We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice spot in the Windy City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Chicago to your Saves list
Days Inn Chicago
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   644 W Diversey Pkwy, Chicago, IL 60614 (Formerly Days Inn Lincoln Park - North)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
5500 Wyndham Rewards bonus points with your stay
Ranked #50 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Midwest
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A nice spot in the Windy City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

We were very pleased with our stay at the Days Inn Chicago. Not usually the chain hotel-types, we needed a place to fit our budget, and this spot was recommended by a family member. We got a good deal for a 2-night stay with a AAA rate. The staff was helpful from the beginning, helping my husband track down a lost item. The room had a nice, large bathroom and "closet area". The linens were great.

The complimentary breakfast impressed us - lots of choices including bagels, toast and yogurt. Lots of people made their own waffles. The staff was constantly refilling the supplies so nothing ran out. The lobby has a computer with internet access that guests can use.

The closest El stop is a few blocks away, but quite doable if you don't mind using your feet.

  • Liked — The price
  • Disliked — The narrow stairwell
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    665
    628
    179
    37
    28
See reviews for
547
357
195
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2008

I've stayed at the Days Inn Lincoln Park North for years, but returned this month after a two-year absence. The property's actually better-looking, better-run, and better appointed than my last visit. The staff -- who field guest requests literally 24 hours a day -- was unfailingly courteous, the valets and bellboys helpful, and the housekeeping staff thorough and polite. The manager couldn't have been more solicitous when he happened to overhear a question I had about directions. I've spent much more at hotels that delivered a lot less; this perfectly located hotel is an exceptional value.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, courtesy of staff, location
  • Disliked — Not much to complain about.... Guests hogging the lobby computer while I waited to print out a boarding pass?
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2008

Not too much to add to previous reviews. We had a room overlooking the interior courtyard and we thought it was quite spacious, but looking at the floorplan on the door revealed that there are other courtyard rooms that are a bit smaller.

Our bathroom was not small, but there was very little space in the toilet area. A very large person would feel a bit cramped. The step up into the bathroom is a bit dangerous even with all the signs.

Loved the a/c. It cooled the room and provided good white noise for sleeping.

Complimentary breakfast was good. Staff were very friendly and leaving our luggage for several hours after checkout was no problem. Wrigley, Boystown, and the El are all walking distance.

  • Liked — Quiet room
  • Disliked — Step up to bathroom
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2008

We were in Chicago last week to catch a Cubs night game, and picked the Days Inn Lincoln Park mostly for its price (about $140 including taxes for a double-bed room) and proximity to Wrigley Field. Although I expected only the most basic lodging for that price in this area, we were pleasantly surprised with the cleanliness, comfort, and hospitality this hotel provided.

The bed was very comfortable, A/C fully functional, floors and carpets were clean and free of stains/wear, service personnel friendly and attentive. The area itself is full of shops, convenience stores, and restaurants all in close proximity. Parking is a nightmare, however - we resorted to the hotel valet which was a reasonable $22 per day. The valets also provided outstanding service.

The only negative was the bathroom. Although it was very clean and the water pressure adequate in the shower, the bathroom itself was extremely miniscule, making getting ready for the day a little tight for the two of us. A minor drawback for such an outstanding value.

We walked to and from the game, which took us a little over a half-hour. The area felt reasonably safe, even when hoofing it back from the game at the end of the night.

We will definitely be staying here again.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and service
  • Disliked — The teeny-tiny bathroom
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, IN
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2008

We had a great time at the Days Inn in June. We parked around the corner and it was an easy walk to the hotel entrance. (No need to bother with valet service.) The front desk staff were friendly, efficient, and helpful. The manager directed us to a great pizza place, Lou Malnotti's (sp?). He said that it is better than Giordano's - and we had to agree that it was just excellent. Really excellent staff all around!

The hotel is located in a great neighborhood. A one mile walk to Wrigley Field and a 10 or 15 minute walk to Lincoln Park Zoo. The el station was about four blocks away and the bus stop was around the corner. The neighborhood is nice and there's lots of places to eat and stores to check out. We went to Second City and it was a blast as usual.

The reason I was glad it was for just one night is that the room was TINY! It honestly felt a little like a glorified closet. I'm sure there are larger rooms there...but whoa, ours was small. I did like the character and feel of the place though, even though it showed a few signs of age. The bathroom had only a shower, but it was a very nice and clean shower. I would stay here again for an overnighter in a fun neighborhood.

  • Liked — The location and the friendly staff
  • Disliked — The tiny, oh so tiny, room
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2008

This is a nice location in an increasingly gentrifying neighborhood. (I was sorry to see that a little locally-owned health food store across the street was replaced by one of those "upscale edgy" clothing chains) You're about 20 minutes via CTA from Watertower, and 25-30 from Union Station, counting the time it takes to wait for the bus or train. You can eat your way around the world within 3 blocks.

I want to like this place...I've stayed here twice...but the plain fact is it's way too noisy on the street side. It's a constant rumble of buses, trucks, taxis honking, etc all through the night. Even with earplugs (thoughtfully provided right in the nightstand drawer!) I got very little sleep. The rooms off the street, overlooking the usual "courtyard" of mechanical things hidden from street view, are tiny and really only for a single.

If you're not bothered by noise, or better yet, if you're deaf, you will love this place. But light sleepers need to look elsewhere. The lack of sleep had a negative effect on my trip because I was tired all the time. I actually went to the library just to get a little quiet time...not a room you'd want to lounge in.

Stayed June 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2008

I have been staying at the Days Inn for years. The current staff is amazing. They are very helpful and they will go the extra mile. The hotel has been rehabbed over the years and is in it's best condition it has been in. Get a business room if you want a little bigger room with a little nicer experience. I am not saying the regular rooms are not nice, they just tend to be on the tight side. But I stay in both types and if you are looking to save a little for dinner each night, get the regular room.

  • Liked — Location, staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Chicago

Address: 644 W Diversey Pkwy, Chicago, IL 60614 (Formerly Days Inn Lincoln Park - North)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Chicago
#49 Business Hotel in Chicago
#49 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Chicago 2*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2012 Days Inn Property of the Year (>126 rooms)! This is the third time this hotel has won this award!! Days Inn Chicago is located in the heart of bustling Lincoln Park/Lakeview, just two miles north of downtown Chicago. Guests are within walking distance of dining, shopping and theaters as well as Wrigley Field and Lincoln Park Zoo. A short cab ride will take you to DePaul University, Michigan Avenue, McCormick Place, Millennium Park and Navy Pier. The hotel offers guests free Wi-Fi, a deluxe complimentary breakfast, on site fitness room and free access to LA Fitness next door, valet parking and upgraded bedding. Days Inn Chicago has also been called Rock and Roll Days Inn because it has been a home away from home for many known bands. You can follow us on Facebook at "Days Inn Chicago" or on Twitter as "DaysInnChicago." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Chicago Hotel Chicago
Days Inn Lincoln Park
Chicago Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.