Was here for a family wedding in a block- the quality of rooms varied greatly within our own hallway. Rooms temperature was impossible to regulate via thermostat- everyone complained of being either too hot or too cold. Lots of street noise (they leave ear plugs in your room- not a good sign) combined with room temp made it difficult to sleep.
Had issues with housekeeping- used towels left on floor to be replaced with new ones on a multi-night stay were simply hung back up on racks- damp and dirty. Super gross, given the floors were not that clean to begin with. Called the front desk to complain and was promptly given new towels, but nothing was really done about the situation. Gross oversight like that made us wonder what other cleaning corners are cut.
On a positive note, the valet service was fantastic at hailing transportation. The gal working the breakfast buffet was very friendly. The front-desk clerks at check-out immediately attempted to remedy our dissatisfaction with our stay upon hearing the issues we had. (However, upon getting home and reviewing my bill in detail, I realized we were charged for two night of valet- and we didn't have a car. When I called back, I was told I would have to call back AGAIN when the manager is on duty as they couldn't help me- super frustrating) The location of the hotel is great, and is value priced for Chicago. However, I would gladly pay more for a better experience. This left a lot to be desired.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
October 16, 2013
Dear Jessica N;
Report response as inappropriate
Thank you for choosing the Day Inn Chicago for your recent stay. We are truly sorry that you were not satisfied with our hotel and services. We do have a variety of rooms with various bed types, decors and even amenities (based on standard versus business class room type). There are various price points for the different rooms.
The in-room heating and air-conditioning units are all set on a specific temperature – 72F in the summer and 68F in the winter. That means, unless you change the heat/cool setting, this is what the unit will cool or warm to. The compressor (heating/cooling element) will turn off when it reaches that temperature. If you wish to have continuous air circulating, you can turn on the fan in the unit. Turning the fan on will not affect the temperature itself. You must adjust the temperature setting to do that. Please know that all units have their limits. Units will not cool below a certain temperature and will not work when it’s cool outside.
I had a long conversation with the front desk manager regarding the towel and extra charge comments. Even when you called to inform the desk of the towels, the staff was trying to understand what had happened. I apologize, but that was certainly not the norm. We have won cleanliness awards and just recently 2012 Days Inn Hotel of the Year in the large property segment, so I can assure you we have the highest cleanliness standards. At check-out the clerk gave you an additional discount for this towel situation and she was under the impression you left satisfied.
We apologize for the valet charge. Though the front desk manager was already gone when you called, he did call you back the next morning informing you he had found this error and corrected it. Your uncle’s charge from room 441 had been posted erroneously on your room 414. Again, the front desk manager was under the impression that you were satisfied with his call and apology.
I do apologize that you were not completely satisfied and hope that you will give us another chance in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.