We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just average but don't count on shuttle” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Chicago's Essex Inn to your Saves list
Chicago's Essex Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   800 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605 (Downtown / The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #107 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
illinois, usa
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Just average but don't count on shuttle”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Hotel is just average, older property but good location IF shuttle service made sense ... Don't drop me off and not offer pick up service ... Makes no sense especially when it's below zero. And the last day NO service at all. Sauna and gym were nice plus but we came for shopping and sights and the hotel fooled us with a Water Tower shopping package but NO shuttle service or just drop off but no pick up .... Really? Also, no pick up or drop off at the Metra station when it's below zero ... Why does it say you offer it? No back up for van with mechanical issues and even before those issues only service in the AM ... Seriously, management needs to revamp shuttle or not advertise what they are not delivering. Frozen trying to get a holiday shopping trip ...Bah Humbug .... Essex Inn! Plus, shower drains so slowly it turned into a bath ... Disappointed and didn't have great expectations just a shuttle for shopping ... Apparently, more than Essex offered though they advertised it ... Feel a bit of bait and switch! Hope to hear from management for a return when weather makes he area walkable or when they realize a shuttle should be used as an asset! Thanks

Room Tip: View of Michigan Ave would be nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    587
    281
    89
    82
See reviews for
309
397
84
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stayed for our anniversary and loved the location. It was easy to find and parking was on site but cost $50. When checking in they asked for a card in case any damage was done otherwise known as incidentals. Now normally they only charge a dollar on your card to make sure its active at least thats what they have done everywhere else I have stayed even New York, but no not this place they charged the whole amount of $75. This should have been taken as my first warning of things to come.This was not a big deal but still rather inconvenient and they were quite rude when I asked why they were charging my card and when it would go back on. They told me it could take up to 2 weeks to get that $75 charge back which again was VERY annoying to me. We were then given a terrible view and a room which desperatly needed recleaned. The shower had hair in it lets just say not from the human head hair and the floor in the bathroom floor looked, well lets just say the sidewalk outside was cleaner. On the brightside the area was quite and safe and the restaurant staff seemed very nice and polite more so then the shrew of a women working the front desk. All in all not a slum but not worth the price or time. Need to inprove on customer service and cleaning skills.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMEssexInn, Manager at Chicago's Essex Inn, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear heather,

Thank you very much for taking the time to inform us of your experience during your recent stay with us. I am so sorry that we fell very short of your expectations. We do strive to provide nothing but the best in guest service and our facility and I am sorry we fell short of our goal in this instance. If you have time I would like to speak with you further regarding your stay. Please contact me at jscott@essexinn.com and I will reach out to you when you have a moment.

Regards,

Jael Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

I have just returned from a week long business trip, where i stayed at the essex inn for five nights. This hotel has excellent amenities (roof top pool), excellent location (very close to the museum campus and downtown shopping and business). The rooms are small, but functional. Overall, the location, and amenities are great. So this hotel has great potential to provide a wonderful experience.
The unfortunate aspect happens when you need customer service. It doesn't matter what your need might be, whether it is regarding a light in your room that does not work, or even if you want to join their customer club (the key club). Customer service is none-existant. None of my issues or questions were answered, in spite of communicating with the customer service Representative at least three or four times per issue!
So much potential, wasted due to human factors.

Room Tip: Do not park at the hotel for $50 per night, save your money and park at a surface lot on the same lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We have stayed here twice. We love the location and the complimentary shuttle is a great service. The onsite restaurant is nice and resonably price. We walked to Shedd's aquarium from the hotel and took the shiuttle to the water tower. Cab rides are fairly cheap 8.00 ride from Water Tower to Navy Pier but the bus system is cheaper and very easy to use. Made the mistake of staying in a room by the elevator. This elevator was noisier than most. It did disrupt my sleep.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Came for an overnight this weekend based on a Groupon. Staff were friendly and helpful. They arranged cabs and we were glad there was a luggage storage option. Hotel is within a reasonable walking distance to the Shedd/Field Museum; it is quite a bit further to the Mag. Mile area. Essex does have a destination shuttle to popular areas-you will need to walk or cab back. We did not find that to be a big deal-took shuttle to Water Tower area and took an $8 cab ride back. Ray was the shuttle driver and he was awesome-verypleasant and full of info on things to do.

We stayed on 10th floor in a corner room. Room was a little small but not unexpected from an inn in a major city. Layout was a little weird-a closet size hall off the main hall to our room and our neighbors' next door. We had a great view of Navy Pier and Lake Michigan in the distance. Normal city traffic could be heard; nothing crazy. Heard almost nothing from the rooms of other guests.

Room was clean. It was a little odd we had little control over the heat, but we could open the window a few inches when we got a little warm. Best we could tell, bed bug free. Shower water pressure was not so great. Pool was fun for a winter dip with a preschooler; typical hotel pool. Fitness are looked above average with lots of machines; did not use so cannot give a better opinion. Did not eat at restaurant but prices on menus were very good for Chicago area.

All and all our overnight experience as Essex went well and no complaints. Thanks for a nice stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

The Essex is quite well situated on Michigan to reach a variety of museums and shopping. The hotel has exceptionally accommodating staff, and the restaurant is relatively straightforward but surprisingly reasonably priced by Chicago standards. The room rates are competitive for this location. The rooms are fine, spacious, up-to-date, but I could not turn off the heat and really had a couple unpleasant nights.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

This is an economical and clean hotel within walking distance of Soldier Field. We stayed in a Family suite which would have been ideal, except it only had one rather small bathroom. Good restaurant on site.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chicago's Essex Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago's Essex Inn

Address: 800 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#100 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chicago's Essex Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chicago’s Essex Inn is a hotel in downtown Chicago on the Michigan Avenue Cultural Mile that combines breathtaking panoramas of Grant Park, the Museum Campus and Lake Michigan with exciting promotional packages that incorporate famed attractions and events in Chicago.From our steel and glass lobby to contemporary rooms with floor-to-ceiling windows to an all-season rooftop pool, the Essex Inn offers amazing views and amazing value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Chicago's Essex Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago`s Essex Hotel Chicago
Chicagos Essex Hotel
Essex Inn Chicago
Hotel Chicagos Essex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chicago's Essex Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.