We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Chicago's Essex Inn to your Saves list
Chicago's Essex Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   800 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605 (Downtown / The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #107 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Battle Creek, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

Close to buckingham fountain. Parking was pricey, but there's no where to really escape that in Chicago. I recommend parking in one of the 24 hour lots found on every corner. Much more friendly on your wallet. The room was nice. Overall great value.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    587
    281
    89
    82
See reviews for
309
397
84
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We did a weekend stopover here on our way to Tucson & I was very pleasantly surprised with the level of accommodation. Our room was very clean & spacious & had a superb view of the lake in the background & the big wheel at Naval Pier. Chicago is an amazing place & so very clean, the whole place looked like it had just been jet washed. It was Memorial Day weekend so the whole place was buzzing & was great to be out looking at all the sites & well cool old buildings,

Room Tip: Go for a front facing room on higher floors as can be a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budleigh Salterton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Average type of hotel, it did look from the outside a poor relation to the Hilton complex next door.
We were allocated room 1106 which had a great view of the park and a partial view of the lake, the room was of an average size with a small bathroom, the lighting wasn't great and it could of done with a spruce up. Worst of all it was located really close to the lifts and on the last night of our three night stay it was extremely noisy literally through the night. The other two nights were bearable, just.
Free wifi which was a bonus though and the location was spot on. Would I stay again ? probably, but I would ask for a room away from the lifts.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I stayed here after finishing a trip across America in a camper van so for me the bedroom was definitely a little element of luxury. When you arrive at the hotel you would never guess how nice and big the rooms are with all the extras (we were delighted to have good tv, hair dryers, clean bathrooms and big cosy beds). It is definitely a hotel you can relax in. I didn't make use of the restaurant but some of the other people I was with did and said they do a great breakfast! One of the major perks of staying here is the free shuttle bus. It goes to show that they really know their typical guests (everyone is a tourist). The shuttle bus will take you to nearly all the major attractions. The only complaint I would have about this hotel is the leisure centre. I really felt like it didn't carry the same ethos as the hotel. It was actually filthy. With bugs floating around on the top. The sauna just did not seem to be working at all, it may have been slightly warmer then outside and the door didn't even close properly. There was no changing facility. It felt like a dingy public pool rather than a hotel pool. The only other person in the room was this lifeguard who just made the whole thing unsettling as she sat in silence and watched you in the pool. Very weird.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

To whom it may concern,

My husband and I recently stayed three nights at The Essex Inn, ( 3rd, 4th and 5th of June). We had the most amazing time, large in part to the reception staff. April especially went out of her way to ensure that my husband and I enjoyed our little getaway. She was always there to offer assistance, wether it was directions, or suggestions of where to go and what to do, everything she suggested made our trip a little more special. It's a great location, catch the number 3 bus right outside to go up or down Michigan ave..or walk 3blocks to the redline train ( to wrigley field). Use the self park behind the hotel, it's $20 a day credit only, and is easily accessible. Grant park, the aquarium, planetarium, soldiers field, the art institute all walking distance. Also the best breakfast is 2-3 blocks towards rosevelt is a place called YOLK, great fresh food and cheap! Can't say enough great things about the hotel and it's surroundings. Also has a great pool with lifeguard!

Room Tip: Single rooms are small, but fine for 1-2 people. if traveling with family get a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

The front desk staff was average at best. Not very friendly at all. The bell staff was nice and friendly. The room was very nice and the bed was amazing. I would just say work with your front desk on being a little more friendly. The pool was amazing.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMEssexInn, Manager at Chicago's Essex Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Good Day,

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know how your stay was. I would really like to speak with you directly. At your convienece, please contact me at jscott@essexinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Although I didn't eat, drink or take advantage of the concierge service, on the location, price and room alone I couldn't fault our stay at the Essex in. The Hotel staff were super friendly, wishing us a nice day and welcoming us back to the hotel every time we past reception. They were always eager to please and ensure we got the most from our stay too, with lots of helpful tips and suggestions. Likewise, the complimentary shuttle bus around the main sites of Chicago, in room coffee maker (with decent coffee) and free wifi were real nice personal touches.
The main public areas and pool/fitness facilities were much better than I expected too for the price and standard of the hotel. Great panoramic views from the roof top garden; fantastic for sunsets and those all important holiday snaps!
Unfortunately, I didn't get to dine at the hotel or relax in the bar, as there was just so much to do in Chicago itself and the hotel was perfectly placed for just about everything. I found a fantastic cafe a few doors down that served the most delicious breakfasts that I couldn't find myself to eat anywhere else in the morning either.
Hallways and rooms were a bit dated but clean, spacious and had everything you needed ( although very minimum hanging/wardrobe space).
Really easy to get to and from the airport too. Don't bother with expensive taxis or shuttle services, the train is only approx $5 from the airport. Although there were lots of stops, I still believe we arrived quicker than had we had of used alternative means; the roads all looked congested when we could see the from the train windows.
All in all, would definitely recommend for its friendliness , location and views. This hotel could teach the bigger chains a few things or two on customer service!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chicago's Essex Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago's Essex Inn

Address: 800 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#100 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chicago's Essex Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chicago’s Essex Inn is a hotel in downtown Chicago on the Michigan Avenue Cultural Mile that combines breathtaking panoramas of Grant Park, the Museum Campus and Lake Michigan with exciting promotional packages that incorporate famed attractions and events in Chicago.From our steel and glass lobby to contemporary rooms with floor-to-ceiling windows to an all-season rooftop pool, the Essex Inn offers amazing views and amazing value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Chicago's Essex Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago`s Essex Hotel Chicago
Chicagos Essex Hotel
Essex Inn Chicago
Hotel Chicagos Essex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chicago's Essex Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.