We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location at a reasonable price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Save Saved
You added Chicago's Essex Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chicago's Essex Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605 (The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Xmas in July!
Ranked #100 of 168 hotels in Chicago
St Petersburg, FL
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful location at a reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stayed here while attending a conference at the Hilton across the street. It was wonderfully convenient not only for the conference, but also for going to the museums and walking in Grant Park and Millenium Park. The room was small, but perfectly adequate for me. If you have two or more people and a lot of stuff, it wouldn't work, but maybe they have larger rooms too. There's a pool, a small exercise room and a rooftop terrace overlooking Grant Park that's a nice place to sit in good weather. The first night I could hear the trains, but they didn't keep me awake. On subsequent nights, I didn't even notice them. The bed was very comfy.

Room Tip: If possible, get a room on the side toward the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,065 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    221
    474
    227
    72
    71
See reviews for
247
312
65
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

It is a clean place, which in my opinion is the most important aspect of a hotel room, but the rooms are incredibly small. The bathroom is also too small and the sink is the size of a cereal bowl. The small sink made it very difficult not to spill water out of the sink when brushing teeth, washing face, etc. The price per night was comparable to the Hilton right across the street from it. I should have just stayed there instead.

Another issue was that too much cold air blew in through the window facing the outside. Makes for some uncomfortably cold nights in February/March (when I was there).

It was good other than those things. There was a small oversight on our bill, but they took care of it with no problems. The staff was friendly. Nothing went missing in our rooms. Comfy beds. Room service was good.

The tininess of the rooms and the cold draft are the only things that bothered me. I would stay here again only if there was no space at the Hilton or other hotel close by.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Visited Chicago last year with my Father it was a joining Hotel for Route 66 tour which tour was just OK nothing spectacular if ever did Route 66 again would just drive you get to stop wherever you want you do not get that choice on a bus tour! I live in Australia so travelled a real long way but Chicago is a beautiful city am planning on visiting again next year with my children.Essex inn is in a good location,have to agree with some other reviews that the cafe downstairs is very expensive and also the menu choices are pretty sparse as well! But would stay again though! There is a starbucks up the road which is handy for your morning caffiene fix!

Room Tip: I had a high level room with the view of the side of the Hilton was not to bad!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thatcham
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

A good hotel for thre price.Room pritty basic but every thing worked. Excellent location buses just out side to get downtown. Staff very helpfull but you needed to be clear what you wanted. It has a 15M pool that we used every day a real positive for this hotal. The Bar and cafe was a bit pricy for what it was and not that good however they did give you a list of other eating places. The hotel was in need of Refurbishment a/c very old. I have stayed in a lot worse for more money. I would use it again .

Room Tip: Can get up graded to room overlooking the park but Negotiate on arival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Booked this much more affordable hotel just a block away from a higher-end hotel while traveling for a conference and was happily surprised. Amazing location - right on S. Michigan Ave. across from Grant Park and within walking distance of the Field Museum, The Art Institute, Millennium Park and 2 CTA stops. I even walked to Willis Tower one evening but that was further away. Staff was extremely friendly, concierge staff was very helpful. You can grab an airport shuttle next door at the higher priced hotel. Lovely French brasserie attached to hotel offers a nice menu. Very happy with my stay & would definitely stay there again on a return visit - great value for what you get!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, Virginia, USA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

The Hotel has a great location. We had a nice experience of the bell hop getting us to a tour at the last minute. The room was very basic so were glad to not spend much time in it. What ticked me off, is that upon check-in, they charged me an unadvertised extra $75 for "incidentals." What incidentals? There was no wet bar or snack bar, etc. There were two tiny bars of tiny soap, towels for 2 people, no bathrobe. What could possibly be called an "incidental"? The room was not cleaned while we were out all day, so had to vacate when we needed to get ready for dinner late afternoon. Now, 6 weeks after our checkout, my cc has not been credited for this fee, as they said it would be. So I am calling and calling to no avail. Would I stay again? Not really sure.

Room Tip: We requested a lake view but they said only more expensive suites viewed the lake. I believed it, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I stayed at the Essex Inn from June 27-July1 2012. The hotel is definitely average, but the location is great. It's located across the street from Grant Park, and is a short walk away from Millennium Park and The Art Institute of Chicago.

The hotel itself is old, but the rooms have been updated. The rooms are clean, but the bathroom is small. And you might have to go on a bit of a treasure hunt for the hair dryer. If it's not under the sink, it might be hanging from the ironing board or it might be behind the bathroom door. So look around a bit before requesting another one! The worst thing about the room (in my opinion anyway) was the outdated heating/cooling system. It's a 2 pipe system, which means the entire hotel is either in "heat" mode or "cool" mode. There is no thermostat in the room to control the temperature. My room was never cool enough for me. The hotel was also only equipped with 2 elevators...slow moving elevators. Be prepared to wait or take the stairs if you're in a hurry.

The best things about the hotel are the location, the value, the pool, and the friendly staff. I probably won't stay at this hotel again because of my problem with the air conditioning system, but I will definitely recommend it to others who don't have issues in that regard.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chicago's Essex Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago's Essex Inn

Address: 800 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 168 hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chicago's Essex Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chicago’s Essex Inn is a hotel in downtown Chicago on the Michigan Avenue Cultural Mile that combines breathtaking panoramas of Grant Park, the Museum Campus and Lake Michigan with exciting promotional packages that incorporate famed attractions and events in Chicago.From our steel and glass lobby to contemporary rooms with floor-to-ceiling windows to an all-season rooftop pool, the Essex Inn offers amazing views and amazing value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Chicago's Essex Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago`s Essex Hotel Chicago
Chicagos Essex Hotel
Essex Inn Chicago
Hotel Chicagos Essex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chicago's Essex Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.