We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel to your Saves list
Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   162 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #119 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
sobe_02sx
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Simply Horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2007

I was greeted the front desk with friendly a hello and was treated with a dry scripted, "I will need your credit card, drivers license." Strike one!!! The receptionist continued this unpleasant experience by telling me that the hotel was being bought by private investors. After feeling thoroughly insulted, I made to my small room where the electrical plugs were put into extension cords like on the Christmas Story. The lamp on the desk has a short and the maintenance guy failed to replace it. Final straw came when I wanted to go out. I was instructed that valet is not 24hours as I was lead to believe, but was till 9p. I had to retrieve my vehicle from the par king lot down the street. But, by doing so, I have to pay everytime I get the car since the hotel has no IN/OUT service.($30) Advice!!! take cabs and expect to be unimpressed or research for another hotel. I found a 4star for a few dollars more per night.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — Reception staff, Kathy
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    439
    314
    141
    112
See reviews for
182
368
97
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2007

We stayed there for 10 days for a business trip.
The hotel was 90% redone and beautiful.
The front desk receptionist who received us the first day was not nice at all.
They gave us a nice and big room, the room was clean, the bathroom was small but okay.
Great services: they accepted packages for us, concierge is A+

Great experience, we will go again.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2007

All renovations are complete and the lobby is quite nice. However, the first clerk to help us check in was very rude. Luckily her coworker took over and got us into our room very quickly. Elevators are tiny and slow. Room, also small. We had a room with double beds-the beds almost took up the entire room. Bathroom is also tiny-the newly renovated sinks took up too much space.

However, the location and price were unbeatable. The beds were also very comfy. If you don't plan to be in the room very much-this is worth it. Navy Pier is only about 6 blocks down the street and there are plenty of places to grab all meals in walking distance. Michigan Ave. is a half block away. Millienium Park is just down Michigan Ave. I would stay again just b/c of the location.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2007

The comfortable bed and hot shower were the highlights of our room, which was extremely small. The front desk staff are like robots. When checking in, there was a line so I was able to observe the bored, canned responses that they continued to give with no sincerity. Whatever, you're not coming to Chicago to spend time at the front desk. The hotel was clean and quiet, and the bartenders in the lounge were very nice. There is a convenient store across the street and you can get your morning coffee at the 24 hour Dunkin Doughnuts, also across the street. Overall, not bad but nothing great.

  • Liked — Beds were comfortable and shower never ran out of hot water
  • Disliked — Room was extremely small, as were the elevators
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2007

There must have been a drastic change in this hotel since some of the reviewers stayed here. We were very skeptical to keep our reservations but were glad we did. The room was completely remodeled and adequate for our stay. the staff was very accomodating and friendly. There was everything you could want within walking distance to this hotel, Coffee next door, icecream across the street, a little superette kitty-corner, michigan avenue a half block away and of course loads of restaurants nearby. All the recommondations from the concierge turned out well and the bell hop promptly called us a cab for our trip back to the airport. Try it you'll like it.....

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — size of room
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2007

From Janine in Iowa: I was very pleased with the room, the location, and especially the service at the Inn of Chicago in February. The staff members – the bell hop and others – went out of their way to be helpful.

I was extremely disappointed, however, that my friend, whose flight was cancelled because of winter storms, did not receive a refund.

My daughter & I had planned to meet our friends at Inn of Chicago, and stay Feb. 15-19. Unfortunately, they were unable to fly into Chicago, because of blizzards in New York. They were told that we could not stay in the room that they had reserved, and, even though they were unable to get to Chicago, that they would not receive a refund for those four nights. I'm not sure which is more guilty, Orbitz or the Inn.

So beware, travelers!

  • Liked — location, helpful staff
  • Disliked — refusal to give my friends a refund, even though they couldn't come because of a blizzard!
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2007

The only real reason to book this hotel is cost and location. It has little going for it in terms of service, quality, or the attractiveness of the rooms. It is very poorly managed and maintained. There is no restaurant onsite, but many inexpensive and more expensive options within a short walk.

Upon arriving at this hotel at 2 p.m., we were advised that check-in is at 3 p.m. We returned at that time and were advised there was no room available. This same problem affected a number of other people in our group, some of whom were not offered rooms until 6 p.m. or later. Absurd excuses were offered for this, such as that they should have arrived at 3 p.m.

The first room we were offered was totally smokey, although this is billed as a smoke free hotel. We returned to the front desk. The second room we were offered was laid out as follows: There was a queen bed with a television stand at the base against the wall with doors on the front. Inside these doors were the only drawers in the room (this was the bureau). However, the television stand was so close to the bed that the doors could not be opened. Thus, no functioning bureau. One can only imagine who laid this out. When opening the door to the small bathroom, there was a new sink that had been put in with a wooden frame. The frame of the sink extended across the doorway approximately 1/4 the distance and against the toiled on the other side. How this passes fire codes one can only guess. There was no closet in the room, just hangers in the room, similar to a Motel 6. Bottom line, absurd layout and various unacceptable arrangements.

We had booked for about 160 per night, plus tax, for four nights. We jumped on [--] and selected an anonymous four star hotel in the neighborhood at $112 per night. Once we had bid, we were advised this was the W on the lakefront, three blocks away. We returned to the front desk of the Best Western, advised that the second room was not acceptable either, were told we could leave at no charge, and departed for the W.

Incidentally, the W is more like a five star hotel and the regular rates were in the neighborhood of $400 per night. Meanwhile, the Best Western billed us one night despite their promise and a personal visit to the hotel for a refund netted a nice conversation and no action. Still, we saved money.

Bottom line, check Hotwire for options in the Streeterville area, which is where this is or Miracle Mile area. Avoid this Best Western if you possibly can, but if it is the cheapest you can find in the area, go with eyes wide open. It is 2.5 stars at best. Perhaps 2.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel

Address: 162 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 359
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the essence of the Windy City, without the high price, at the Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile. Just a half-block from State Street and the famed Magnificent Mile - where the city's best shopping, dining, and nightlife can be found - we offer a reasonably affordable alternative to the more expensive Chicago boutique hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of Chicago Magnificent Mile, An Ascend Collection Hotel Hotel Chicago
Hotel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Inn Chicago Magnificent Mile

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.