We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a trip to Chicago” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Save Saved
You added Chicago's Essex Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chicago's Essex Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605 (The Loop)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #104 of 169 Hotels in Chicago
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect for a trip to Chicago”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

We were meant to arrive at the Essex Inn on a Tuesday evening, but travel complications meant we arrived early on Wednesday instead. We phoned the hotel to let them know we would be there the following morning, so they checked us in on the Tuesday so that we could go straight into our room when we arrived.

The hotel provided great information about the city and even had a free shuttle bus to take guests to the main attractions e.g. the mag mile, navy pier and museums! The room was clean, spacious and had everything we needed.

As it was so hot when we visited we took advantage of the rooftop terrace and inside pool! The sun loungers were lovely! We had breakfast in the new Tribute restaurant which was very nice too! All in all this hotel is fantastic if you're working with a smaller budget!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    492
    237
    75
    73
See reviews for
260
336
66
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

The place is walking distance from several attractions and affords easy access to public transport. The room was comfortable and ample for two nights for our family of four ( two little children) since we spent most of our time outside.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Stayed at the Essex Inn for 2 nights. The hotel is clean and has good facilities. The reception staff are very helpful and give out some information of local restaurants bars shops etc. The gym is quite good and the pool a reasonable size. The rooms are large and ours had a bath and shower. There is an iron, coffee making machine and a fridge in the room. Would recommed Tamarind for a meal (Asian,Thai, Chinese) and the Chicago Firehouse for an amazing steak. Would recommend this hotel and would use it again if I return to Chicago.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

I spent three night here. It is in an excellent location and is clean and comfortable. Unforunately there were a couple of minor things wrong with my room but these were speedily put right upon request. All the staff are very pleasant to meet and are most helpful. I only ate in on one occasion but it was good.

All in all, I rate this highly.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

We traveled with 6 cadette girl scouts and 3 adults for a fabulous 3 night stay at the Essex Inn, Chicago. Conveniently located on S. Michigan adjacent from Grant Park and walking distance to/from Millennium Park!

CHECK IN: Arrived at 3:00pm 2 Rooms were not ready until 6pm at night....we checked our luggage in at 3:00pm used the pool and their changing rooms before heading out on the town so this wasn't a big deal but if we were needing our rooms it would have been a major inconvenience.

FREE SHUTTLE: Convenient but too many people who want to use it and it ONLY runs on the hour 11-4. I felt bad as we always arrived early (9 in our group) so we always were able to get on but so many were not able to.

ROOMS: We had one regular room (AAA rate $89 night midweek) and one suite (AAA $139. night midweek) on 10th floor. Both were nice and clean. Suite had private bedroom quarters and quite spacious. Regular room was small but well appointed. We loved their RUSK toiletries and nice towels.

BREAKFAST: When we booked are rooms 2 months in advance the gal at the hotel said there was free continental breakfast with basic muffins and juice 6-9:30am. Boy was our budget blown when we found out their restaurant had opened and no longer offered the free breakfast. I was most disappointed that when I called about it that there was NO APPOLOGIES what so ever. I explained we were GS and this was not part of our budget and if they'd offer us a little discount on breakfast it would help us out....they wouldn't even consider it and were very rude. Someone should have called to let us know of the change. Inconvenient but we moved on. (Scraping our pennies was the GS way!)

GARDEN AND POOL AREA- Beautiful views of the parks and cityscape on the 3rd floor from the garden area. The flowers and foliage are watered every morning and are absolutely gorgeous! The girls loved the indoor pool which you could walk out to the garden area from the pool. The pool was clean and was quite large.

I would highly recommend for families who want to save money on clean, convenient accommodations in Chicago. Enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: Small but nicely appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Upon arrival, at 4pm check-in, our suite was not ready. We decided to eat at the hotel's restuarant. We were pleasantly surprised that the food was very good. After an hour, we checked into the hotel. The suite was quite large, king size bed, a common area/living room, an under the shelf refrigerator and a very small coffee maker on the countertop. The bathroom was a big let down as I had to squeeze through the door opening and stood between the tiny space between the toilet and the sink to close the door. Too bad that the designers skimped on space in the bathroom because the rest of the suite was very nice. Also, the pool is not as large as pictured, but nice; and the gym space is pretty small, but nice. We got to use the pool and gym at random times during the day and it was not crowded. The hotel location was absolutely perfrect, in The Loop and in walking distance to most attractions. We decided on The Loop/Essex Inn because we wanted to be away from the touristsy areas of the northern most side of Michigan Avenue, which I compare to walking around crowded NYC. We certainly were not disappointed. We caught the subway and bus to get to attractions more than three miles from the hotel. The buses run regularly, and right across the street from the hotel; the subway was right around the corner of the hotel. Oh, the hotel staff was unbelievably friendly and courteous. When I called the front desk, my needs were met within moments. We will certainly stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

We booked this hotel through Trailfinders (not one they usually recommend, but we wanted to save some money). I was concerned when I read the reviews during April and May. After lots of deliberation, we decided to give it a go.

Our experience was positive from the very start. The reception staff were very friendly and tried to be helpful (although they did not always agree with each other!) We booked a free tour at the Convention Centre, and we were treated to four hours of local information including a free cycle tour of the area.

The hotel is not exactly aesthetically pleasing, but it is a great base for seeing the sights of Chicago.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chicago's Essex Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago's Essex Inn

Address: 800 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#99 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chicago's Essex Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chicago’s Essex Inn is a hotel in downtown Chicago on the Michigan Avenue Cultural Mile that combines breathtaking panoramas of Grant Park, the Museum Campus and Lake Michigan with exciting promotional packages that incorporate famed attractions and events in Chicago.From our steel and glass lobby to contemporary rooms with floor-to-ceiling windows to an all-season rooftop pool, the Essex Inn offers amazing views and amazing value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chicago's Essex Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago`s Essex Hotel Chicago
Chicagos Essex Hotel
Essex Inn Chicago
Hotel Chicagos Essex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chicago's Essex Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.