars was when my wife asked him for water and he said go to the bathroom and fill this botlle, ARE YOU KIDDING ME?????? and it was her birthday, we called the hotel but anything was done, no gift ot amenities, NOTHING, im not those king of people asking for something free so didnt do anything for my wife and that is not acceptable in the hotel bussines, i work in luxury hotel and i know how things should be done, i wish the manager could read this review and provide more training to the staff because is a shame this place full of potential ruined our stay. it could be easy 5 stars.

Room Tip: high floor is a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Our eighth annual vacation in Chicago and our seventh stay at the Essex Inn. Why go anywhere else when you are made so very welcome at the Essex?
Nothing is too much trouble and the welcome is always very warm. Our seventh floor room overlooked Grant Park and was extremely comfortable.
The staff are very friendly.
Special thanks to Braulio, Louis the pool guy, and Erica Maloney, Rice and Norma on reception.
Hope to see you again next year.

Room Tip: If you can get a room with a view over Grant Park the view is astounding. Also great firework displa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Got a very good deal ($100 per night) for this hotel thru priceline and for the rate that I paid I was satisfied. Not sure I would have felt the same if I paid full price. The rooms and bed were comfortable. The bathroom was old and outdated but functional. There was no way to control the room temperature as the hotel controlled everything thru a central system. Our room was a bit chilly for us but not unbearable. The downtown location was perfect - convenient to the L (about 4 blocks) and restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#97 of 178 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 stars 3,424 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Travelodge Chicago Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Congress Plaza Hotel
Congress Plaza Hotel
#131 of 178 in Chicago
3.0 of 5 stars 1,790 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Blackstone A Renaissance Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#48 of 178 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 stars 1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago's Essex Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago's Essex Inn

Address: 800 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 178 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chicago's Essex Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chicago’s Essex Inn is a hotel in downtown Chicago on the Michigan Avenue Cultural Mile that combines breathtaking panoramas of Grant Park, the Museum Campus and Lake Michigan with exciting promotional packages that incorporate famed attractions and events in Chicago.From our steel and glass lobby to contemporary rooms with floor-to-ceiling windows to an all-season rooftop pool, the Essex Inn offers amazing views and amazing value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Chicago's Essex Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago`s Essex Hotel Chicago
Chicagos Essex Hotel
Essex Inn Chicago
Hotel Chicagos Essex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chicago's Essex Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.